We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Place" is right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The Place" is right”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights at The Place and we were blown away with the quality of service. To start with the villas are beautiful. The private pool was gorgeous with a great view. It was private and secluded but The Place is close enough to the Sairee to walk and go to bars and restaurants.

Being provided with a mobile phone on arrival to book cabs and order in food - including breakfast - is a lovely touch. We had our choice to eat out or in any night we liked.

Our villa had a video hard drive loaded up with the latest films which was perfect if you just wanted to relax and stay in with a beautiful takeaway.

Finally - all of the staff are out-of-this-world nice! Bex, Guy, Franzi and Mr Bear met my wife and I at the dock and drove us straight back to the villas to get settled. And then each day we received personal texts advising on the weather. They were contactable anytime we needed them.

Overall The Place is a perfect five out of five and ill be recommending them to all our friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
748
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Place for 4 nights in March and we cannot speak more highly of the experience we had! Our villa was absolutely stunning, with every need catered for. The staff (Guy, Bex and Franzie) were so helpful and went out of their way to help make our stay memorable. The local taxi driver Mr Bear is always happy to give you a lift into Sairee or anywhere else around the island. This was our first time in Koh Tao and staying at The Place was a big part or our memorable experience. We love the island and we love The Place. Can't wait to go back again soon.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Place was the last stop on our round-the-world Honeymoon. We stayed for 6 nights, and are very pleased to say that of all the accommodation we stayed in, The Place was by far the best!
What Guy, Bex, Franzi, Mr Bear and The Place staff have created, is something quite special :-)
Imagine taking all the best bits of every hotel, villa, etc you've ever stayed in, and this is what The Place is like.
Congratulations to The Place for delivering a totally unique, high quality and amazing experience that no other accommodation (around-the-world) has been able to replicate. 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCL500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

When on our honeymoon last month we stayed at 3 different resorts and villas. However, when we are asked ‘how was honeymoon’ the only place my husband and I did not stop raving about was The Place!
There is not much that can be said about these sensational paradise villas that hasn’t been said in previous reviews but I will try my best to list all the wonderful things about it –
* Privacy – We were not interested in the party scene of Thailand but still have easy access to the shops and restaurants. The Place is a 10minute stroll down hill into town and a quick 200bhat taxi ride back (We tried walking up the hill once, that was enough!).
There are only 5 villas – a max of 10 people staying at any time! We barely saw two guests and that was fine by us!
* Private infinity pool – absolutely sensational! It is not just the size of a bathtub; it has a great depth, width and length.
Guy, Bex and Franzi respect that you might just want to be on your own so they give you a mobile to contact them whenever you need questions answered or your villa to be made up. The pool has a self cleaning system so no one needs to come in and disturb you.
* Scenery – The Place is situated at the top of a hill which is a struggle to walk but as soon as you enter your villa it makes it all worth while. The ocean views, abundance of coconut trees and dense greenery is just breathtaking. We rarely left our villa and just looked out to the view!
* Dining – during our stay there was no in house dining BUT there were menus from restaurants in town that free delivered. Bex and Franzi gave their recommendations and all the food we ordered was delicious. We simply used our resort mobile to order. If you want to cook yourself the villas have a kitchenette with all the cooking utensils you need – just go shopping at the 4P supermarket in town!
* Drinking water – my husband loved this! The kitchen has a standard tap but also a filtered drinking tap. This was very refreshing after constantly having to buy bottled water.
* In house entertainment – There is a flat screen in the room but it has no television channels so we were oblivious to world news for 5 days – wonderful! If you do want to catch up on current affairs you can always use the free wifi on your phone which was a good speed. Guy’s pride and joy is the media hard drive he compiled that contains over 1500 movies and television shows from Eddie Murphy’s Delirious to Cinema Paradiso.
All in all we felt the place was just perfect and we still talk about it every day!
If you’re jealous reading this, don’t waste any time and book with The Place now! We cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainie_t83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I won't repeat what everyone else has said apart from to say I agree that the attention to detail, customer service, views etc are second to none. I also agree with the review below andt this is probably the best place I have ever stayed too.

I will mention the couple of small things which, whilst they did not detract from the overall experience, are the only tiny criticisms I have. Firstly the air con is not one of the latest models. It got cool enough to sleep in there but not ice cold as we experienced elsewhere in Koh Tao and Koh Phangan. Also the door was a pain to lock. Took several minutes until you got to grips with it!

So was I close to knocking off a star? No! I would have given 6 stars if I could!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed at The Place for our honeymoon for 6 nights in April. The villa was perfect and the staff and service were amazing and friendly. The views from the infinity pool were stunning. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Place was amazing! My fiance and I came to The Place with high expectations and they exceeded them! Bex, Guy and Franzi are so welcoming and accommodating. RIght from when we stepped off the boat, they were there waiting to welcome us. The whole staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is fantastic. You can tell that they all genuinely care about their guests and want to make sure that you have the best stay possible. They are also very helpful with any questions about the Island or activities to plan. They helped plan our scuba diving, boat trips, and even gave us free snorkelling equipment to borrow. When you arrive they give you a cell phone to use which was super helpful.

The actually villas are just beautiful and super clean! Our villa was so private, it was absolutely perfect. The private pool was one of my favourite parts, and was a great way to escape the heat in the morning, afternoon, evening, whenever! The space was perfect and it was so nice to have our own kitchen to enjoy meals, snacks and fresh fruit.

The week we stayed here, we actually got married and it was just perfect. The Place offers many services that fit perfectly into our wedding day. For instance they offer private massages and personal chef that comes and cooks a meal right in the villa. We took advantage and had private massages on the balcony the morning of our ceremony, which was just awesome. For the actually ceremony we left and took a taxi to another private beach but to end off the night we had the private dinner on our balcony overlooking the sunset and we couldn't have pictured a better way to end our special day! The meal was absolutely delicious. When we returned from our ceremony, the staff had left flowers and a note on the counter saying that they wanted to help us celebrate and that there was a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge for us. It was so thoughtful.

Whether you are looking to elope or just want to escape and have a relaxing vacation, The Place is worth every penny and we are just hoping that we will have a chance to come back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing