We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely high end rooms, hideous budget huts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sairee Cottage Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely high end rooms, hideous budget huts”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the first in their top price room (2200 baht) as ko tao was packed and after hauling backbacks round for an hour this is the first place with any vacancies. It was amazing - luggage carried to room, spotless marble white flooring, pool view, fridge with complimentary water, wide screen tv.

Unfortunately my travel buddy left on day 2 so I downgraded to their standard 300baht room. Oh how the mighty fell. Solid hard, unclean beds, any hole in bathroom, no toilet flush, ceiling fan that looked as if it might guillotine me at any moment. I know 300b is cheap for ko Tao but it was so horrible I sound myself staying out all night just to avoid going back to my room.

Advice - stay in a top room if you fancy splashing out. Otherwise avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakingAwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    190
    62
    34
    18
See reviews for
55
266
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torsby
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Sairee cottage made our Koh Tao stay into a great experience, we were 4 girls going there to take our diving license for 18m. The staff, the restaurant and the accommodation was really perfect for us, so was the prices! Our instructor Sarah was so great and made us feel safe and secure from the first minute we got there, in addition to making the diving the most amazing experience the staff were also very inspiring teelling us what else to see, where to go for good meals and what to do in night-time if we would feel like partying!

If you want a great diving experience, good food and hang with awesome people, choose Sairee cottage!!

Room Tip: We had the garden room with AC, can really recommend the grade room since it was still and quiet so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

*please note - this isn't a review of the dive school! This is purely about the accommodation*

Stayed in the fan rooms which were dead cheap at 400B per night (actually free with our dive courses). Very basic beach huts with cold showers - but all you really need. Clearly great value and good location - beach and tons of restaurants bars and shops on your doorstep.

However had a number of issues with the room:

Had 2 ant infestations in the bathroom (hardly surprising as they have open slats to the sandy surroundings). Told reception both times and though someone apparently came round to sort it out, both times there were still ants all over the sink and toilet afterwards. Had to deal with it ourselves using bug spray.

Room doesn't seem to get cleaned more than once a week. Rooms and beds get quickly get dirty when you are in and out diving. Towels end up pretty smelly in a few days when you're washing 2-3 times a day.

Door frame and roof over the steps down way too low - I'm 6'2 (not unusually tall) and banged my head about 6 times in first 2-3 days. Should be simple enough to put a sign up.

Rooms are HOT. Tucked away from sea breeze and surrounded by hot sand. Saw some other fan only rooms which were much cooler. Just about ok at night when island cools down but impossible to be in there eg if you want an afternoon nap or to sleep off an illness past 9am.

Reception staff were either completely overwhelmed with other travellers, so impossible to talk to anyone for longer than 20 seconds at a time, or when they were quiet they seemed uninterested in helping.

Overall - not great but probably shouldn't expect much for the price. Have heard the air con rooms are good but expect to pay 5x more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My girlfriend an I booked our hut as part of our diving course which included a discount for the hut for doing the diving course. We had a 'Yellow' hut not far from the reception and opposite the dive school headquarters (which meant we didn't have to go far for the early starts for the diving), the rooms were basic and done the trick, we were there for the diving after all and having been to Thailand before and stayed in similar accommodation I knew exactly what to expect.
Our only real complaint would be the cockerels! I don't know where they were but if you were awake or were awoken it was quite hard to get back to sleep with them crowing (one also couldn't seem to crow properly which was annoying also!) If you can try and get a room away from the cockerels!

Room Tip: Try to be as far away from the cockerels as possible – though that may be hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tha_duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The most expensive huts are right on the beach, with you veranda actually on the beach so you can walk off the beach and into your hut.The hut has all you need. Note that it does back onto the main path so can be noisy late, at night as people return from the bars,clubs. Although quiet expensive you cant beat waking up with oceans views.The swimming pool is often used by the dive instructors so is often full. Tip, to get internet access in your room get the password from the cafe, the signal is strong enough to reach the huts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three days whilst my partner completed her diving course. She was thrilled with the level of care and support given during the course and would definitely recommend it. The bungalow we stayed was air con with hot water though very basic. The rooms around the pool looked lovely. The staff in the accommodation reception were uninterested and rarely made eye contact. When the water started pouring out black with a broken pipe I was left waiting for an hour an a half before anyone came to look at it, despite going in and reminding them I was waiting. Equally the staff in the restaurant were very rude. I waited 45 mins for a breakfast and it came out cold, when I went up to tell the manager he said 'what do you want'and certainly not in a polite way. However when we first eat there the pizza was excellent. My suggestion is go for diving but don't expect much in the way of Customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great budget place to stay. Although we weren't directly on the beach, it was literally 10 seconds away from the bungalow! One tip I'd say, the bucket you get in the bathroom, remember to fill it before you go to bed because the water is turned off through the night which we didn't realise on our first night! Koh Tao is an amazing island....wish we'd stayed longer!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyHaynes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sairee Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sairee Cottage Resort

Property: Sairee Cottage Resort
Address: 10/1 Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sairee Cottage Located in the middle of Sairee beach surrounded by tropical garden and beautiful Sairee Beach. We offer different type of room that suit all budget such as .. Bungalow start from 700 THB Standard bungalow Garden room Triple room bungalow Family Bungalow Beach front Bungalow Poolside room Resort Facilities 2 Main Swimming pool Sairee Cottage Restaurant Butter cafe and bakery Butter Ice cream ( Gelato ) Pool bar day bed playground parking area etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sairee Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Cottage Diving Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing