We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is absolutely THE PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is absolutely THE PLACE”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Up in the mountain the villas are secluded and offer unexpected privacy.

The owners pay lots of attention to detail, i.e. providing a flash light, a complementary mobile phone with Thai SIM card, first aid kit aso. aso. Even if you might encounter little noise due to construction work around they immediately text you apologizing for the "inconvenience".

If you do not require room service no one will disturb you and you can enjoy incredible silence.
The villa provides everything you need to relax and cook whenever and whatever you want. Ice cubes in the frozer are ready to chill your drinks.
By scooter it takes 1 minute to get down to the center and get local and/or international ingredients.
By walk around 10-12 minutes.

Nevertheless: the pool on the terace, just gorgeous!

Our genuine compliments to the owners and your staff: living in Asia for many years we exactly know how hard it is to be successfull here. You made it!

If we have to mention sth. we disliked:

Nespresso capsule machine does not fit at all in an eco-friendly concept.

K&M

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmadz_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
766
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Absolutely amazing, my girlfriend and I stayed there for 6 days over Easter and we had an absolutely wonderful time. Franzi, Guy and Bex are great and will go out of their way to help you any way they can. They give you a mobile phone when you rock up with their numbers and the number of "Mr Bear" their taxi drive and you can message then or call at any time. They will organize anything you want and suggest all the best bits of the island. Want a head chef from one of the restaurants to come and cook for you ? they will organised it. Massage on the deck of your private villa ? when is the best time for you. The personal touch is amazing, pick up from the dock and walked to your villa explaining all you need, the personal messages during the day on your phone seeing how things are going. Everything makes this the best place i have ever stayed.
Stay here, you will no regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

'The Place' is a beautiful boutique resort where you are treated as though you are the only ones there. Franzi, Guy and Bex are lovely and will go out of their way to help you out.

The attention to detail is phenomenal! The villas each have universal sockets throughout with more than you could use. They also have a media box with heaps of movies, a computer, free wifi, a welcome hamper, sound system, a nespresso machine and even a name on your door which you can take home with you!

The villas themselves are beautiful and have been really well thought out. The bathroom is like a greenhouse and has an Eco feel to it. The pool is absolutely divine and is wonderful to come back to at the end of a night!

'The Place' is a bit out of the way but the stunning views more than make up for it! You can walk into the main town but it's quite a steep return, especially in the heat. Fortunately, 'The Place' hooks you up with an affordable and friendly taxi driver and a mobile phone to call Mr Bear from all over the island.

'The Place' is an exceptional place to stay! I would love to go back again! Thank you so much Franzi, Guy and Bex for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samwllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in April 2014 for 4 nights during Thai New Year.

The place is in a magical location in the hills overlooking the town of Sairee. The staff and service is excellent, nothing was too much trouble!

Receiving a phone on arrival helped us greatly. We could easily call "Mr Bear" for a taxi to take us anywhere we wanted, normally though it was just a taxi to take us back to the place after some dinner and drinks!

I highly recommend the place to anyone travelling to Koh Tao!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

First thing first, I am a very experienced traveler and I have never got this level of service anywhere before! We were at Koh Tao and The Place for almost two weeks and the stay was the perfect! It started when we booked the stay and I emailed Guy and Bex regarding my spouse allergy with peanuts. They did everything to make sure she did not had to worry, even wrote cards in Thai and Burmese so we could feel safe when eating out. She has also small feet and we wanted to dive. Bex then emailed photos of different fens with her own foot so we could compare and find the best fens, how great is not that!? And then the welcoming - Bex and Franzi standing at the pier with two great smiles and we felt like friends right there, amazing! The villas are just perfect for a couple, private but still just 10 minutes walk from the beach and even closer when calling Mr Bear (a cab driver that has very good English that we had on speed dial on the mobile provided with the stay). Every morning we had a great SMS with the days' weather and questions if we needed anything. When my spouse had her birthday, the staff came with a cake and sang to her. If we needed whatever, they fixed it every time!!! We will never forget this and when we are back to Koh Tao, we will stay at The Place again. If you want a treat, and you are in Thailand, The Place really IS the place, I kid you not. Better service can't be found and at the same time given in the most friendly style. It was so sad to leave Koh Tao, but with the help from Guy and Bex at the pier helping us with everything, it felt so good to have that memory. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon again. /Johan and Li

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohanH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I spent our first 4 nights of honeymoon here and were thoroughly impressed by the all round effort and attitude that the team have developed.

The team have set out to create a unique blend of 5 star service and complete privacy. And they to do this with a fine balance. Very personal touches are always welcome, particularly in thailand where service is generally very good. The recommendations for local restaurants, activities and general advice were useful and very accurate. Use them as much as you can.

Attention to detail and layout of villa certainly warrant luxury. And if in any doubt, the private pool overlooking the sea help confirm the calibre of this wonderful spot.

Special thanks for Bex and Franzi for making us feel very welcome.

Darren and Eileen Middleton

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in April 2014 and it was amazing. We stayed in villa 2 which had excellent views down the hill to the sea.

The most noticeable thing about The Place is their attention to detail, the villas have been designed to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The staff look after you and help arrange ferry's, transfers and let you know about events happening on the island.

As some of the other reviewers have stated The Place is up a very steep hill, hence why the views are so good but if you are not the walking type this can be avoided by getting a taxi from the aptly named 'Mr Bear'.

If you are looking for a holiday to relax and forget about the daily rat race then this is The Place....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fio171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,232 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing