We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
la Cigale
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
160
25
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
25
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin villagarden villarock villasairee beachespresso machinegreat breakfast optionspleasure of stayingown mealsgreat bars and restaurantsloved our stayprivate spaceoutdoor showerhammock on the balconyexploring the islandshort walkmobile phonethree nights
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked 5 nights in the family bungalow, travelling with a 1 and a 4 year old and extended our stay another 5 nights as it was so comfortable. The photos don't do La Cigale justice, it really is stunning. I loved the view, the setting among the rocks and trees, the butterflies fluttering around and most of all the house. Andre has clearly put so much work, thought and personal touches into the design they really are spectacular. I was a bit worried about the bugs, as I hate them but I need not have worried, we didn't see any big creepies.

The location is great if you like somewhere quiet but like being close to the action too. We walked to Sairee on the road which takes about 10 minutes and also walked to the Cabana Resort beach everyday, that also has a great restaurant and kids play area and is only 5 minutes down the hill. It is a steep incline to La Cigale for about 100m but really it isn't that bad - don't be put off! The house is kept immaculate by the daily cleaning and on arrival the fridge was fully stocked with drinks, milk, eggs and bread, we were also given a phone with key numbers for taxis, restaurants etc. saved which was really thoughtful!

I would highly recommend La Cigale and we will definitely be back, it is a special place with a great, friendly and informative owner - Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Romantic get away with modern design and a stunning view. It was the perfect location to relax after diving all day. My girl friend and I really enjoyed watching movies and using the kitchen for breakfast. Andre was a great host and provided first rate service. He can even arrange for a Thai Massage at your Villa if your so inclined. I enjoyed walking down to the beach every day as it was a good way to explore the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Twin Villa. Great view of Sairee beach and large kitchen.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaplayaCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Thanks to Andre and la Cigale for a wonderful stay on Koh Tao. Andre could not have been more helpful or accommodating. We stayed in the family bungalow and loved the outdoor bathroom and beautiful views of Sairee beach. We were also happy for the walk to and from the place (or we may have done no exercise!) but it is a bit of a trek. You can easily rent a motorbike or order food in or just do the walk. It was really an amazing deal and a beautifully appointed room in a gorgeous jungle location. Incredible trees and paths! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Family bungalow for those happy to eat out for their meals! It's a great deal.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at Twin Villa for 3 nights and we did enjoy those day very much.

Location is nice and peaceful, just near Sairee beach. You cannot beat morning vibe that this place has. You just go to kitchen, open shutter and enjoy nature with a view from mountain over the beach. On the first day we loaded largest fridge (there are 2 of them) with foods from local shop - fruits, drinks, etc. and did some cooking using tools provided in the kitchen. It's a good option to save some money and enjoy sweet, cool mango when waking up.

As you can guess when arriving in these villas, nature is so close - lot's of fruit tree - banana, coconut, cashew, avocado. Of course when you are so close to nature, you cannot avoid some lizards, ants and thousand leggers in the kitchen area if you keep doors open. However none of them get into bedroom. Mosquito is not a problem there, because they appear just twice a day for short time (around hour or less) and rest of the time we just hang out with open doors in kitchen area or outdoors enjoying our drinks while watching over Sairee.

Andre is a nice and helpful owner and he put a lot of efforts to maintain the place.

It's not quite a resort type honeymoon place, but it's good spot to start your adventures in Koh Tao and staying there just to enjoy slow life near nature.

We would stay there again and hope Andre keep this place the way it is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

"La Cigale" was the best place I stayed during a month-long journey through Southeast Asia. The owner, Andre, makes you feel right at home the minute you arrive, and you are guaranteed to find the tranquility and peace that is lacking at so many hotels and guesthouses. I stayed in the family villa, which has all the amenities that one could ask for, including a fantastic porch view of Sairee Beach. The bungalows are well spaced from one another, giving you the calm feeling of being far from the madding crowd. They are also immaculately kept, very clean and modern. The only downside is that I could not stay longer than three nights, as I had to return to Samui in order to catch my flight back. Next time I visit Koh Tao, I will certainly be back!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank FunkyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews