We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed 12 nights at The Place Sairee Hills during January 2014. From the time we arrived at Mae Haad Pier where we were greeted by Guy, Bex Franzi and Mr Bear, we had the most amazing holiday. The villas are beautiful and have everything you need. We loved everything about the villa with its infinity pool and the stunning view. The services provided by The Place were outstanding, they arranged everything for us - speedboat trip around the island with Goodtime adventures, massages at our villa by wonderful masseuses of Spa Aurori, special 40th birthday meal at The Viewpoint, tickets for Muay Thai boxing and snorkelling equipment which is a must do on the beautiful island of Koh Tao with its stunning beaches and crystal clear water. We would like to say a huge thank you to Guy, Bex and all the staff for making our stay a wonderful experience and an extra special message of thanks for Franzi as she is an absolute angel. We would really love to come back one day and highly recommend to anyone visiting Koh Tao.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Place for 6 nights on our honeymoon in Jan/Feb 2014 and it was every bit amazing as everyone says. The staff were fantastic. Always helpful. Going the extra mile. The villas are set up with everything you could possibly need. Its a decent hike up a hill but that didn't bother us. The view from the villas was worth it. My only tiny criticism is that I found the villas at times a bit dark and could have done with stronger lighting but that is nit picking - it was a superb stay. Take note that breakfast isn't included.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Squoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Never before have we left holiday accommodation and debated leaving a thank you card for the owners, but such was experience during our stay at The Place! We were there for a week over Christmas at the start of 3-weeks of travel in the region and The Place was an absolutely perfect way to start our break.

Bex, Guy, Franzi and the rest of the team did an amazing job of making us feel welcome throughout and nothing was too much effort, no request was greeted with anything other than a smile and a solution. The Christmas cake and mulled wine on Christmas Eve was a lovely added touch too!

The villas were wonderfully designed (bathrooms were beautiful) and extremely comfortable, to the extent that we were very happy to spend a few days lounging by the pool and relaxing in the villa itself. The welcome basket and the pre-loaded mobile phone make it easy to settle in and do as little or as much as you’d like. We would highly recommend the in room spa service as well.

The elevated villas are peaceful and private with wonderful views -- Sitting with our feet in the infinity pool, drinking a beer, watching the sun go down, listening to the sounds of nature was just….perfect!

We would have no hesitation recommending The Place to anyone who was going to Koh Tao and we would definitely stay there again! Outstanding!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccraJa_mes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

No, not the words of the local masseuse, but Guy when he picked up our bag at the Mae Haad dock. And it's that easy! Just put yourself into the welcoming hands of Guy, Bex, Franzi and The Places' team and you'll have an awesome time.

There is nothing that is too much for the team; they will provide advice as to what the best beach is for the weather conditions, where to eat, things to do, Mr Bear's taxi services and anything else you can think of.

So, if you're looking for somewhere that will restore your inner balance, then this is the place. You cannot do anything but chill and relax and the only issues that will trouble your mind are how to spend your time; in your villa soaking up the view or the beach or an activity or where to eat that evening.

A huge thank you to Guy, Bex and Franzi. It did feel like we were welcomed back as old friends. This is truly a wonderful place and we are trying to work out how we can return again!

Room Tip: Villas 1 and 5 are on the extreme ends of the property and are the most secluded. That said, all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLLushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Where do I even start?? Right, it all began when I decided to book at The Place for 7 nights for my wife and I's honeymoon after reading all the 5* reviews.
There was a hiccup straight away (on my part) and I needed one nights refund because I wasn't able to make it due to plane and boat timings. Straight away I emailed Guy, explained the situation and he refunded me instantly. No hassle at all. Any question I had he answered it within a few hours.
So we arrive in Koh Tao after an unpleasant boat ride (due to bad weather) and at the Pier we were delighted to be greeted by Guy, Bex, Mr Bear and two cold bottles of water they had brought us. As we arrived to the villa they had the entire staff ready and waiting to greet us which was a lovely touch. As we walked up the stairs and arrived at our villa they had placed a wooden plaque with our names on and wedding cans! It was really sweet and an intricate touch.

The villa is breathtaking. We stayed at no4. You have your own infinity swimming pool, private decking area and fantastic views of the beach & sunset. And that's just outside! Inside the villa, Guy really has thought of everything. You have an entire digital library of hundreds of films, tv shows etc. You also have a desktop computer in the corner of the room. You have a lovely big sofa to relax on if your king size bed fails to please you (which I doubt). They also give you a mobile phone with all pre-programmed numbers to help you with anything!! Then the kitchen is perfect for everything you need for your stay if you want to cook or just have a casual breakfast. Might I add that they give you a welcome hamper with plenty of lovely treats! Then, when I thought it couldn't get any better I saw a nespresso machine! As an avid coffee fan this was a dream for me. The prices are very cheap too. 50 baht per capsule which is around £1 or 400 baht for 9 capsules.
Then you walk into the bathroom and you think you're living a dream. It wow'd us. You just need to see the pictures to understand!
Franzi helped us throughout our whole stay with everything and the whole team arranged anything we needed. We really loved Guy, Bex and Franzi and especially Mr.Bear! We got a taxi with him everyday and it really was worth it as we could never be bothered to walk anywhere.

I've probably missed so many more details but the whole experience was so perfect and we loved every minute of it. We definitely want to visit again! Whatever you do...BOOK NOW and it'll be the best decision of your life! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrinceMel1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our second visit to stay at The Place. We could not believe our luck when Guy told us he had a cancellation over the Chinese New Year holiday. We managed to get four nights this time round (only 2 nights last time round). As soon as we stepped off the boat, in blazing sunshine with a cool breeze blowing and the most amazing riot of colour, Bex, Guy and Mr Bear were there welcoming us like old friends. This time we stayed in Villa 5 (we were in 1 last time round). It sits on the other side of the site, up a few more steps and is very secluded. Our only guest was a beautiful gecko that was helping keep a lid on any mozzies that dare disturb our peace.

With a bit of extra time available to us we ventured to some of the other beaches - following clear instructions from Franzi on what the weather was doing and how best to access them. One day we hired two scooters from Mr Shy who runs a convenience store on the road from The Place to Sairee beach. Franzi explained the process (you need to leave your passport as deposit) so we were comfortable with the transaction. The cost is very cheap but you do have to be very careful not to knock or damage the bikes as they (quite rightly) will charge you for the damage.

Of the beaches we went to the one that can not be missed is Aow Leuk beach. It is not far and can be accessed by taxi or bike (careful because there is a big hill to negotiate). Snorkeling here is like putting your head inside a fish tank. There are hundreds of fish - small, big, pretty, ugly - totally at ease for you to swim amongst them. Also worth a mention is the brilliant little restaurant there. Try the Thai salad. WOW!

The downside of having so much that you can do on the island is that you may not spend so much time enjoying the peace, serenity and views of your villa. Perhaps next time we will take a couple of weeks here.

Guy, Bex! Franzi and the rest of the crea: thank you for providing such an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: I think you can't lose with any of the villas. We tried 1 and 5 and both were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at “The Place” for our honeymoon last week and we can not thank them enough for the most wonderful, relaxing, hospitable and beautiful stay. We were greeted at the dock by the lovely Franzi and from that moment we felt welcomed and knew the stay would be a good one. Along with Guy and Bex, Franzi was an amazing host throughout our stay and made us feel like we were part of "The Place" family. The whole team go out of their way to make sure the stay is everything you could hope for.

The accommodation itself literally took our breath away and THE VIEW!!! We spent many afternoons lazying in the pool just watching the outlook and enjoying the sunset (which sets directly over the ocean in the direct view line of the villas). We also had private massages on the balcony of our villa all organised through Franzi, it was so nice to have our own mini spa at our own villa.

If you are at all concerned about it not being near the ocean then please do not consider this an issue. Not only is it a very easy walking distance from the villas to the main town, there is also a taxi service that they recommend who is kind of on call for you. As we like to walk we didn’t use this service (showing how close it is to town/the beach) but at least if you wanted it, it was easily accessible. Also, it is by being away from the beach that you get the view! In addition, they have menus of restaurants that will deliver to your villa door, hundreds of movies you can watch and with your own pool you do not even have to leave.

So, if you want the perfect holiday with wonderful hosts, beautiful rooms and a spectacular view then I would look no further and book your holiday at “The Place” now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlinandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £147 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing