We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Seaview Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaview Resort
Ranked #33 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I made the reservation at seaview resort because I didn't want to be on Sairee beach, the first night was perfect cause I had an upgrade the room was great then the next day I changed room for a standard one 800 bats for a very basic room. There wasn't even a door between the room and the bathroom say bye bye to your intimacy, the light didn't light up anything.
The staff is friendly thought.
It's far from everything

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwenaelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Seaview resort for 4 nights and had a good time there. For the small amount that we paid for a basic standard room, it was really good value. However, I would not go as far as saying that the room was luxury- it was very basic. I must also say that I did not like the non-flushing toilet, but unfortunately, non-flushing toilets are the norm on Koh Tao.

I really enjoyed the restaurant at the resort, which offers a magnificent view of the ocean. The menu was very diverse, the food was cheap and excellent tasting! I would definitely say that the restaurant made a significant contribution to making our stay there a happy one.

As other reviewers have said, the staff are also really friendly and helpful. They offer a significantly cheaper taxi service to various points on the island as well as two free transfers to the town every day at 8:45am and (about) 1:45pm.

***VERY IMPORTANT!! Make sure to call the resort the day before you arrive to arrange for one of their staff to fetch you at the pier (for free)***.
When I called the day before we arrived the manager warned me about the chaotic friendzy, of informal taxi drivers looking for business at inflated prices, that happens at the pier when newcomers arrive on the island. His advice was appreciated!

Overall, we had a great stay at Seaview resort. The room was ok, but not great. The restaurant and transfer service were top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwil001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've tavelled fairly extensively and can confidently say this is one of THE best places I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The delightful mix of luxury and nature blend together in perfect harmony, mealy complimenting the gorgeous sea that you get to wake up to each morning. The staff are fantastic, they offer the finest of service in whatever they do, whether it be supplying information on the island or serving up food in the top star restaurant. If you stay at Seaview prepare to be impressed, it's the perfect hotel to experience this stunning island in the sun.

Room Tip: ask for room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leevk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

On arrival we were told that there were no rooms available, even though we'd booked through Agoda - not sure with whom the blame lies. Eventually got in - decent little hut; clean, big enough, hot shower (but no flush on the toilet!). Not ideal when travelling with a mate but very romantic for couples! It was about a 10 minute taxi ride from the main area, you wouldn't want to walk it. Restaurant served good food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We came to Seaview Resort after reading the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. The receptionist was very helpful in arranging a pick up from our previous hotel on Sairee beach.

We were planning to spend 6 nights there, to explore the quieter side of Koh Tao. We hoped for an aircon room but none was available for the first 2 nights. So we got a fan room.

Unfortunately the room was not very clean at all. The balcony was sticky, the hammock plain dirty. There were hairs, dust and many insects in the bathroom and even on the toilet seat. Since it's Thailand we expect a few bugs, but this bathroom had not been cleaned in a while. The bedroom itself was fine, clean sheets etc. and the view from the hut was really nice.

When exploring the area we learned that the beaches are quite far away. We weren't happy with the walking distance. You'd need a motor bike really, to get you there. Which we hired at the resort for 200 baht per day - the going rate on the island. The roads were pretty bad, especially to Tanote Bay.

In the end we decided not to stay at Seaview. We checked out that evening after having found a resort on the beach at Chalok Bay. We received a refund for half the room price which was very reasonable we thought.

I have awarded three stars but because we didn't actually sleep there it was hard to provide a rating.

Room Tip: We had a look at one of the a/c rooms and it looked a lot nicer, and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soozysooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just stayed there and had really good time thanks to some of staff people and people we met, otherwise could have been an average review.

We got a superior room for 1200 baths per night, small bungalow with balcony, clean with a/c. The view is not like you would imagine, ocean is far and there is electical cable just in front so in the view and it is on the street so sometimes noisy in the morning. Ready some reviews previously i emailed to get room upper but they did not understand my request and anyway there is only 2 superior rooms that are both on the lower level. That was not a big issue in the end as we spent most of the time out of the room. Water was warmish but so hot outside anyway.

At the restaurant and bar, the view is amazing and the stuff just amazing. P-Ai is so so nice, really helpfull and if you are not thirsty tell him because he will always refill your glass of water as soon as it is empty and will insist and always say just in case. Matt the evening belgium guy is cool too, he can help you with diving and beaches etc. those 2 were the persons we enjoyed the most and the more helpfull and always available. That would be why I did not give an excellent review. If you need something else regarding directly the hotel it is a bit harder as the owner Nok is working at the hospital, she is really nice but not always on site which i can understand but Diana at the reception is less friendly and seemed really strict. It was bit harder to communicate with her.

Otherwise regarding location, it is 15min from Ao Leuk which is nice beach to snorkle but do not expect white sand beach, tanote bit futher, bit hard to access, is also really nice for snorkeling. For the rest you need a vehicle, motobike are 200 baths at the hotel, only 150 baths in town so would recommend to do the walk as the hotel moto we had was old, we had, the tires flat so had to go to station and mostly no back break and not the moutain tires as most of the moto on the island.

Best beach for me to chill is chark bay or freedom beach, if you an book a boat to do a island trip,it will cost 2000 baths (2400baths at the hotel) so if you find other people do not hesitate to ask them as we did and split the cost, for 4 only 500 baths for full day and goes and stop wherever you want. Day group trip is 650 baths per person for mini of 30 persons so it is nicer to do the private way.

We viewed other hotel for next time and there is other good values on the beach for just a bit more that worth it if you want the beach by but I can't tell about service and that sometimes you can't put a price on it so I would probaly go back there. By the way food is really good there even though between 1.5 to 2 times more expensive than outside but again being on the restaurant terrace with good service made us felt lazy and eat there few times.

Last thing, wifi is not really accessible from rooms, only from restaurant. It is free but not from the room as said on the website and shuttle to town is only once at 8.45am so that is something to improve to my opinion.

Room Tip: Superior room are fully close so less insect and animal as standard are open from the bathroom but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chingsabung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Seaview made us feel very much at home. Dean and PA (Bartender) were extremely helpful and gave us all the information we needed without the sales pitch, which you sometimes find at resorts. The bungalows were great value (be prepared for a cold shower) and the food in the restaurant was tasty and good value. As others have said, you need transport to get about but its nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the busier areas. It's very easy to get a taxi or hitch a ride on a bike back from town. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher bungalows to avoid the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlakeySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Miracle Koh Tao
The Miracle Koh Tao
#2 of 79 in Koh Tao
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#47 of 148 in Koh Tao
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Resort

Address: 52/1 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £21 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run resort and restaurant offering stunning views across the Gulf of Thailand from Aow Leuk and Shark island to Koh Pangang and Koh Samui. Our rooms are traditional style wooden bungalows set in large tropical gardens, with a popular restaurant a bonus for our guests. We are close to all the main beach areas of Koh Tao but far enough away to offer some peace, space, and tranquilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing