We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms and Location”
Review of Khun Ying House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khun Ying House
Ranked #25 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Rooms and Location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hostel set up was fantastic. There were plugs for every bed and the rooms were nice and ACed. Great value for what we paid, no complaints whatsoever. They included a common area as well to make it easier for travelers to socialize.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    53
    32
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
30
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very good as far as hostels go. Just minutes away from Sairee Beach - so you are cut-off from the late night noisy scenes. A/c, water, Wi-Fi work just fine - no reasons to complain at all. Staff is very friendly and helpful with special mention for Ryan.

Room Tip: Buy water from Ice Shop - close to 7-Eleven. Price of 6-pack here is about half in other shops.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

one of the best accommodation we stayed at during holidays. We stayed in 8 people mixed dorms. It was very clean , toilets were great conditions,clean and showers with hot water. They were cleaned before we even get up!
The owner is not the chattiest but very helpful. It's very good deal for this price especially on Koh Tao which can be very expensive. Also is located close to the beach, but yet aside from all the crowd, so it's very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Book in advance, it's getting full quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The place is clean, friendly owners, wifi works perfectly. Located in a quiet location for a good nights sleep but only a 2 minute walk to the beach and bars in town. Good value for money, would certainly stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisT1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Ryan, the owner, was amazing. He helped us book some day trips and came to our room to let us know our boat to Koh Phangan was cancelled and he would book it for another day. Our room was cleaned everyday so it was always tidy. So cheap but it doesn't feel like it. If I ever go back, it will be the only place I stay. We had an 8 person room and there were 6 of us traveling together, but the other 2 roommates ended up being amazing as well so it was a nice way to meet people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelorrain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Nice little hostel with a great friendly atmosphere. Ryan the owner was great and informative, he let me check in early as it was available so I could dump my bag.
My dorm was clean and the dorm toilets/showers checked daily and replenished with plenty of toilet roll so no need to go begging at the desk. The toilets and showers weren't bad, they aren't the worst I've stayed in especially for the money and the walls were always dirt free and the floor was clean to say there were 8 of us.
Not in the thick of it but I prefer it that way but literally just a 90second walk until your in the centre of the village at 7eleven. There is currently building work going on as the previous post addresses but nothing ear plugs or a few nights on the beer can't fix.
I'd stay here again :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hostel is located right next door to a construction site where the workers commence as early as 8am and don't finish their day until 6pm. All you hear all day long is banging hammers and grinders. The construction site is in the early stages so I don't see this stopping any time soon. Also I am staying in a 8 dorm room where 80% of the people are having to deal with sore throats, I think it's due to the air con and the fact that the filters haven't been changed for some time. You have to take your shoes off and leave them outside, I woke up to mine stolen! The beds are hard, you'll wake up with a sore back. The sheets are far to thin to keep you warm at night. Overall terrible stay! Stay away!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockbee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Tao
0.0 mi away
Sananwan Palace
Sananwan Palace
#3 of 8 in Bang Phli
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namthip Homebeach
Namthip Homebeach
#15 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namhasin House
Namhasin House
#38 of 77 in Koh Tao
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#41 of 139 in Koh Tao
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottage@Samui
The Cottage@Samui
#7 of 46 in Lamai Beach
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Toscana
Koh Tao Toscana
#32 of 77 in Koh Tao
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khun Ying House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khun Ying House

Property: Khun Ying House
Address: 15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khun Ying House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Khun Ying House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing