We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay! Cannot wait to come back someday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

There is only one word I can use to describe this place - Stunning! That was the first thing that went through my head when we arrived. We arrived a day later than planned due to a string of delayed flights and missed ferries. Guy and Bex were there at the pier to greet us when we finally made it, both were so lovely and really welcoming - and provided us each with a bottle of water which was very much needed after the heat of the ferry journey! We were taken up to the villa by Mr Bear, their taxi driver for the villa. This was an experience! We came to discover that on Koh Tao a lot of the taxis area trucks where you sit in the back out in the open, so it's generally an experience being driven round in them - fun as long as you hold on tight!

The Villa - Absouletely stunning. Guy and Bex have decorated this place perfectly! It's very modern but also inviting and comfy. The bed was very comfy. Everything was really clean and tidy. The villa was a really good size, massive for the two of us! The pool area was lovely. Had stunning views, especially for sunsets! Pool was perfect for cooling off, wasn't too cold, was a nice temperature. The loungers were ridiculously comfy.

Diversions - There is a big list of trips etc you can book through the villa. We didn't do any of the trips as we were being lazy for this part of the holiday. We did book the meal to be cooked at the villa for us. Ed, the chef from Barracuda, came up on our last night to cook for us. He was really lovely and friendly and had been really good and offered us another option for our mains that wasn't on the set menu as I don't eat fish or beef so he offered to us a chicken in white wine sauce which I thought was really good of him. We had pate to start, followed by the chicken with garlic potatoes and then the most amazing chocolate tarte I have ever had for pudding! The only downside was that the pudding was too big for me to finish! The entire meal was amazing. Guy and Bex set up the table on the balcony for us with little candles and Ed left us to it once he had cooked the meal, it was a really romantic evening.

The other thing that was so useful about being here is that Guy and Bex give you a thai mobile with pre-programmed numbers like their own and Mr Bears in it. This was really handy to have, and provided us with a bit of extra security knowing we had someone to call if needed and a way of calling.

In the villa Guy and Bex have left a couple of menus for restaurants that deliver. We ordered up to the villa on a few occasions for lunch and dinner. We ordered lunch and breakfast from Zanzibars which was really good. Another night we ordered dinner from Farrangos, which again was great.

Mr Bear was also really lovely and it was so handy to have him available. He has set rates to go to certain areas - 200 thb to Sairee, 300thb to Mae Had and 400 thb to ChaoLak. We used him a couple of times and he was always on time and really friendly and chatty. He doesn't work past 9pm, but you can arrange later pick ups in advance. One night we went for a meal and he gave us the number of his brother who works later to pick us up once we'd finished, he also took us and introduced us to him so we knew who he was when we came out of the restaurant.

Location - The views are stunning from the villa because it is set up in the hillside and the villa feels really isolated and private. However, because it's set up in the hillside it's an interesting walk down to the town and back up again! The walk to Sairee takes about 10 mins, and another 5mins onto the beach. The walk down is fine - it's the walk back up that's hard! The hill is very steep when you get nearer to the villa, I did it once and couldn't face doing it again in the heat so the other times we got a taxi back. I didn't like doing the walk in the dark as you really couldn't see where you were going. We had the torches that Guy and Bex had given us so that helped, but I just hated walking down not 100% of where I was going and what I was stepping on - we didn't attempt the walk back up in the dark as decided it'd be better getting a taxi. I guess I'm just a bit lazy and found the hill too steep in the heat - but it wasn't a major problem as you could always get taxis in town at night or ring Mr Bear in the day. The local taxis charged around 300 - 400 thb to take you back up to the villa because of the hill and bumpy roads so just be prepared to pay a bit more if using local taxis at night.

I would definitely stay here again, we really regret not staying longer here as it was an amazing experience and Guy and Bex are so lovely and helpful - nothing was much trouble and Bex was even lovely enough to come and scare away a giant Gecko we found in the villa. We felt a bit pathetic calling about this so sent a text and Bex came straight round with a broom to shoo it away. We actually got used to the geckos after that and grew to like the giant gecko, was just a bit of a shock on our first night! I would recommend it to anyone coming to Koh Tao as a must to stay here!

Thanks Guy and Bex for the Fab stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great location, fantastic villas. Guy and Bex are extremely helpful, have tried to think of everything and obviously care about there guests. Highly recommended. Can't fault the villas or service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesshearer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Even before we made our final booking Guy was happy to e-mail us more details and answer all our annoying questions. Then after we booked he organised all our transfers for us. When we arrived he and Bex said they'd help us as much as we needed but would leave us alone to relax and did exactly that. They gave us a mobile so we could text/call them if we wanted a restaurant recommendation for example or wanted help choosing which dive company to go with. Other than that we didn't see them or the people in the other villa for our whole trip.
The villas are just gorgeous - so well kitted out and decorated that I wish they'd come and do up my house in the UK! It's so tranquil (apart from at dawn and dusk when the crickets are noisy) and the views are lovely.
The Place is up a steep hill which helps keep you fit but the cab driver 'Mr Bear' is always on hand if you're feeling lazy!
Can't recommend it more.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2 and it was lovely - I think both are similar so either would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehtonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wow!!! What a stunningly beautiful place!! We stayed only 2 nights, which was way too short. My 40th birthday was a very special one here: we treated ourselves with private massages and a - oillamp lit - dinner, prepared by Ed from the Barracuda restaurant. The views are magnificent, the pool very nice to cool off in and the bathroom was one of the nicest we ever saw. Guy and Bex are the best hosts!!! We loved every minute of our stay!

We would highly recommend The Place to couples for a romantic hideaway!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for four nights, everything about the villa was amazing. The little things like a welcome basket of food & plenty of films to watch just made the stay extra special. I would strongly recommend anyone to stay at The Place when staying in Kho Tao, amazing views. Only bad point is that we never stayed for longer

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Thanks Guy and Bex, This is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break. Plenty of snorkelling and the walk up the hill from town were the perfect fitness center. Guy and Bex were the perfect hosts, the privacy and seclusion was great. the place enabled us to do our own thing and explore the island. We can only agree with all the other reviews .............it is the perfect place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Guy and Bex were wonderful hosts, the villa is beyond beautiful and the island is a lot of fun to explore. The view from the villa is awesome - makes you feel like you're up in the jungle on a deserted island. There's great wi-fi in the villa, though, so you're never too disconnected - unless you want it to be. They've got lots of great tips on what to do, eat, etc, and are very responsive to questions. Guests should note that this is more of an independent "home away from home" - Guy and Bex really leave you alone unless you need them. That means that you won't have turndown service, room freshening, etc., unless you ask for it (they come in and clean up every 3 days or so). We loved it, though, because we love that sort of independent travelling. Maybe my only complaint was that we wished the pool was warm! It was a fabulous place to stay and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet respite from the busy world.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Lover_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £145 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing