We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty shell”
Review of Khun Ying House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khun Ying House
Ranked #25 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Empty shell”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The beds are nice enough and the facilities aren't bad but there is no personality. It is literally just a place to stay and quite expensive compared to places we stayed at on other islands. Although most of koh tao's hostels seemed quite expensive. It was just not a great time. As in the title. .. it is an empty shell

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Corne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    53
    32
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
30
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two whole weeks whilst on Koh Tao, really liked the dorms, each bed feels quite seperate from the rest and personal lockers which fit a backpack (25l) easily. WiFi was good, each dorm of 8 has a bathroom with 2 toilets and 2 showers. Great location, quiet but a few minutes walk from the main street.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayesface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here for almost 3 weeks for a couple of reasons- 1. Ko Tao is amazing 2. This hostel is perfect!!

Each room has 8 beds, 2 showers and 2 toilets. Each bed has 2 shelves, a power supply and a personal light, and have air con. The rooms are incredibly spacious, I never felt crowded or uncomfortable. Ryan at the front desk is THE BEST he is so nice and will make sure you are having a great time and can get you tickets to anywhere else in Thailand/the area as well.

They consistently came into the room and swept, remade our beds a couple times and made sure the whole place was really clean as well.

The location is a 1 minute walk from the Main Street without actually having to be on it meaning you can easily sleep at night.

100% recommended for your stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I booked 25th feb to stay today, I went there and they hadn't had a bed booked for me so he started to try find it then he started blaming it on booking.com saying it's very complicated. But then he found my booking sheet inside their folder, he could of just admitted it was their mistake. Anyway he was a nice guy and did find me another room in pranee resort which said was his sisters? Also he kept saying I was very lucky to move here instead of apologising. Although now I'm here I have to change room in the morning cos the bed is booked for tomorrow night and it's a diving only resort which isn't what I wanted although yes I'm aware koh tao is mainly for divers! soooooo not best pleased to say I booked two month ago!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rains2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hostel was ok, staff was very unfriendly but rooms were clean. Own locker, which is very unsafe by the way but nice for the idea. Location is ok 10 min walk to restaurants and beach. They have a bar but it is closed all the time. Small common area outside. Ok if you are Looking for a cheap place but there are much more better hostels to go.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouck v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hostel set up was fantastic. There were plugs for every bed and the rooms were nice and ACed. Great value for what we paid, no complaints whatsoever. They included a common area as well to make it easier for travelers to socialize.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very good as far as hostels go. Just minutes away from Sairee Beach - so you are cut-off from the late night noisy scenes. A/c, water, Wi-Fi work just fine - no reasons to complain at all. Staff is very friendly and helpful with special mention for Ryan.

Room Tip: Buy water from Ice Shop - close to 7-Eleven. Price of 6-pack here is about half in other shops.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Tao
0.0 mi away
Sananwan Palace
Sananwan Palace
#3 of 8 in Bang Phli
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namthip Homebeach
Namthip Homebeach
#15 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottage@Samui
The Cottage@Samui
#6 of 46 in Lamai Beach
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Namhasin House
Namhasin House
#38 of 77 in Koh Tao
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Toscana
Koh Tao Toscana
#34 of 77 in Koh Tao
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#42 of 139 in Koh Tao
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khun Ying House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khun Ying House

Property: Khun Ying House
Address: 15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khun Ying House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Khun Ying House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing