We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at “The Place” for our honeymoon last week and we can not thank them enough for the most wonderful, relaxing, hospitable and beautiful stay. We were greeted at the dock by the lovely Franzi and from that moment we felt welcomed and knew the stay would be a good one. Along with Guy and Bex, Franzi was an amazing host throughout our stay and made us feel like we were part of "The Place" family. The whole team go out of their way to make sure the stay is everything you could hope for.

The accommodation itself literally took our breath away and THE VIEW!!! We spent many afternoons lazying in the pool just watching the outlook and enjoying the sunset (which sets directly over the ocean in the direct view line of the villas). We also had private massages on the balcony of our villa all organised through Franzi, it was so nice to have our own mini spa at our own villa.

If you are at all concerned about it not being near the ocean then please do not consider this an issue. Not only is it a very easy walking distance from the villas to the main town, there is also a taxi service that they recommend who is kind of on call for you. As we like to walk we didn’t use this service (showing how close it is to town/the beach) but at least if you wanted it, it was easily accessible. Also, it is by being away from the beach that you get the view! In addition, they have menus of restaurants that will deliver to your villa door, hundreds of movies you can watch and with your own pool you do not even have to leave.

So, if you want the perfect holiday with wonderful hosts, beautiful rooms and a spectacular view then I would look no further and book your holiday at “The Place” now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlinandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
777
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I recently stayed at The Place for 11 nights with my partner and we had a fantastic time. We stayed in Villa 1 which was great. Franzi is absolutely fantastic and Bex and Guy equally as helpful! Franzi organised our many activities (yoga, trapeze, cookery, private dining, diving, and multiple massages) for us as well as taxis and transfers through Mr Bear. Everything we did via The Place was of the same standard they are. Could not recommend them more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights here recently and wished we'd booked for longer. We stayed in Villa 1, which has a fantastic view from the rear balcony out to sea. We had our own private decking area and a private infinity pool, which was bliss.

The resort is run brilliantly by Bex, Guy and Franzi. Bex and Franzi met us off the ferry along with their taxi driver "Mr Bear". They took us up to the villa and showed us round. The facilities are first class throughout - you get a well-stocked fridge, your own PC, optional Nespresso machine and an entertainment system with the biggest choice of films/programmes stored on it I have ever seen.

You also get your own mobile phone with the numbers of anyone you might need programmed in to it (Mr Bear for a taxi ride for example). The resort doesn't offer any food as it's self-catering, but we did get breakfast delivered to us one morning by a local restaurant which Bex recommended (very cheap).

In the evenings we walked down to Sairee Beach (10 minute walk) where there are loads of bars/restaurants etc - great for a night out.

All in all we would absolutely go back to The Place. The villas are stunning and the service is brilliant. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Place is truly amazing, it felt like a home away from home and a perfect holiday escape at the same time! Everything was perfect from the moment Guy and Bex picked us up at the pier to the moment Bex and Franzi saw us off at the pier upon our departure. The Place sits up a steep hill which was fine for us as we don't mind a bit of exercise and they also kindly suggested a place to rent a motorbike which we did and it worked out great. We got a huge, warm welcome from all the staff upon arriving which put a smile on our faces - we knew we had chosen 'the right place' for our holiday getaway! When we walked up to the villa we saw a placard with our names 'Shannon and Oliver' on it which was really lovely. Everything was perfect, the balcony with the infinity pool is a lovely treat, especially at sunset. Inside the villa everything was perfect for us, they have thought of everything from a little first aid kit, mobile phone, torch, bug spray, snorkels and masks, umbrellas, everything!! Bex and Franzi were extremely helpful with suggestions of places to eat as we wanted to try lots of different restaurants and it was also nice that there was a menu for a local restaurant that does delivery as we could not be asked to get out of bed and do anything on New Years Day so that was nice and convenient!! Bex even took us to the pier to help us get scuba masks as we got really into scuba diving whilst we were there thanks to their recommendation to a fantastic dive company called Roctopus which really made our holiday amazing. The bathroom in our villa (#3) was immense, it was huge and it felt like you were outdoors which was really refreshing and something special. The bed is huge and super comfy so we got a good nights sleep every night. The nice thing is that they leave you to relax in peace but they are all there if you need anything at all. We don't like having housekeeping every day and that sort of thing and they were happy to just do it upon request for us which was great. Honestly I could go on and on about how wonderful it is but you will have to experience it for yourself to truly understand. Thank you all for making our holiday so special and wonderful, we could not have asked for anything more!! Lots of love, Shannon & Olly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Amazing place - location, views, decor, people.

It is the best place to stay on Koh Tao by far - I would recommend everyone to go here.

I do hope I will be able to get out here this year to stay as its a little slice of paradise. You cant help but relax, unwind and have a blissful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Place for 8 nights on our honeymoon, and had an amazing time. The villa was beautiful and the view breathtaking. Guy, Bex and Franzi were lovely and made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We highly recommend that you stay at The Place, you will not be disappointed! J & M

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had the priviledge of spending 9 days @ The Place in December, 2013. Having spent a month or so in Hong Kong and Thailand before coming to Ko Tao we chose this resort to end our vacation, based on its # 1 ranking among all resorts in Ko Tao.
What we were looking for...
1. Beautiful accomodation w/ private pool, if possible
2. Modern amenities
3. Privacy
4. Unobstructed views of the Gulf of Thailand
5. Support should we require it

Thanks to the entire family @ the Place...Franzi, Bex and Guy and their incredible complement of warm, friendly and supportive team members, we had the time of our lives ! We decided to relax one night after a full day of boating and snorkelling. Picture this...1 push of the pre programmed cell phone provided to us to order pizza, watched an old James Bond movie (from literally hundreds of available options) & shared a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from our fridge that had been stocked for just such an occasion. How perfect ! Franzi, Bex and Guy...you all worked very hard to ensure that every moment of our 9 day stay with you would be exactly as we wanted it to be...and for that we are forever grateful. We only hope that we have the opportunity to see you all again in the not too distant future.

The Bordens

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing