We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Place was by far the best place we stayed in Thailand - Guy and Bex have created the perfect hideaway. The outlook was breathtaking, and it struck the right balance between feeling completely private & secluded without feeling like we were too far away from the action (the main town is about a 15 minute walk away). We didn't have the best weather but there was still plenty to do in the villa as the hard drive was packed to the brim with movies and TV series and we could still duck out into our private pool for a swim (oh and we ordered pizza in a few times from the menus in the villa, which was delicious!). Guy even downloaded a TV series for us by request! I'm not sure what else to say except that this is a truly wonderful place, and I can't fault a thing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

the place koh tao delivers all tht it promises and
more. lovely service from guy & bex. unbelievably gorgeous villa & views. throughly deserves all the high praises from other reviewers on trip advisor. only regret that we have is not staying for longer. a must stay place for anyone looking for a bit of relax & leisure on koh tao.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at The Place for the last 3 days of our Thai trip. Having read all of the reviews on trip advisor my expectations were pretty high, yet The Place exceeded even these.
Guy and Bex have made real their own vision of the perfect holiday hideout. The Place provides down to earth luxury, scenery, privacy, and a personal touch which immediately makes you feel at home. We do hope to return.

Bravo!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeM282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Amazing stay, too bad I didn't book earlier and could get only 2 nights. The entire room decor was fabulous, tasteful and not overboard. Loved Bex and Guy's attention to detail- every small thing had been taken care of- including little torches attached to your key ( As the road can be dark at times) Absolute privacy guaranteed. Fantastic collection of movies- carefully assorted by Guy. The restroom decor was fabulous- with so much natural lighting and pebbles and plants. the bed, the sofa, the lounger- everything is awfully comfortable- you'd never want to get out.

Room Tip: Villa 1 is a little more secluded and placed further inside than villa 2- which is overlooking the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Place for two nights in January 2012 and can't speak highly enough of this secluded island retreat. If privacy, comfort and style are what you seek then this is the place for you, 5/5!
Andy

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyKeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We have just got back from a 2 week trip to Koh Samui and Koh Tao and stayed at The Place for 6 days during this. It was my fifth visit to Thailand, but first visit to Koh Tao and my boyfriends first visit to Thailand. It is now in my top 5 places to go. My sister had been the year before and recommended The Place to me. Looking back on it we wish we had just stayed at The Place for the whole two weeks. Guy and Bex are fantastic, there is literally nothing they can't organise for you. From booking our boat for us, picking us up with their taxi driver Mr Bear, the welcome pack, the movies, massages, private speed boat trips, diving, I could go on and on. The bungalows are perfect, beautifully done and luxurious, we had one rainy day and it was a pleasure to curl up with some beers and several films! It is unbelieveably quiet and peaceful, relaxing by your own pool, with the best view I have had anywhere I've stayed. I don't know what more we can say, there is nothing negative about The Place or Sairee. Koh Tao was far less hectic (and sleasy...) than other bits of Thailand I have been too, we loved it. Can't believe I haven't been before. Our boat trip from Koh Samui was absolutely fine, and I am not good with boats. I have stayed in 5 star resorts before and did immediately afterwards back in Samui and The Place was better, if there hadn't been people arriving the day we left, we would have asked to stay longer. I have never recommended a place to other people as much as this one. Guy and Bex, don't change a thing, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Just finished a fantastic 2 night stay at The Place, and we are wistful that we couldn't stay longer. The villas are absolutely beautiful, private and thoughtfully appointed...but that's only a fraction of what makes The Place so special.

The owners, Guy and Bex, have "it" nailed down. First and foremost, they are two of the most kind and pleasant people I've encountered in the hospitality business in all my years of travel. From the reservation process, to personally meeting us at ferry arrival, to taxi and laundry service, and a loaner cell phone- they have thought of everything necessary to make your time on Koh Tao essentially effortless. In addition, they went above and beyond during the course of our stay, assisting us with a few personal/specific items that needed some local help.

As a frequent traveler who typically stays in high-end properties with status and upgrade perks, it was truly a pleasure and a breath of fresh air to stay in a stunning smaller property with such personal attention to service and detail.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £146 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing