We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baan Sawainam makes Koh Tao a family island!”
Review of Baan Sawainam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Sawainam
Ranked #41 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Baan Sawainam makes Koh Tao a family island!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I just asked our 4-year old daughter what she liked best on Koh Tao, she said:
- everything
- that Lulu Belle (the owners' little daughter) lived next door
- diving in the pool

We found Baan Sawainam a super pleasant retreat from Koh Tao's beach scene. It's run by a very nice young New Zealand-German family (and some help obviously!) who know from experience what a traveler needs. It comes with a fully functional kitchen, great space for dining, space for being indoors when it is too hot outside. Everything is very clean and tasteful, and they even take care to re-stock any supplies you use up every day (which even many 5-star places forget to do). You can also cheaply rent scooters from the owners.
Having realized that our two young children love pools more than even the prettiest beaches, the clean pool just outside the veranda is a winner - and to round everything off, in the villa we had a large veranda with privacy to enjoy the warm nights after bedtime.

While Baan Sawainam is not directly at the beach, the quickest way to get there is a 3-minutes walk through the undergrowth - no hurdle at all, a small price to pay for nighttime quiet. Sairee village is also only a 5min foot walk from the villas.

Would recommend it unreservedly to anyone who isn't out to party every night anyways.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaShantySong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sceaux, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a good place to be close to all the action around Sairee beach, and yet far enough to be able to relax and get a good night's sleep (an essential criteria in our books....) The kitchen is handy for making tea/coffee, the room is equipped with fan and aircon,though we didn't need both simultaneously, it's kept nice and clean, and it's decorated tastefully. The owners are just next door and are really helpful and friendly. The pool is just two steps from the veranda doors, and it's easy to get to know the people staying in the other bungalows : the atmosphere is layed-back and friendly. This is a really good choice for all kinds of travellers > couples, families, friends or soloists.

Room Tip: There are just three bungalows around the pool. They're all equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshtoninu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Spacious, clean and tasteful accommodation. A short walk away from the hustle of Sairee Beach, these villas are in a quiet secluded area. The use of the private pool before breakfast or after a hot day is an added advantage. The owners, Jim and Andrea (English & German respectively), are so friendly and helpful with making any travel arrangements or trip bookings, they will even arrange take-aways! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have lived on Koh Tao for a number of years and my parents decided it was time for a visit. They wanted luxury accommodation, in a quiet area, but within easy walking distance from the beach, shops and restaurants. They were extremely happy with my choice! Jim and Andrea, the owners were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The resort was beautiful and immaculate. They particularly enjoyed an early morning swim before breakfast, which you can make yourself with the self-catering facilities or Andrea can order for you. They have already said they would like to stay there again on their next visit! I would like to thank Jim and Andrea for helping to make my parents visit such a good one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily_suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a place! Set back up the hill from the main beach in the area the villa has a pool and nice gardens. It's location is great as it is out of ear shot of the noise o the town but less than a ten min walk, there's even a short cut. There's a shop at the end of the street that sells everything you would need. There's also an Internet place that is half the price of everywhere else in town and the staff are super friendly.
The house we stayed in was fantastic, kitchen, aircon, tv & DVD with loads of DVDs!! Jim and Andrea are lovely and always there to help and greet you with a smile. Their dogs are lovely too and love being given attention!!
If your considering diving the BigBlue dive shop is Ace, great staff and equipment and good food and drinks.
All in all you need look no further than here, you have just found your place to stay :-)
We will definatley be back, soon we hope!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allmightywee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I spent two days at Baan Sawainam; wanting a nice, clean, air-conditioned room that was away from the hustle and bustle, and that was exactly what I was provided with. The villa was lovely, with a large spacious bedroom overlooking the beautiful swimming pool. Both Jim and Andrea had lots of advice on the local restaurants and activities and made my stay very enjoyable. They’re super friendly and ready to help you with anything. Definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke291286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here after my daughter's wedding for 2weeks. It was the perfect place to relax after all the hustle and bustle of the wedding.The little bungalows are lovely and clean and the proprietors Jim and Andrea could not do enough to help us. They know the area well so have lots of good advice and are very willing to order food to be delivered from local reputable restaurants if you don't fancy the short walk to Sairee beach where there is lots to do and a multitude of eating establishments.If diving is what you want that can be arranged for you too at the very reputable Big Blue diving centre.Free transfers to and from the ferry are included.The little pool is lovely to cool off in after a few hours sunbathing on the comfortable sun loungers with towels provided. I would not hesitate to visit here again and recommend Baan Sawainaam to anyone wanting a little luxury, peace and quiet on a lovely island.

Room Tip: There are 2 bungalows suitable for 2 people sharing and 1 larger bungalow which has a kitchen attach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naroua Villas
Naroua Villas
#16 of 140 in Koh Tao
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balcony Villa Koh Tao
Balcony Villa Koh Tao
#50 of 140 in Koh Tao
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Shark Pool Villas
Cape Shark Pool Villas
#22 of 140 in Koh Tao
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 140 in Koh Tao
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sawainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sawainam

Property: Baan Sawainam
Address: Jitsin Valley, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Sawainam 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an intimate holiday home, offering a brand new alternative for discerning holidaymakers seeking unprecedented comfort, charm & hospitality. The idyllic place for families & couples looking to escape the crowds to relax in a tropical paradise with a crystal clear pool. With 1-1 bedroom home, 1-2 bedroom home, & 2 studios Baan Sawainam can accommodate a family of up to 11 people. Each room comes with hot shower, safe, TV, Air con, fridge & tea or coffee making facilities. Kitchen facilities are available in the 1 and 2 bedroom homes. We also provide free taxi pick up & drop off at the main pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Sawainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing