We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Cheerful and Chilled!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sairee Cottage Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I mainly came to this resort as my mate works here, but without a doubt it was amazing and the highlight of my trip in Thailand. We stayed in the cottages, and they were spacious, right on the beachfront and most importantly had AC. The restaurant was a favourite haunt of ours, and we also tried some of the local cuisine too.
We got our PADI open water done, and the boat and day was chilled, and not overcrowded. The rates for getting your diving done here are insanely good, and the staff at Sairee Diving are very accomodating, patient and brill craic.
We got picked up by Sairee Cottage, and the location is ideal, as it's a stone's throw from the party scene and Lotus bar with their insane fire shows and cheap buckets.
I have sent many of my mates here since I've left, and I will continue to without a doubt. If you want a chilled relaxed atmosphere, Sairee Cottages is the way to go, and DO the 3day dive course if you can, I just didn't have the time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradders25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

we stayed at sairee cottage for 2 nights. the staff was ok, the restaurant was ok too.
but the bungalows we stayed in were horrible. ok, they were the cheapest (400baht) - but now we know why. sleeping with animals (mosquitos, geckos etc.) is not what we expected. also it gets so damn hot in there, the fan does a lousy and LOUD job. we were happy to leave soon. i bet the other bungalows are better (at least they look better from he outside) but ours was just not nice. the shower was cold, but u enjoy that after a night in an oven.
the diving was also allright. good teacher, small group, everything ok.
ah! and the beach: really not worth staying it. if u wanna dive, dont mind. if u want to sunbath, head to another coast on koh tao.

staying at sairee cottage might not be a wrong desicion, just make sure u dont stay in the cheapest bungalows.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here for the last 4 nights of our trip to thailand. As we were on holiday rather than backpacking the 2500 baht (with AC, 2000 without) we splashed out On the deluxe seafront beach bungalows. Great location, just up from the madness of the lotus bar and the livelier end of the strip so sleep could be had. We had 2 nights in OB6 and 2 nights in OB2. OB2 though perpendicular to the sea was clearly newer and had better facilities so worth asking for that one if you do want to book it up, although both were lovely and worth the cash if you do want to trade up. Will definitely return here if given the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex_Lee_Green_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed here for 10 days in July.

I stayed in the aircon dorm. Very comfy, aircon worked perfectly, plenty of space, and the lockers were of a good size, also very reasonable prices, as well as being one of the few places with dorms on the island.

I did my PADI Open Water here, and then did some fun dives after too.
The dive staff were great fun, but yet still very professional. The atmosphere on the boats was really good, and the groups of people diving were very small, which is appreciated when diving.

The food at the restaurant was very good, best BBQ kebabs on the island (corroborated by many people).

The location is very good too, based in the middle of Sairee beach and a good location for the two busy hubs at either end of the beach.

I was recommended to come here by a friend, and I have since recommended it to many other people!
If you come to Koh Tao, this should be the first place you come!

Room Tip: Do a dive course and you'll probably get a discount on your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Do not look further than Sairee Cottage if you are going to Koh Tao, the prices are reasonable, the rooms are of good size and quality, and the staff went that extra mile to improve our stay.

If you fancy diving then definitely stay here as you will receive a good discount from your room costs, which are already amongst the best value for money on the island.

I have seen previous reviews which mention the staff being rude, I could not disagree with these statement any more, the reception staff were extremely polite and helpful with whatever we asked of them, the restaurant staff were polite, efficient and had a good understanding of english, and as for the dive team, well they made our trip.

In three words...PICK SAIREE COTTAGE...the views from the restaurant decking are amazing and everything you would ever need / want to do is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Book in advance, you get priority for rooms if you dive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanWillis6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The bungalows were modern, quite and clean. The staff of the diving center was great: helpful, nice and professional. The women of the massage shop were very nice and with golden hands (we really recommend the aloe vera massage, specially if you got sunburned!). The reception staff is helpful and speaks excellent English.
The only major problem is the restaurant staff: so rude!!!!!
Our advise: stay at Sairee cottage diving, dive at Sairee cottage diving and avoid the restaurant!
When you book, ask to be picked up at the peer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the reception: it is not noisy and much closer to the beach and city cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingmi353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Sairee Cottages is located right on the main beach-Sairee Beach. We had our own fan bungalow for just $13 a night. The grounds of the resort were super lush with lots of tropical flora which made the property a lovely place to stay. It seems as though they have a range of accommodations so you can bump up if you want something a bit fancier. The basic accommodations that we stayed in were very basic however. They didn't include toilet paper with the room, which seemed extremely stingey to me. We showed up to the property without a reservation and the front desk/office workers were very rude about this. They pretty much shouted at us that if we hadn't made a reservation and pre paid the rooms then we had not reservation (this was in response to when we told them we had had some correspondence with the owner). I've never heard of any hotel having you pre-pay your reservation, most respectable locations have you pay after you've stayed. And not to include toilet paper in even the most basic room? C'mon, how much penny pinching do you need to do. The restaurant was not good at all and we never went back after the first time. The front desk staff continued to be surly the entire time we were there.

We didn't spend a lot of time on the property of course, we were out at the beach or on snorkel trips so it didn't really affect our stay that much. It's just that there are so many places to stay on Koh Tao that you certainly don't need to put up with rude staff, when there are places next door for the same price. Sairee Cottages is good for what it is, a pretty location on the main beach in Koh Tao, and the basic accommodations served their purpose, but I have to be honest that we were really annoyed with the service.

Room Tip: If you don't need anything fancy, get the basic room. Also, just walk from the ferry pier-it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOccasionalExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,549 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sairee Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sairee Cottage Resort

Address: 10/1 Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £11 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sairee Cottage Located in the middle of Sairee beach surrounded by tropical garden and beautiful Sairee Beach. We offer different type of room that suit all budget such as .. Bungalow start from 700 THB Standard bungalow Garden room Triple room bungalow Family Bungalow Beach front Bungalow Poolside room Resort Facilities 2 Main Swimming pool Sairee Cottage Restaurant Butter cafe and bakery Butter Ice cream ( Gelato ) Pool bar day bed playground parking area etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sairee Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Cottage Diving Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing