We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Phil B
London, United Kingdom

Great Location , Friendly Staff, unfriendly smells

Review of DD Hut Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2020via mobile
DD hut is in a perfect location in between Mae Head and Sairee Beach, set up on the rocks giving it the perfect situation to enjoy the sunsets. You are close enough to walk to Sairee, but far enough to escape the lively night sounds. We stayed in the Beach Hut rooms which was initially perfect. You only had to step off your terrace and into the small infinity pool. However the downside to all this was the toilet which had one of those stand alone urinals. Although we did not use it preferring the conventional toilet, every couple of days we had to get the staff in to thoroughly bleach the smell away. In between times this was not done. It would of been nice if the staff had the initiative to do this on a daily basis rather than wait until the smell became overpowering.
It’s a shame as that issue tarnished a lovely stay, with very sweet staff in reception.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View
£95
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £95
1.5 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
£126
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Pool
£95
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £95
1.7 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
£63
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £63
1.5 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Shark
£135
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £135
1.7 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £39
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Pool
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free parking
Pool
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £43
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £61
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from DD Hut Koh Tao
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
59
44
21
12
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
44
21
12
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2019

We recently rented 8 scooters for 6 hours. We thought we were getting a good deal for 150 THB, returning bike were were charged at total of 6500 THB for scratches that seemed to have been there previously.. very frustrating people to deal with and this guy with photo attached threatening to punch one of us when trying to reason the cost. Suit yourself folks these guys are trash .

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank Davyboy1234456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

I wish I had read the one star reviews before I rented here. I was going to rent elsewhere, but they had run out of bikes.

Even after I paid for insurance, they still billed me $2000 for some minor cosmetic damages after
I bumped a rock.

Here is how their scam works . Beware!:

When you rent the bike they give you a list of possible damages and the cost to repair them. They tell you if you buy insurance then that list is not applicable. Well, he pulled out that list, and said I oh that money. I told him I had bought insurance. He then cut the prices in half and said that’s how much it was. I did not pursue it farther because I know the police would just be ending with them anyways.

These people are unethical, liars, cheaters, and crooks. MAY KARMA CATCH UP with these nasty people.

Date of stay: July 2019
3  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

Dont rent your bike HERE . They charge you a lot of money when you return your bike. We had to pay 150 dollar for scratches they were already on that bike. Rent somewhere else.
The brakes where not working. Realy dangerous

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank marceld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2019

The DD Hut hotel has a nice view to the infinity swimming pool, the beach, and a perfect location to start your daily trips. The family room with Ocean View was spacious overlooking with the swimming pool with beautiful sunset right from our balcony. Staff at the hotel Restaurant & bar and breakfast were great, friendly, and hard working. The hostess at reception was absolutely welcoming, delightful and will go the extra mile with a smile. In the end she gave us a souvenir too. Definite, I would like to stay here again and never forget.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank HBWWGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Wonderful experience in DD hut, good prices, helpful staff, great service... We used the pool twice, it was fun and has great views. The only thing that needs a bit of fixing is the toilet flushing in the room.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews