We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to be amazing, can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Regal Resort
Ranked #44 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend last September while diving with Crystal Dive. It seems like its currently getting a bit of a makeover as they were currently finishing off the new bar and restaurant. As you enter the hotel lobby everything seemed lovely and new, the receptionist didn't have the best English but was friendly and had enough to get by. We walked out and looked and the pool area and beach which was amazing (Pool area all looks brand new, the pool itself is class and the hotel is literally on the beach!) before making our way to our room. This is the part they could to with fixing next as we walked around the corner we were met with a hallway that was dark with a noisy light flickering on and off and outdated decor with old beds and mattresses leaning against the walls and I began to worry as it felt like I was walking through a scene from the horror film "Hostel" but alas as we arrived at our room at the very end of the hallway and opened the door to what has to be one of the largest hotel rooms I've stayed in with a view that will simply take your breath away. It had everything you would want in your room a flat screen TV, jacuzzi bath, DVD player and a large comfy bed. But the stand out feature of the room was the view with its wall to wall window and huge walk around balcony overlooking the beach. After a long day out diving it was lovely to sit out and enjoy a few drinks while watching the sunset. The room was very clean and comfortable, the only thing that it was missing was a safe but you can leave any valuables with reception. I didn't use the Spa while staying here but I heard it was very good so maybe next time. I can only vouch for the ocean view rooms but if they are finished to the same standard then I would recommend them also, the beachside bungalows looked nice as well and are right out on the beach. If your planning on diving (no other reason to be on Koh Tao) then I would highly recommend using Crystal Dive, it's only a 2 min walk along the beach. If your staying in this hotel you get a discount with that Dive Co. That said I would dive with them anyway as they are the best dive company on the Island! Can't wait to get back to see what the hotel looks like when its finished. Oh by the way, there is some ongoing building work, probably even finished now as it is over six months since I stayed there but it never effected our stay in the slightest so don't let that put you off.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview room. They are huge and have an amazing view. Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkieforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for four nights in the bungalow on the beach, which was wonderful. The bungalow was spacious and comfortable. The pool overlooking the beach was fantastic and the location was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. Everything seemed a bit tired - the hotel has the potential to be a top hotel - it seemed as if it were built and then ignored.
The beach Mae Haad was very dirty and full of broken glass - no walking along the sand in barefeet! There were only a few swimming areas where there weren't any long tail boats, but the water was so shallow and dirty...we just ended up cooling off in the pool and watching the sun sets over the ocean.
Koh Tao is VERY busy and crowded and definitely for the younger, backpack crowd - although we are backpackers but a lot older...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The wait staff in the kitchen was rude. The front desk wasn't very helpful. Our room was checked on while we were away and the door was left open. We came back and everything was there but it made us nervous. The front desk just said a maid accidentally left it open. We asked why she was in the room because it was our first day there was no reason to be in the room at that time.
They don't speak much English but then again it is Thailand. The hallways are very dark and dungeon like

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here for one night on overnight trip to Koh Tao from Samui.

Located right on the beach and in between Mae Haad where the ferry comes in and Sairee Beach where the bars and restaurants are.

Salt water pool and nice bar. Plenty of padded loungers

Rooms were spacious although views are not great if you don't upgrade to sea view however we were there to have fun not look out of our window!

We hired snorkel equipment from Mae Haad and then got a long boat to various points on Island.

Sairee beach had great bars and restaurants and the Dream Girls ladyboy show is fun. Fire shows on the beach at night.

This is a well located hotel for all the fun and lovely beach side location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This place remiinds me of a hotel in some of the former eastern europe communist countries rather than beeing in lovely Thailand. Located closer to mae haad than Sairee beach it is however in a pretty calm area.

The hotel is extremely dirty to start with. Seems like they built it once with great intentions but failed epic in trying to maintain it. Nowadays it feels more like a abondend ghosthotel. The mainbuilding, where we stayed, have long corridors that are dark because all lightbulbs are broken and none cares to change them. The rooms are dirty beyond comparison. Dont know if they ever really clean the room more than changing towels really.
Brakfast not included so of course we had it elsewhere. Would not gamble to try the kitchen here.
The staff in reception are just not interested and spends more time playing with their cellphones then paying attention to the need of the guests.
They claim to have a fitness gym. Yeah right. That would be one treadmill on the roof that in totally out of order and full a birds-[--], and two dumbbells. Not existing in other words.

The reason they get two in rating is due to the pillows and bedlinnen that were really good.

I would recommend anyone to check out the bungalows nextdoor (that actually are the same owners) called Beach Bungalows. Much better and cheaper as well!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the bungalows. They are located about 100 feet from the water at the end of the beach, which ensures that you do not have lots of passing foot traffic. It's nice and quite here, you can hear the waves at night from your bed, a little bit of boat noise around 6am but considering your minutes from the pier surprisingly little.

Bungalows are standard concrete with beds, fridge, nice solid shelving for bags. Rooms not ultra clean but linens were clean.

The grounds could do with a cleanup.

Guests of the bungalow also have access to the Regal Resort pool which is beautiful.

Wifi is on and off but useable. As for power failures, they are island wide, a small flashlight will come in handy anywhere you stay and for walking around at night.

All in all I'd conclude that for 800 baht it's decent value for the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have stayed at this resort Twice and i cannot fault it at all , the rooms are well worth the money there are friendly staff and a fantastic pool , while there i had the pleasure to dive with Crystal Dive , a fantastic dive school with very friendly and helpful staff . I would advise people to stay at this Resort .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diverdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing