We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised with the excellent food”
Review of cafe del sol

cafe del sol
Ranked #21 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Italian, French, Pizza, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: cafe del sol is the first french restaurant since 1999 in koh tao. Pizzas, steaks and grilled fish specialities, Cafe del sol is well recognized for its excellent food. It's a hot spot for gourmet lovers from around the globe, Cafe del sol is an earthly paradise of pleasure and taste. The french/italian chef puts his 20 years of experience at your service at reasonable prices.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Surprised with the excellent food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

During our 5 day stay on Koh Tao my wife and I did eat here 5 times, the pizza we took was amazing delicous , something you do not expect on an Island in Thailand. Also we were crazy for the fresh fruit shakes. Try to come before rush hour because the place was all evening and lunch time with customers. They have also good coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    248
    102
    30
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit of an oasis”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We wouldn't usually eat western food while traveling in Thailand but as special one-off we ate here on night. Great steak !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hughsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Something for all when you have a hankering”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

To sum it up, the service was great, the food was good and the atmosphere was lovely.

We went for an early dinner with our two kids and were seated immediately. Our kids had a hankering for pizza so they shared the margherita pizza. They had argued about wanting 1 each for themselves and I am glad we made them share 1 because it was a big pizza. You certainly won't leave hungry. The service throughout the meal was very attentive. Also, the corner location allowed for people watching and the atmosphere was lively. While I wouldn't make a special trip to go there, I would go there again if it were dinner time and I am in the neighborhood with my kids.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llanham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Okay food, convenient location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The meal we enjoyed was okay, nothing special. Expect European cuisine at reasonable prices. Location downtown is a big plus. Friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice place for a tastefull bite”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Nice place for a tastefull bite, open all day. Friendly staff and quick service. We had a nice diner at Cafe del Sol, the only disapointment was the wine. But it's hard to find a nice bottle of wine in any restaurant around Koh Tao.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KristaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed cafe del sol also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to cafe del sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing