We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinaire”
Review of New Heaven Huts

New Heaven Huts
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Heaven Huts
Ranked #96 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extraordinaire”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Good food , great wine, fresh rooms and quiet beach. This place is for people who have learned not to take life to seriously. Kickback and relax!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueicepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My boyfriend and I found New Heaven on Trip Advisor and for the most part the reviews were good, so although it was more expensive than what we were looking for, we decided that with what we heard about the view and that the area was great for snorkeling, we would go for it. When we got there we were informed that our original room was under constuction and we would be moved to an upgraded room free of charge. This sounded great, and when we got to the room, it was beautiful so we were happy. Shortly after we arrived, though, we started to hear rustling noises in the roof and the very loud squeals, when we looked up we could see fast footsteps on the grass-type material ceiling,and then either a rat or a mouse poked its nose through. We are not very picky people but it was very loud and frankly kind of creepy that there was wht sounded like a family of mice living in our room. When we went to complain, the manager was dismissive and told us it was a gecko. We told her we knew that geckos dont make the noise we hear and they arent heavy enough that you should be able to see footsteps in the roof either. She told us "well i know it can't be a mouse but i will send someone to look anyway" so she sent someone to come see, and he agreed that it was a mouse or a rat but he was convinced it had left when he heard it scurry to the other side of the hut. Later we heard more noises so we complained again and said that we wouldnt mind if we went to a less nice room but we wanted out of there, and then speaking in thai she turned and laughed to her employee and said something and then "gecko hahaha". We were so appalled, she didn't even applogize. But at the very least the room she gave us (the one we were originally supposed to get) had a wooden roof, we got to enjoy some snorkeling and we heard geckos, but that was okay with us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephMchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

kien and gae, the friendly and fun owners of this resort in sae daeng, collectively have an eye for detail. the bungalow i stayed in, #10, way up the hill behind the others, had a magnificent view of the bay, cool breezes (no need for aircon), and was perfectly comfortable and secure. i am not joking when i say that the bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed i've slept in in years, and by far the best in thailand. for the price, you cannot go wrong here. the interior is basic with natural wood fixtures and plenty of cross-breezes, but there is also a fan, mosquito net, comfy hammock, and the bathroom and linens were very clean and nice.
the path leading up to my bungalow was not particularly well lit at night, but that added to the jungly island charm, in my opinion. at the top of the hill just before reaching the bungalow is a spectacular view of sae daeng bay on one side and hin ngaam bay (i believe) on the opposite side.
although access to sai daeng beach is difficult, you can take a taxi for a few hundred baht, ride a motorbike (carefully and slowly), or walk. the owners will happily arrange for transportation for you, and for whatever else you might need from extra towels to booking ferry, bus and train tickets for you.
although it was hot walking to town, it is not a bad walk at all and takes around 20 minutes through beautiful coconut plantations and leafy hills - hardly any buildings in sight until you get to the town. i also rode a motorbike 3/4 of the way there, until the road was too difficult for me, and parked on a side road, leaving it all night, and returned to it the next morning with no problems. nobody had messed with it and i believe it was perfectly safe there.
the restaurant is 1/2 covered, 1/2 on the beach and the food is fabulous. there is a book exchange and lots of interesting pieces of art to admire. snorkeling equipment is available for rent, cheap, and in good condition. the staff could be friendlier or a little more conscientious (the young burmese girls enjoy gossiping a little more than serving customers at times), but gae and kien's helpful and courteous attitudes more than make up for this minor inadequacy. i give the staff credit because they are there on the clock from around 6:30 a.m. until at least 10:30 p.m., later when there are customers in the restaurant after 10:30 p.m., seven days a week, closing only after the last customer has left. they have separate bins for recycling as well, which is great and shows that the owners and staff are keen on conservation. koh tao has a major problem with rubbish and especially plastic, and it is nice to see they are doing their part to eliminate these problems.
you really have it all at new heaven huts - a lovely, clean beach with clear water and very few other people around, great sea breezes, a good choice of bungalows either near the beach or up on the hill, and the only sound you'll hear at night are the geckos, frogs and crickets and the only lights you'll see from your bungalow are the stars and the moon. if you want a real escape from the noise and crowds, new heaven huts is the place to be. and did i mention that they have the most comfortable bed ever? at least in #10; i can't say for the other bungalows, but have no doubt that the rest of them have the same or similar amenities. best night's sleep in years!!!

Room Tip: ask for bungalow #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karensgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

On Sai Daeng Beach, this isolated little place offers you the perfect, secluded, quiet beach spot - if that is what you are looking for. The bungalows are built among the rock cliffs, with nice walkways in between. The owner obviously had an interior designer help with the details inside the hut, as the furniture and trappings were all tastefully done and well maintained. This is a very quiet, little beach with good snorkeling right off the beach - the huts rent our snorkeling equipment for 60 baht/day for mask and snorkel. The huts have a restaurant, good food, and reasonably priced for Ko Tao (where food is more expensive in general than the mainland). Be warned about the dirt, mountain road to get there - it is only 3 km from the pier in Mae Haad, but steep. The only other resort (Coral View, also a nice place) on this little stretch of beach offers taxi rides back to Mae Haad for only 100 baht/person. We had our 2 kids, ages 4 and 6, and they could snorkel too (we brought the kids' snorkeling equipment ourselves). Sairee Beach on the west side of the island was way too busy for us with loud dance music thumping until 4 am. You will get only peace and quiet at New Heaven Huts. Highly recommended if you are seeking a quiet, nice, little beach for a few days of utter island paradise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YearinThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I sort of stumbled upon these bungalows not really having a plan in ko tao. They were not easy to get to, in fact the road leading there, a 300 baht taxi ride was not for the faint of heart, but not many of the roads are in ko tao. There is another bungalow operation similar in name , but the one i stayed at only had one other resort next door on that stretch of the beach . I stayed in one of the nicest bungalows there, paying 900 baht a night, there were more basic ones for 700 baht, but it was the only one avaible when i called and it was a spurge for one of my last stays on my trip. A long steep road and a even steeper set of stairs wil lead you down to the resort on the beach. It has a nice little restaurant on the beach with good food, but somewhat indifferent staff. The manager was nice and very helpful, but the girls working for her were not always so sweet, it was different everytime i encountered them. My bungalow was amazing, looked brand new with a sunken bathroom and an amazing canopy bed and a deck with a hammock and a view to die for. I wanted to sleep out in that hammock almost every night i was there. My bungalow did not have a mirror anywhere inside the bathroom or by the desk. I asked the manager why and she said that it wasnt necessary,, i thought it would of been nice to have one, and thought it a little strange that in such a nice bungalow it would not have such a basic touch. There was a fan, and with a beautiful breeze it was just enough. I went next door to the dive resort several times to use their internet, and have drinks and food at their nice deck overlooking the ocean. They also provided taxi service for 100 baht several times a day into town which was very helpful since your very secluded there. The beach was nice, but pretty rocky, i think most beaches are in ko tao. I would recommend this place if your looking for a quiet getaway, and time to relax and enjoy the quiet part of the island, the nights were party free and the only thing i heard from my deck was the splash of the waves from below.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#45 of 139 in Koh Tao
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Heaven Resort
Blue Heaven Resort
#35 of 77 in Koh Tao
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Heaven Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Heaven Huts

Property: New Heaven Huts
Address: 48, Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Heaven Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing