We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The vieuw, the service, the villa, everything was great.
Perfect spot for romantic holiday, honeymoon etc. They really respect your privacy and the villa's are very private. Actually the villa is so comfortable that you have to motivate yourself to leave it for diving, diner etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
775
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Place is just incredible. I am struggling to write this review really as all I can do is echo what every else has said. When we booked to go to Koh Tao for the 2nd week of our honeymoon, I found The Place on here and couldn't believe anywhere could be this good with zero negative reviews, but it is! We will probably never again stay anywhere with a better combination of fantastic location, amazing view, perfect privacy and quality service.
Bex and Franzi pick you up from and drop you off (free of charge) at the ferry port, they provide you with a phone (!!) pre-loaded with useful numbers, including theirs (with the advice that they are on call 24-7), set up massage beds on the balcony, book any excursions / diversions for you. Amazing. All villas have private pools which really are private! They have an entertainment system too with every film and tv show you can imagine, and your own PC!
If you are lucky enough to be staying for 3 nights or more (we stayed for 6!), you also get a hamper full of goodies.
It is a home from home. It took us all of about 10 minutes to relax into the villa and you could happily never leave your villa, but do! Koh Tao is a beautiful place and the bars, restaurants and shops are only a 10 minute walk away. The walk up to the villa is steep and it was so hot while we were there, but that makes the dip in the pool all the more enjoyable to cool down.
Bex and Guy have a fantastic set up here, they have clearly worked really hard to get to this stage and they deserve every success... they are still working hard! Any request is dealt with within 10 minutes. I also need to mention Franzi, who provides as good a service and Bex and Guy. You can text any of them at any point and they respond within seconds. The best service we've ever had anywhere in the world! We are just trying to work out when we can go back!
Thanks again to all The Place team, especially Guy, Bex and Franzi.

Room Tip: Villa 5 is incredible (the highest one) if you don't mind a few extra steps! Stay as long as pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We loved our entire trip to Thailand, starting with Chiang Mai, then to Koh Samui and ending with the Place.

We saved Koh Tao for the end of our trip, thinking it would be our more relaxed, stay in the hotel room part of the trip. Although we spent plenty of time exploring Koh Tao, it was very tough to leave our villa at the Place.

The villa, including the porch and pool was incredibly private. They give you menu's to three restaurants that provide delivery options free of charge. It was tough to beat a bottle of wine from the mini bar, food delivered right to the villa and a million dollar view.

I would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a private, relaxing and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Place was fantastic. My wife and I only stayed two days but we wish we would have spent more time in Koh Tao. The hotel is just outside the town making for a short walk to any number of restaurants, shops and bars. The location is up on a hill but you feel like you're in the jungle canopy and you get a great view of the water and sunsets from your own personal pool on your deck. The assistance from the port to our room was first class and seamless. Everyone was so friendly and helpful that I wouldn't change anything from our trip, except staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just got back from a fantastic six nights at the Place. I have to admit we had high expectations due to reading the fantastic reviews and we were in no way disappointed. The service by the team was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and everything you can think of and more has been thought of to make the stay thoroughly enjoyable and hard to leave!

The view from the Place is unbelievable, the pictures just don't do it justice. The location is just far enough away from the crowds yet close enough to stroll to the beach and the village.
The quality of the accommodation itself is absolutely superb and we have been missing the unique bathroom ever since. I am sure we will return to Koh Tao one day and when we do this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I began our honeymoon in Thailand with a five-night stay at The Place, and it couldn't have been a more perfect start!

Franzi and Mr Bear, the cheery taxi driver, met us at the pier with cold water and whisked us off to villa 1. It was gorgeous, totally private and the team (Guy, Bex and Franzi) really has thought of everything.

From the welcome hamper full of goodies (eggs, bread, pasta, noodles, tuna, jams etc) and drinking water tap to the gorgeous pebbled shower and dark wood running throughout the open plan villa. There's a pillow menu on the big, comfy bed that has a view directly out over the hill; a chaise lounge; bean bags; sun loungers; and a fab and well-priced mini bar in the kitchen!

The phone was very handy to get in touch with Franzi, Guy, Bex and Mr Bear - as well as local restaurants. And it was nice to get the odd text from Franzi asking how we were and if we needed anything :)

Also, the private infinity pool was incredible - it looks directly over the hills and is a great place to take a dip, watch the sun set and sunbathe. You can clean it yourself with a flick of a switch, or, if and when you want housekeeping, they will also do it for you :)

There's a computer in the bedroom and a flat screen TV with hundreds of new and classic movies, tv shows etc - we managed to catch up on Breaking Bad when the monsoons hit some evenings!

The information Franzi gave us was invaluable. One was a book about Koh Tao, which included handy maps, and the other a folder packed full of details about Thai culture, home delivery menus and excursions and experiences they could arrange for you.

We did want to have Ed the chef come to cook for us, but unfortunately he wasn't in town (but we went for a delicious dinner at his restaurant Barracuda!), and also wanted to hire the glass bottomed boat but the water was too choppy, which was a shame.

But Franzi gave us some snorkels one day and Mr Bear took us to Aow Leuk, which was a beautiful place to snorkel with lots of tropical fish and a great beach bar.

Sairee beach is definitely within walking distance - there and back if you can handle the hill on the way back up! Took us about 15 minutes to walk there - maybe 20 back if it's hot. But otherwise Mr Bear can take you for 200BHT or a little more in the evening. Also, if you do want to go out at night, Mr Bear can arrange for one of his 'brother' taxi drivers to take you as he clocks off around 8pm.

The Place and Koh Tao really were the highlight of our honeymoon! So much so, we decided to extend our stay on Koh Tao for another few days but stayed in the south of the island. Would have stayed at The Place for longer if we could - they're almost fully booked until March 2014 I think!

Big thanks to the whole team for giving us a perfect honeymoon in paradise - hopefully see you again next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just returned from the most wonderful and unforgettable 4 night stay at The Place... Koh Tao is by far the most amazing island and The Place is just the most perfect and luxurious hidden sanctuary to enjoy your time there.

From the moment we arrived, until we sadly had to leave, everything was truly perfect! Bex, Guy and Franzi have thought of absolutely everything to make your stay as relaxing, luxurious and enjoyable as possible. On top of the beautiful villas themselves, it's the small touches that make The Place truly special.

We absolutely loved it!!

Matt & Laura

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing