We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, relaxing experience with an incredible view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Southbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Private, relaxing experience with an incredible view”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'd recommend The Place to anyone visiting Koh Tao. Situated high in the hills, the villas are clean and well-designed with a really cool spa-type feel in the bathrooms. The infinity pool was lovely and was a great way to enhance the experience of relaxing in front of the awesome view of the sea across the treetops.

The welcome hamper was well stocked and there was even a filtered drinking water tap which was really convenient and something we haven't seen at any of the other places we stayed.

The Place have struck a nice balance between giving guests privacy while remaining available on the other end of a mobile phone (provided, which also allows complimentary personal use for local calls) and our hosts Franzie and Ellie were so friendly and could not have been more helpful.

I could go on but you get the picture. Definitely look this place up next time you're on the island and looking for a romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
759
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon and were not disappointed. After a pretty horrendous ferry journey on the Lomprayah catamaran, we were greeted by the lovely Franzi and Bex at the harbour with cold flannels and bottles of water and relieved of all of our bags. We were then transferred to our amazing villa (number 2) where they had made up a sign with our names and 'Just Married' on the door - this just goes to show the extra thought and details that go into the service at The Place and was a really lovely touch. Our villa was stunning - very spacious, large bed, lovely designed bathroom and also a kitchen area. There was also a hamper provided with useful basics such as cereal, bread, butter, milk, pasta etc which was very helpful. We were provided with a mobile phone with all of the team's numbers saved to it and received a text every morning with the weather forecast for the day and checking that everything was okay. The service at The Place is like nothing we've experienced before and yet still manages to maintain the level of privacy you would want on your honeymoon. All of the villas are positioned to allow complete privacy. The best part of the villa for us was the beautiful infinity pool in which we spent most of our days there - the view is stunning and is a great place to watch the sun set in the evenings. We would definitely recommend The Place to anyone looking to say in Koh Tao - we didn't see any other hotel on the island that would even come close and the service provided by Franzi, Bex and the whole team was simply perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Place for our honeymoon for 5 nights. I would describe it as luxury and comfort while being close to nature. Our villa was secluded and peaceful and the view was absolutely breath taking! Franzi and the team were excellent at assuring our stay was as fantastic as it could have been. We strongly recommend The Place to everybody visiting Koa Tao, you will not be disappointed.

Steve & Helen xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June as part of our honeymoon. The villa was lovely and very clean and comfortable. The service was brilliant and every morning we would get a text message from Franzi asking if we needed anything and checking how we were. We loved the outdoor pool with the amazing views and we often jumped in to cool down after the trek back up the hill! The only slight criticism was the aircon in the villa which was not very effective. We left a note about this on our feedback card and the next week we had an email from Franzi to say they agreed and they had already ordered a new machine for the room...brilliant! Hopefully we will return one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at The Place and wish it could have been longer. We are already planning our return trip. We loved everything about this place and I can't help but smile thinking of our villa and that view! The service provided by Ellie and Franzi was just perfect, helpful without being intrusive in any way. The level of privacy here is amazing and perfect for a lazy, romantic holiday. The villas themselves are modern, clean, comfortable and luxurious. Everything you could want or need is provided and there is always the handy mobile if you need anything else bringing up to you.

The location of The Place is also great; just a 10 minute walk from the centre of all the action yet you feel a million miles away when sat looking over your pool. I can't recommend this place highly enough and it truly deserves its number one spot on the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitbat5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and could have stayed more. Lots to do on the island. We rented a scooter ($7 / day) and drove to 2 bays (Ao Leuk and Hin Wong Bay) for snorkeling. We walked from The Place to Mango Bay and snorkeled too. This is a long, steep, hot walk so take lots of water. You could take scooters but might have some trouble with the hills if there are two on the scooter. Also, it would be impossible to find the correct trail to Mango Bay beach unless you know where to look. (FYI: unmarked trailhead is on right side about 100 feet before a large (like 500 gallon size) blue water container about 1/2 mile before the end of the road. If you go to the end of the road then you end up paying a resort to go down their trail to the water with NO BEACH. Great snorkeling though). Also, Mango Bay viewpoint on the local maps does NOT look at Mango Bay, it looks at Sairee Beach. A little deceptive.

So, The Place is as advertised. It is up on the hill and away from town which I liked. They are clean, updated, good sized villas. Highly recommend renting a scooter for runs into town. Its not really that far but 2-4 times a day takes a while. Guy can recommend a close scooter rental place which was really good to work with. Loved the private pool, large bathroom (friendly Gecko included) and selection of movies. Mostly, we just relaxed on the patios and watched the clouds roll in. We also appreciated getting picked up at the dock. We ordered from a local restaurant and had it delivered. Last, we went to the Spa Aurori in town for massages. It was clean and a good experience. Overall a great place to stay. No downside really.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had the most incredible stay at The Place. The team were so helpful and discreet and really respected our privacy. We had everything we needed during our stay, and can't recommend The Place highly enough. The food from the town that was dropped off on our doorstep was delicious and meant we never had to go far! It was absolute luxury and I only wish we were still there! STAY AT THE PLACE! And don't do what we did although it's tempting .. go to the beach more, absolutely stunning at Aow Leuk with baby reef sharks! Get a scooter, get out and about!

Room Tip: We stayed right at the top so we got the best view and weren't overlooked, ask for this on booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing