We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect island retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect island retreat”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from The Place on Koh Tao, where we stayed for 5 nights at the end of a two week whistle stop tour of Thailand.

We had read all of the great reviews on Trip Advisor so our expectations where very high and I have two say everything about 'The Place' lived up to and went beyond what we could have imagined.

We were welcomed like Royalty on arrival at the pier on the Island by Guy, Bex and Franzi. From the moment we set foot on the island to the moment we were dropped off back at the pier the team couldn't have done more to make our stay absolutely perfect.

They really have thought of everything - from a welcome hamper to a free mobile phone with their own taxi driver and other useful numbers pre-programmed.

The Villa we stayed in was immaculately clean and the view from the balcony across the tree tops to the sea is breath-taking! Having our own infinity pool to relax in and watch the sun setting with an ice cold beer was something I will never forget!

I couldn't recommend 'The Place' enough and it was the perfect place to stay after the hectic cities and long plane, bus and ferry journey's we had experienced the week before. The one thing I would change....a longer stay here!

Some things I would recommend doing while you are there:

1. Hire a moped - We got one from the small shop at the bottom of the hill up to 'The Place'. They are very cheap (approx. £5 per day) and one tank of fuel lasted for four days with plenty to spare! Once you have one of these you can get to the quieter bays on the island very easily (although some of the tracks down to the beaches are a bit steep!) Just make sure you check the bike carefully before signing the documents so that you don't get stung for scratches when you return it.
2. We paid for the chef from Barracuda Restaurant to cook for us in the Villa. Just speak to Guy, Bex or Franzi who will arrange this for you. It is very reasonable and we had the best Fish Platter ever!!! Not many other places in the world where this would be affordable so go for it while you are there!
3. Finally if you want to go diving, I went for an afternoon trip and did two dives with 'Bans Diving Resort' (Sairee Beach). They are very professional and the instructor was great. If diving isn't your thing you can borrow good snorkels and masks from 'The Place' for free and just explore the coral reefs at some of the bays around the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
760
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the pick up until the drop off at the pier a truly incredible experience.
Guy, Bex and Franzi are perfect hosts! Always there if needed without invading the privacy.
They will help with recommendations for everything!
The villas are just plain wonderful, better than the images promise!
This is simply the best place to stay.
The only negative thing to say is that we only booked 3 nights, but that was our own fault!
We will be back! Fore sure!
Thanks for a wonderful experience!
C&L

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My fiance and I found this place on Trip Advisor and booked it based on the reviews we found there. We tried not to get our hopes up as it sounded almost too good to be true. But from the moment we walked off the ferry at the Koh Tao port and were greeted by Guy, Bex and Franzi, we realised The Place would exceed all our expectations! The villa itself was exquisite. They have thought of everything, from the well stocked kitchen, to the luxury bathroom, to the genius entertainment system, everything has been done to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. The private infinity pool is just incredible - with the sun setting over the sea directly in front of you. Guy, Bex and Franzi were fantastic - always happy to make bookings or recommendations, but always giving us all the privacy we needed. One of the best things about our stay was that is felt like 'home'. It was just so comfortable and welcoming to get back to the villa after a trip down to the township, we honestly didn't want to leave at the end of our 5 nights. We will definitely be returning to the The Place one day soon - I can't recommend them highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenJones12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 ending a three week trip of Thailand, we only stayed for three nights I wish we could have stayed much longer. The Place really is like paradise on earth, you want for nothing in the villas they really have thought of everything! The staff are amazing and can't do enough for you, they give you a mobile to contact them on, we even got a text every morning with the weather forecast on!! They make you feel like royalty from the second they meet you off the boat. I could just sit and look at that view forever you have to see it to appreciate how beautiful it is! I will be going back one day my favourite place I have stayed anywhere in the world, you will not regret going to The Place!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights whislt on Koh Tao just before our wedding. We were hoping for a slice of luxury and what we got exceeded our exceeded expectations!

From start to finish our experience was pure luxury, from the moment you arrive, the owners Guy and Bex, welcome you with a lovely reception and show you to your villas. They really have thought of EVERYTHING, even down to giving you a mobile phone loaded with credit to contact them for anything you need. They do not hesitate to arrange anything for you, from organising taxis, to ordering food, to making reccomendations of where to dine or for activities to do if you can drag yourself away from this fantastic resort for long enough.
The Villas are decorated to a very high standard and are equiped with all the lates mod cons, and the views are some of the best we have ever seen.

Our best friends were staying in the Villa next door yet we were secluded in our own little private haven and could have spent the two days there and not even seen them.

We treated ourselves to a private chef who came and cooked the most excuisite sea food for the four of us, again this was all arranged for by Bex and was an amazing experience.

I can not fault our stay and I do not think that i have ever said that about a hotel before, it really is the best place we have ever stayed. So reasonable for what you get and we will be back!

Thank you Guy and Bex for a wonderful experience.

Mr and Mrs Bolton x x x

Room Tip: Any, they really are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Villas were excellent value for money for myself, my husband and the kids :)

The staff make The Place an unparalleled place to stay on Koh Tao - do yourself a favour and book in a week on your next trip to the Island!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryArm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

wish we could of stayed longer the villa was first class and the staff couldn't do anymore for you peaceful and romantic can't wait to come back
you can go out of stay in your villa at night as town centre is in walking distances or you can have anything delivered right to your door

Room Tip: we stayed in villa 1 - best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalietivenan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing