We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaview Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed for three nights at the Seaview Resort apparently shortly after there was a change in management. I cannot judge the resort before the beginning of July 2014. But it was the comments on TA before that date that made me and my two friends book this place.

Unfortunately then the management changed. To the worse. The "manager" is extremely uncapable. Now, on what grounds do I make such a claim?

First, we are no 5-star travellers. We are three young guys who are very used to rustic accomodation but we expect that if we pay more than average that we are treated fairly well. And I do not mean being spoilt all the time, but being seen as customers and not intruders.

1) Before we arrived our booking got completely lost. After asking to get a reconfirmation that our booking is actually exisitng (and we had prepaid!), the manager felt offended and educated me via email on how to behave. Bad first impression.

2) Upon arrival things were not as we had booked. Instead of complaining all the time we remained friendly and tried to keep quiet and just get along with the situation.

3) Rooms are not being cleaned although you ask for it. The manager then says his staff is so unreliable. Btw, great boss!

4) Our windows couldn't be opened. After telling the manager he said he would take care of the repair. It did not happen until three days and many complaints later. Then the handyman left nails, metal parts and a lot of dirt in our room. Meaning that after the handyman left the room nobody checked back if it was alright, let alone if it was clean.

5) Overall the manager spreads an atmosphere in this resort as if it was his living room. If you enter the restaurant/bar you immediately get a feeling of being repelled since he gives you the feeling you are disturbing him (he is sitting in the restaurant all day and night long). Very bad feeling if you actually came to spend money. Once we ate in the restaurant, and never again, because they just give you the feeling that you are bothering them (the food was ok though).

6) There was a special situation when a power cut occured. Numerous people complained about that. Here, I have to say, we know it is normal on Koh Tao that the electricity just comes and goes, no problem. However, the way the manager dealt with the situation was terrible. I, for one, again heard him educating people that they should not complain to him and that it is a new situtation for him, too, and right now, anyway, it is very diffficult for him and that the customers shouldn't ask so many questions. It was utterly unprofessional.

7) The manager decides very spontaneiously on when to close the kitchen. Although he might tell you that they offer food until XX.XX, you might find yourself hungry at night because he comes up with ridiculous reasons on why the kitchen had to close early "today". This is simply not the way customers want to be treated.

And bear in mind, that they don't charge you a cheap hut price of 500-1000B, but give or take between 1400 and 1800B per night. Given the price level I would expect somewhat of a more overall professional handling.

To be fair: The resort seems clean. However there is a terrible sewer smell all over all the time.
Yes, there are geckos, but it is a tropical island after all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arvid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Seaview Resort and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Seaview resort is a great place to stay for many reasons.The room are clean and the staff hospitality is great.This resort also has a restaurant that offer good thai food. so it is very easy to have 3 meals a day.I highly recommend establishment.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tarachapong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The bungalows are find,you have to accept that it's a wooden bungalow but we had no signs of mice ,or insects (gecko of course but they are harmless) and the room was clean.The food was delicious ,we had Padthai and tom yam koong that was so great.

I hope seaview resort continues to thrive , it deserves to.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rendakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is in a less touristic area of the island and is very close to beautiful beaches (especially if you're interested in a casual snorkel to start/end your day or looking for an adrenaline jump off a small boulder in Tanote bay). The two larger and more touristic beaches are less than 10 minutes away by taxi or scooter. The rooms made me feel like a true islander (in a positive way) and the main lobby has an amazing view from which you can see Koh Phangan and Koh Samui on a clear day and it was consistently filled with friendly and down to earth tenants and hotel staff. Whether you're coming to Koh Tao to relax, snorkel, dive, or party, I strongly recommend this staying at this place!

Pros: The amazing people (both the new hotel manager and tenants hanging out in the lobby truly made my experience on Koh Tao). The location and view. The atmosphere (if you're into nature and don't mind walking several steps to get to your room you'll love it). The food. The hammocks. And once again the manager; Stevo was amiable, funny, generous, extremely helpful and was very knowledgable about the island.

Cons: Given that life on a small island follows a slower pace, checking-in and ordering food would take a bit longer than I'm used to. However, the waiting time wasn't too bad and with an amazing view and the opportunity to talk to wonderful people. The hotel staff would wait until they were told by the manager to clean rooms; that may be a cultural thing but hopefully it improves as he continues to train them. This doesn't apply to the hotel haha, but trust me and do not rent an ATV quad bike... Stick to a scooter, taxi or even better a bicycle.

Room Tip: It's Thailand so if you can get a room with A/C then do it. Also, if you're planning to have...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DanFromMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a standard bungalow. We would have left after the first night if we hadn't already paid. We are budget backpackers and so we don't expect very much but this was worst place we have stayed so far on our 3 month trip. We were woken multiple times every single night by a huge lizard. On the final day we even found it's poop in our bathroom - lovely! The room wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there; we asked if someone would clean our room and they didn't so we asked again and all they did was change the towels. The bathroom smelt awful and the sink leaked. The restaurant was terrible, the menu looked very good but they barely had anything in and they got our meals wrong on the first night. We also had to wait for them to go out and buy the ingredients before they cooked it, which took a while. The staff couldn't remember what we had and hadn't paid for so they were asking us to remember! In all it was an awful stay and I would not recommend it, it was way overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lora814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewResortKohTao, Gérant at Seaview Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

We are in a tropical island so there is lizard here. We can't control where lizards are going and unfortunately where they poo!
Im sorry if your room wasn't clean when you asked for it but the management here changed and its not the case anymore. We also have a new menu and every ingredients we need to cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is really nice. I will definitely go there again.

Pros:
+ Neil (the person in charge) is REALLY REALLY nice and helpful, he gave us tips of places to go, helped us with a lot of stuff, came to look for us on the ferry, and drop us there to.
+ Awesome food in the restaurant, it is not cheap, but it is awesome.
+ Good WiFi
+ They provide shampoo and soap
+ It is located near the best beach in Koh Tao (in my opinion), BUT to get there you have to walk 15min in a road with A LOT of up and downs (a heavy walk), and you will get to the beach exhausted

Cons:
- The water heater is electrical, and the electricity on the island is awful, so you may, or may not, have a nice shower (its not up to the hotel that, but...)
- If you are not fit, dont go there. It has A LOT of steps to climb.
- The wildlife noises can make it hard for you to sleep. They are really loud.
- There is a lot to improve in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic experience in Koh Tao. I stayed 2 days and a half in May 2014 and I found it as a fantastic place to disconnect your mind from the stress of the modern world. There is one touristic beach that is the one you can sunbathing called Aow Leuk. There are few bars and restaurants and accommodation in bungalows. They have free wifi all day all night.Food is fresh and very good. The staff is very relaxed and extremely friendly. I stayed full board and had quite a lot of drinks.

If you can not live without the typical comforts of modernity I would not recommend this place but if you are the one who can live with nature I'm highly recommend Seaview Resort!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Allaroudb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Resort and Restaurant

Address: 52/1 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run resort and restaurant offering stunning views across the Gulf of Thailand from Aow Leuk and Shark island to Koh Pangang and Koh Samui. Our rooms are traditional style wooden bungalows set in large tropical gardens, with a popular restaurant a bonus for our guests. We are close to all the main beach areas of Koh Tao but far enough away to offer some peace, space, and tranquilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing