We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it be any better? I doubt it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Don't look any further, book with The Place immediately.

My girlfriend and I took a Christmas trip to Thailand to stay on Koh Tao and Koh Samui. Like you reading this now, we checked out the reviews before booking a place to stay and we were more than happy when the experience we had was exactly (if not more) than what the reviews had said.

My review could be just about The Place itself, but there is more to staying here than just fantastic accommodation. From before we even stepped off the ferry onto Koh Tao, the friendly service began as there was Bex with a beaming smile and a "The Place" sign above her head with our names on it ready to greet us. Guy was also there and this gives a great feeling of how much their guests mean to them. I am sure if in your experience, one of them us unable to meet you, then something important has required the other to be away. Guy promptly handed us each a bottle of cold water and took our bags to the pre-arrange "Mr Bear taxi", then they shot off on their motorbike so they could be at The Place when we arrived, to greet us again in a not so hustle and bustle environment that is the ferry pier.

They both walked us up to our villa (we stayed in number 3) and we were immediately blown away by the views and the luxurious feel of the villa; this all before we'd even stepped inside. On the deck of our villa (which I believe is the same in all) we had a 4m by 2m (approx) infinity plunge pool, 2 sun-loungers, 2 beanbags and table & chairs for outside dining. Although very open to the views, it was also very private giving the feel of being alone with your significant other.

We then moved inside to the fully air-con villa for a run-down of what we had... a small but very usable kitchen including fridge & a filtered water tap, a free hamper of goodies, a luxurious bathroom with double sink and the outside brought in (see the photos I've uploaded), an extremely comfortable large bed, a media centre with 2TB of movies, documentaries & music videos, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, safety deposit box, all linen and of course, what most reviews have mentioned, a mobile phone.

The mobile comes in handy as Bex, Guy & Mr Bear are all on speed dial, and was used a number of times to call a taxi and to ask Bex to recommend a scuba dive company. Not only did Bex recommend one, she organised it too and I simply turned up and paid (the same price as everyone else, so there's no kick-backs included). We would also receive a daily friendly text message from Bex advising us of the weather forecast.

At the time we stayed there, Guy & Bex had arranged a set 200THB each way taxi fare with Mr Bear. He works until 8pm, but his son takes over after 8pm running til about midnight. The after 8pm fare is 300THB, but given the other taxis will try and charge 300-400THB each time, we were more than happy with this and knowing that Guy & Bex have recommended Mr Bear, you've got that added comfort.

It's the little things that make this THE place to stay; the arrangement with a local thai taxi driver, the filtered water, the hamper, the mobile phone, the friendliness of Guy, Bex and all their staff, the privacy (as Guy & Bex will leave you alone once they've shown you around), all wall plug sockets are international so you don't need to bring the bulky travel adapter (you might want to check with them whether this is in all of the villas though), the media box and the list goes on......

Both Bex & Guy are full of pride and excitement for what they have built and so they should be. We hope to return in the future.

Thank you very much for making our first trip to Koh Tao one to remember.


P.S. oh I nearly forgot, yes, there is a fairly steep hill to walk up & down at the entrance but the fact that I almost forgot to put it in the review shows how little it concerned us. There are steps so you won't need to walk on the slope, and there's no rush so take your time and when you get to your villa, simply fall into your plunge pool to cool off.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Place 3 which had only one group of guests stay in it prior to us (Dec 2012) and it...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

From the minute you arrive after your LONG journey to Koh Tao you realize it was worth it! Guy and Bex make you feel welcome immediately. They give you a run down of the villa (our villa was number 2 but I don't think it would matter which one you get they all look amazing) and then leave you to relax. They give you a mobile phone to use while there, which we found really useful, texting Bex to ask questions about different activities and she was more than happy to help. The pool and view are beautiful, the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset. The extra touches are what adds to The Place - the mobile phone, the pool, bean bags, lounges, the hard drive full of movies and tv shows! The location is a good 10 minute walk down a steep hill at the start and then flat the rest of the way to the town/beach. You can easily call Mr Bear (the taxi driver) to drop you off and pick you up if you don't feel like walking. We had an amazing stay, would highly recommend to all our friends and hope one day to return!! Thanks Guy and Bex.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. If you're looking for a private getaway, away from the busyness of the main drag, this is the place to stay. Guy and Bex are great and they've thought of everything. You're even given a mobile phone on arrival with their numbers programmed on speed dial.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranieris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Great location, private, perfectly fitted out, amazing pool and view. Not far to walk into Sairee. We loved our short four day stay here, could have easily spent longer. Thank you Guy and Bex for the hospitality, but also the privacy to enjoy this spectacular location and villa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed at the villa for two weeks. I really wanted to spoil myself and which is why i chose 'The Place'. I got the friendliest and warmest welcome .Guy showed me up to the Villa and I was just mesmerized by the fantastic view overlooking Koh Tao. What I love about 'the place' was the amazing customer service . I imagine that is why they are number one in Thailand . I loved waking up to the sunrise every morning and eating my breakfast on the balcony. Its only a ten min walk from sairee beach too. Its very private too so perfect for honeymooners . Guy and Bex do everything possible to make your trip as amazing as possible . I would 100 percent go back there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaByrne1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our second stop of our honeymoon and by far the BEST PLACE ever,
. After 4 busy days in Bangkok we couldnt wait to arrive in Koh Tao. Guy and Bex gave us such a freidnly welcome at the pier with our onward transport and bottles of water for us (great touch) the journey to the villa was great fun and an experince on the back of the pick up truck seeing all the fab sites. The Villa (we stayed in villa 2 ) was amazing just like being at home everything you could think of is there. Guy and Bex have really thought of everything, A small food hamper to keep you going. Water filter so you dont need to worry about getting bottled water in all the time, The shower room is so nice. The TV system with lots of films to choose from if you want to stay in and have a chill out night, The kitchen area equipped with all you need. Guy and Bex also leave you with a moble phone to conatct them 24 / 7 , nothing is too much trouble for them, they are so friendly and send a text each day to check you are ok and to see if you need anything. They are full of good advice and places to eat at or visit. Now ... what can i say about the view and your own pool...... OUT OF THIS WORLD. The views are stunning and its so peacefull and a real relaxation place to re change your batterys. We stayed at The Place for 7 nights and just wish we could have stayed longer , we really didnt want to leave. Guy and Bex took us to catch our ferry and made sure we got on the ferry safe ( more water handed out ) We just can not fault The Place or Guy and Bex . We will hopefully be going back again next year . We had an amazing time. We want to say a MASSIVE thank you to Guy and Bex , hope to see you both next year. Nick and Laura

Room Tip: STAY LONGER THAN YOU ORIGINALLY PLAN!!!!!!!! We loved villa 2 but know Guy and Bex are building more...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajane802016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Only had a couple of days in The Place wish we had more! Absolutely perfect, very quiet and relaxing! Everything is here! Don't have to leave your bungalow for any reason!
View priceless, pool perfect, furniture brand new and very comfortable, entertainment station had everything and more, would love to take bed home with me! Bathroom amazing and shower was perfect..
Thanks to Guy and Becks for a very chilled couple of days.. Andy+Ida

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andypandylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £140 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing