We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place ........is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Place ........is amazing!”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Wow - we have just spent the 4 most luxurious days at The Place and would reccommend it to anyone! We were made to feel really welcome by Guy and Bex,the owners, and they were so helpful with all our requests.

If you are looking for seclusion and luxury but not total isolation (which usually accompanies it) this is the place to go! The view from the villa is fantastic, as are the sunsets. The pool is gorgeous for cooling off in and staring out over the palms watching the boats ride by in the distance.

The villa itself is perfect, it is essentially thai style with all the modern design and comforts you expect from a boutique villa. There is a great open plan layout, with comfy loung area and a fab kitchen. The bed is so comfy and huge, looking straight out to the terrace and your private pool and then out to sea. This must be the best view from a bed ever! I loved the bathroom, it was like being in a spa!

The owners have really thought of everything you could possibly need within the villa, and everything you could possibly want such as food delivered to your door and massages on the terrace.

Sairee is only 10 mins walk down if you feel like being sociable but we found it very hard to leave!

Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahgould1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
787
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Welcomed in person with a pre-arranged taxi waiting for us, we left the crowds of Koh Tao behind us and quickly arrived at the idyllic setting of The Place. Wow! What a view! What a setting! Stunning villa! This is definitely the most luxurious place we have ever stayed, and we couldn't have been more comfortable and relaxed during our stay.

The villa set-up is top notch: awesome huge bed looking directly out at the view which is framed by the trees; really clean and modern finish; great entertainment system - loads of movies and music; perfect outside space w pool and v comfy loungers; lovely bathroom.

Guy and Bex were available during the stay when we needed them (loved the personal mobile on arrival btw) for resto/massage info etc., but left us to ourselves otherwise which is exactly what we wanted: peace and quiet with the best view we found in Koh Tao. We loved the rainforest coming alive after dark and felt a bit like we were sitting on the deck of a luxury boutique treehouse.

Thanks very much guys. We'd recommend The Place to anyone (already have...). and we'll def be back again soon. Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgregory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We received a great big friendly welcome from Guy one of the owners who met us off the ferry and escorted us with 'Bear' our cab driver up to The Place which is a 10 in stroll uphill from the beach.

We were in Villa 1 which had the most beautiful view over thousands of palm trees overlooking the ocean with some glorious sunsets. The deck area is gorgeous and we spent all of our time out there relaxing and dipping into the amazing plunge pool or relaxing on the loungers enjoying the quietness and view.

The rest of the villa is beautifully done. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the kitchen practical and there was a hamper there on arrival for us along with a stocked mini bar at reasonable prices. The bathroom was great, with double sinks and big white fluffy robes for the guests. There was also an entertainment system filled with music and so many movies and current tv shows you wouldnt know where to start, the internet was also quick and really reliable.

We ordered some of the 'Diversions' offered including dinner from 'Barracuda' restaurant being delivered to us on Christmas day despite them being fully booked out. It was amazing food. We also booked a Reiki sessions with Steph and massages with Liuw on the deck at sunset. Both girls were both brilliant therapists and really friendly.

Guy and Bex were brilliant hosts and provided a mobile for our convenience to contact them should we need anything. The service was brilliant and we can't recommend it highly enough. We'll definately go back there in the future.

Franki and Mike Evans
Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankiandMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The Short Version

The Place simply exceeded even our best expectations. Guy and Bex have put a lot of energy into making the villas perfect. Our villa was stunning, brand new, perfectly designed, spacious, intimate and romantic with breathtaking views over the island.

Guy and Bex who run The Place are awesome. They are friendly English locals who can help you with anything you need during your stay from advice on where to go and what to do, to arranging massages, yoga, tai chi …. Or whatever.

We would totally recommend The Place to anybody who wants to experience 5 star romantic relaxing seclusion and incredible service.

The Long Version

First Contact : The Place website caught our attention, but it was when we made contact with the owners Guy and Bex that we decided to stay at The Place.

Communication with Guy was easy. He was very helpful and answered all our questions and advised us about not only the villas, but also about the island, nightlife, getting to and from the island, activities that were available at The Place and a whole bunch of other stuff.

The Place - The Villa: We could go on for pages and pages talking about how great the Villa was but here are just some of the things we liked.

Attention to detail in the villa was fantastic. From the practical things such as the inclusion of a kitchen, first aid kit, mosquito repellants, filtered water, and universal power outlets that take plugs from any country, to the nice things such as the great welcome hamper, and the welcome pack containing information about the island, taxis, services etc.

Even the lighting has been designed with care to cast a romantic atmosphere over the whole villa.

The villa has a huge TV and media box with hundreds of movies and music to choose from as well as free wireless internet and a mobile phone to use during your stay!

The bathroom is just beautiful and has a secluded garden oasis feeling, while still being inside the privacy of the villa.

The villa is also equipped with all the kitchen essentials we needed to cook our own meals when we chose, which admittedly was only at breakfast. It was so great to be able to wake up and whip up some eggs on toast.

The infinity pool is beautiful and overlooks the trees, beach and ocean of Koh Tao. Just amazing!!!

The all important bed and its surrounds was so comfortable that it was tempting to just stay in it all day long.

The Service: The great service started from the moment we got off the ferry when Guy met us at the dock with a smile, bottles of water, and a taxi.

It was so great to have English locals who could advice us on where to go and what to do, arrange massages, yoga, tai chi, reiki, private chefs, acupuncture or whatever else you might want from providers that they trust and proved to us to be trust worthy also. We tried many of these services and while they were a little bit more pricey than you might find in town, the professionalism and quality was first rate, and the convenience of the providers coming to the villa made the whole experience great value and totally worth a few extra baht.

Guy and Bex are awesome. They were around as much or as little as we wanted them to be, as they said they would be. They really looked after us on New Years Eve and even arranged a really special lantern treat at the end of the night which we loved.

Koh Tao: Koh Tao is a beautiful island. It’s much cleaner than the mainland, is very friendly and has great beaches, bars and restaurants.

If you are going to Thailand then you absolutely should go to Koh Tao

If you are going to Koh Tao then you absolutely should stay at The Place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The Place Villa was perfect for us. My boyfriend and I went to Koh Tao looking for somewhere quiet, beautiful, with a nice pool where we could relax, sunbathe, but be within 5 minutes of the main beach, bars, restaurants etc. The owners were more than helpful, friendly and at our service whenever we needed them. The villa was up in the hills with a gorgeous view of the sea, we got sunshine, relaxed with nobody else around. Having our own privacy was lovely. Added extra's which we were impressed with were english plug sockets, a welcome hamper, a mobile phone given to us by the owners with credit so we could call them at any time should we need anything, unlimited movies/tv shows/comedy etc to watch at our disposal and a directory with a heap of info - really useful as it was my first time in Koh Tao. I can't wait to go back again and enjoy the luxury of the villa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie-Lawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

wow......where to start?
As you arrive to the grounds of "The Place" (just a 2 minute drive from the beautiful Sairee beach) you're greeted by either Guy or Bex the owners ( a young, very cool couple, whom, I understand have been working on perfecting these luxury villas for the last couple of years). A white wash path leads you across a few steps to where we stayed in villa 1, this resort comprises of only 2 exclusive villas. You're first faced with an incredible view onto the west coast of Koh Tao, from a beautiful decking with it's own infinity pool! This really is a boutique villa! In our case Guy then lead us through the bungalow, which is open plan in design, fronted with glass doors that completely open up offering you that incredible view 24/7 from your bed, sofa or breakfast bar. The bungalow has a more than adequate kitchen, a stunning bathroom, which is cleverly designed with a glass roof, to give you the sensation of showering outside. Everything in this bungalow is brand new, and of the highest quality......from the shower to the bedding/towels/dressing gowns to the flatscreen tv (,which boasts a hard drive with hundreds of movies, documentaries and series......I suggest that you check the island out before you settle down with the menu for the tv or you may not see anything of Koh Tao)! The reason I love this place so much is, aside from it's obvious beauty is the attention to detail....I couldn't think of 1 thing that was missing or could have been better, and maybe that's due to the fact that the service is so accomplished and personal. You're greeted with a welcome hamper when you arrive, a bbq is set up ready to go and Guy offers to buy meats or anything you may need, should you choose to have one. There is a file full of information (menus for food delivery, things to do on the island, even basics of the Thai language, and SO much more).
The exciting thing is that the owners seem determined to continue perfecting these Villas and striving to make them better and better, I look forward to visiting The Place again next year, thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessietarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We had 3 wonderful nights here. We were picked up by the owner in the harbor. Welcomed with water and a taxi to the villa. (and a redbull since i was a zombie from the bus and boat trip from Bangkok) Guy and Bex (owners) explained their philosophy and everything. We got a pampering basket since we stayed 3 nights. If we needed anything at all there was a cellphone with speed dials to Guy, Bex, Taxi and more. The villa is located uphill about 10min walk to sairee beach. We only used a taxi once to go back up. It's a doable steep walk for fit people. Else use a taxi or rent a quad or bike. The sunset view is magical.
Futhermore there is a kitchen, a drinkwater tap, your own infinity pool!!, a mediabox with tons of movies and series, a loaded minibar and a tropical shower.
Checking out was just as nice as checking in. Thank you Guy and Bex!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
888 reviews
2.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Place Luxury Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing