We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 25 April 2014

These basic bungalows are great for a few days in Koh Tao. The view was gorgeous from our bungalow. Its a 4 min walk from Sariee beach so perfect for restaurants and bars but far enough away you can't hear the bars if you trying to sleep. Only bad thing is the building work, which starts about 9am but that will be finished soon. Great restaurant down on the sea with amazing views and delicious food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Dd hut has accomodation for a kinds of travelers, I stayed in two very nice huts. The oldest are very basic and can be better maintained but the new ones are very beautiful. The old ones have a hammock on the porch, witch is fantastic! Very friendly staff, good location, just next to the bars on the beach.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank MartineoOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

...unless of course you'd like to pay upwards of 150 US dollars for scratches to the bottom portion of the motorbike (where it's impossible to keep even remotely unscathed) and have the motorbike guy literally nose to nose with you if you don't pay. Unbelievable. Even if you try to go to the police, which the motorbike guy smugly suggested, it's no use. They get complaints every single day about motorbike scams on the island and there is 'nothing they can do'. We figured we could leave the passport and pay for a new one back home, around 80 US, or pay for the MINOR scratches, apparently 3,000 Baht, but "discounted" down to 2,000 Baht, around 60 US. We paid it. This motorbike guy has some major anger issues, so beware. The one and only day we had with the bike was not worth the hell experienced afterward.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We actually did not stay at the DD Hut hotel but we rented the motorbikes from them located right next to the Lotus Hotel pool. It was an absolute scam. They charged $2050 baht for tiny scratches on the bike that I did NOT do. They claimed I crashed it when really the little Knicks were most likely from rocks or trees or my shoes. In the time we were sorting it out another European couple who could not speak Thai or English were also getting scammed. They would not give us our passports back and wouldn't let me speak to the owner of the DD hut operation. I also found some similar reviews about them online afterwords. The day we were leaving Koh Tao I saw it happening AGAIN to some other poor customers! Travelers walking by even got involved and the guy running this dared us to get tourist police, while laughing and shooing us away. Pretty much left me vulnerable. I should have took pics of bike before and after, my fault there. Spare yourself and go elsewhere. It seems to be a quick and easy money maker for these people. Never again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Layla9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This place is just a construction yard.
During our visit they were contructing and building new bangalows. It is full season with all the rooms occupied. They started early in the morning and finish late in the evening.
We couldn't relax,we couldn't sleep and the place was full of dust.
The workers were shouting and singing and we couldn't chill out.
The owners are not reliable at first told us the constructions finish at 17.00 but then when we booked and paid the room they told us that they finish later.They are not reliable at all.
The rooms were dirty and full of dust. The bathroom has a bad smell and the sink was broken. The toilet has yellow stains.
The beds were were old and you couldn't sleep well.There is no room service at all.

Beware of what they tell you before you book the rooms.There are many better places to stay in the area. More quiet and clean.

Room Tip: Avoid It. It is not place for relax and cleanliness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MykonosIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

They make constructions all day long. You can never relax and sleep. It is unbelievable to make constructions in High Season with all the apartments full.
We have to wake up early morning from the noise and come back late at night to relax.

The rooms are a little bit dirty with dust everywhere and many stains and smell from the bathroom. The beds are not suitable for sleeping.

The only goid thing is the view but dont be fooled by that. We hoped it will be a quiet place but we were wrong.

The owners are not so reliable and didnt tell us that all day long will be a building factory. So we paid all the days and we couldn't leave.

We will never visit it again or recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AkisPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

First of all we didn't had electric power most of the day. We are not living 20 years past.
They were making constructions all day long and we couldnt rest and sleep.
The managers are not reliable and at the arrival they told us differend things.

The rooms were full of dirt and dust. The shower pressure was not enough. There was not room service and the rooms were full of bugs and dust.

The beds are very old and ideal for sleeping.

The sink was briken and the bathroom full of yellow stains and smell. No One was cleaning the room during our stay. We had to clean,wash and desinfect the bathroom on our own.

I will not suggest this hotel and avoid it. There are many better places to stay.

The only positive is the view but dont get fool of that. Beware.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vasilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 157 in Koh Tao
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clear View Resort
Clear View Resort
#37 of 81 in Koh Tao
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Beach Club
Koh Tao Beach Club
#29 of 157 in Koh Tao
157 reviews
0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant

Address: Maehaad Beach | near Sairee Plaza, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £43 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing