We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon and really wish we'd stayed for all of it! It's difficult to list all the little things that came together to make our stay so great, but most of our welcome to the villa was filled with us both constantly saying: "Wow!", "Oh wow!, or, "Cool!"

The set up that Guy and Bex have at The Place is seamless and the little details make your stay more hassle free than you can imagine: all of the facilities in the villa from nespresso machine to tons of music and movies for every taste - if you even get the chance to enjoy them; the little welcome starter basket of food; the really well stocked mini-bar; the perfect level of contact with the team - you can have as much or as little service as you want; mobile phone to get takeaway meals if you fancy a night in; just everything!

The location is absolutely wonderful and the infinity plunge pool makes the most of it! I couldn't believe how secluded we felt in our villa - we stayed in Villa 1, I think there are about 9? - and felt like we were the only people for miles around and couldn't see any of the other buildings.

We were met by Guy, Bex, Franzi, and their driver Mr Bear at the boat pier for the quick journey up to the villas. This was a lovely touch and throughout our stay we were really impressed with the whole team.

Koh Tao is such a lovely island - very chilled out, with nice bar and restaurants and lovely beaches. Obviously it's the dive mecca of the Gulf of Thailand and when you get in the water you'll realise why. It's literally like diving in an aquarium.

All in all, a fantastic set-up that puts you at its heart and makes sure you enjoy your holiday. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
737
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The Place - what a place ! After reading such positive reviews my expectations were very high indeed - and all were met and some !
Every aspect of your stay has obviously been carefully thought through and it really delivers - quality and relaxation .
Guy , Bex and Franzi great people who run a great business . We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Bulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place truly is paradise! We stayed for the final week of our honeymoon and we could not have asked for more. The room is perfect - huge bed perfectly positioned to take in that wonderful view, the most fabulous shower and bathroom and a hugely practical kitchen and sitting area. Everything you could think of is covered. We were unfortunate enough to have a few days bad weather but having the entertainment box in the room made for a relaxing day watching many films from the media box and the arrangement with the local restaurants to deliver food was great. All the food we ordered was hot, delicious and delivered in super quick time.

The service the guys provide here is unparalleled. Daily texts with weather updates and ideas on things we could do in the rainy weather were so considerate and something we've never experienced elsewhere. The whole team are always on hand with the slightest of queries and nothing was ever too much trouble. They really do make the difference between good and great.

The villa seems a long way from Sairee beach but once you get your bearings it's so simple and we did the walk at least twice a day. The hill at the end is a bit of a climb but how else can you expect to get those incredible sea views.

We really did feel like me had our own spot in a private paradise and everything that everyone has said is so true. No reviews or photographs can prepare you for that first time you walk onto your private pool deck and see that completely uninterrupted view which is all yours for the duration of your stay.

We loved our stay in Koh Tao and for us, The Place made paradise even more perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyOD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

First off, the personal and luxurious touches to these villas is what makes them special.

This is just pure luxury in jungle with all the comforts you need in its entirety!

You are collected from your previous accommodation by taxi with Mr.Bear and your host Franzi on a scooter. They have free water for you and the van/taxi is air conditioned. The owners greet you warmly and you are shown to your villa by Franzi and Bex. I love the place villas t-shirts - gives it a professional touch.

When we arrived to the hilltop villa there was a gorgeous little sign made out if wood hanging in our door to greet us saying "Eithne&Jason". The deck is huge with plunge pool, sun loungers and beanbags and a palm tree. The sliding doors of the villa are mirrored on the outside and nobody can see inside. You walk in and there's a huge living areas and a step up to the king sized bed with nets above. Your own desktop and entertainment systems with any movie you want. (Flat screen rotatable ) . Lovely L- shaped couch area and kitchen. They provide you with a welcome hamper! Nice touch! Kitchen is very modern and not cheap. Expresso machine. Fridge stocked , milk and butter toaster everything.

They even have mosquito burners at the door. Sunscreen and aloe Vera along with bug spray... All neatly presented .

Bathroom is huge ,open ,bright and feels outdoors, although covered. His&hers sink...gorgeous toiletries and towels , everything you need. Shower is gorgeous!

Bed us huge and so comfortable it's hard to get out of it! Delivered of breakie is prompt! And lovely and cheap!

They provide you with a neat well organised black booklet and notebook containing everything you need to know plus a mobile phone to call them if you need anything at all. Thy give you great recommendations!! The chef can come to your villa and cook for you!! He was on holidays when we were there but we visited his resturant.... "Barracuda" ...in Sairee .. It's A most! It's really near the beach where all the lovely lil bars and chill out areas are with fire throwers and a mix for everyone! The gallary and Su Chilli are fab Thai places with gorgeous food! My favourite was Su Chilli for Thai... And it's always packed!

Currently no.1 accommodation in koh Tao on trip adviser and I can see why. It's popular too, as I could only get 2 nights on June 11th 12th here. It's worth every penny because the villa is full of everything you need. Nothing is done on the cheap and it shows immediately and with one look around!

Staff are really helpful and will do anything for you. They've obviously spent alot of time, love and money on this place and it shows . Would go back next year for sure!!

It's a real little retreat away from Sairee beach. After 8pm taxis can be super expensive (600 TBH to go to 7/11 and back one night!!) but once you know this in advance you can plan.

Memorable stay ... For total relaxation ...we loved it!

Thanks,

Eithne&Jason

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eithnemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent 4 nights here as part of our honeymoon. Our first impressions were wow! We were greeted by a staff member and the owners at the ferry and transferred to The place. We were taken to our villa... we stayed in number 5. And it was everything we expected and more. The villa was very well thought out with everything you need, including a mobile phone and home delivery food options. The bathroom was lovely and the pool.... such a nice treat to have a deck and pool to yourself! The service from the staff was perfect. Privacy was very well respected. The view is breathtaking. As for the 'hill', we didn't find it that bad. It's kind of essential to achieve such amazing views right! We walked into town, about 10 mins depending on your pace. If you don't want to walk... take a taxi! We wanted to be a little bit away from everything as it was our honeymoon. They have the balance just right here and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Villa 5 was a little more private as there is only a neighbour to one side. I imagine Villa 1 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfieldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our second time staying at the Place.. and not disappointed. We love the place so much. Bex , Guy and new member of staff Franzi are just fantastic people and treat you so well. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them. They are there to help you out with anything. We stayed in Villa 4 this time round and had a fantastic view (like all the other villas) The villa is so spacious, clean ,tidy and all you need is at hand. The ground staff and house keeping staff are so friendly and work so hard. Mr Bear is fantastic for a taxi ride if you don't fancy the walk into the town or haven't hired a motor bike. With our second stay here at the villa has just made us full in love even more with Koh Tao and being at The Place. Guy , Bex and Franzi make a fantastic team and make you feel like you are at home. From start to finish of our stay here we could not have wished for more.
A massive thank you to Guy, Bex , Franzi , Mr Bean and all the staff at the The Place .
We hope to see you again next year. Laura and Nick.

Room Tip: The Place is a must .... any villa as all will have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajane802016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We could not have been more delighted with our stay at The Place. Even before our stay, the staff was very responsive to our emails and helping schedule activities and transfers. Guy and Bex personally came to the pier to pick us up and bring us to our Villa. They also give you a complimentary cell phone to use during your stay, and will check in on you everyday to make sure things are going well. The villas are simply stunning, with a private deck and pool and endless entertainment box. We were there for our honeymoon and cannot wait to have a chance to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heeren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing