We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly, food ok, bungalo good with balcony and hanok, beach very good with good spot.
Need to ask if you want your room cleaned. Sleep with large towles not blankets. Snorkling was good as I saw a few funny fishes. The negative side was that there was a lot of broken glas/ bottles that i spotted while snorkeling. I did however pick em up from the sea/ sand. So beware about this!
But anyway would stay here again. A beautiful island! Go here before its to late and ends up like Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris76Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

The location of this resort is perfect - 200m from the peer, away from noise and yet so close to sairee and everything else. But what is made out of it is really dissapointing. Although the bungallows look charming from outside, inside they are almost disgusting. We refused two bungallows and took only the third because the toilet seats were gray to brown - something I don't see in public toilets lately. In the third the bathroom + toilet had open ceiling so it was the same space with the rest of your bungallow (and bed), but well... We stayed 4 days there was no cleaning. Bungallows too hot, and the airco is additional ~15euro/day. There was no hot water, when we complained the second day they offered 15% discount... All together - good potential having the location in mind, cheap, but still not worth your days in a place like Ko Tao.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uros Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after leaving the more popular and loud Sairee beach.

The fan bungalow was comfortable and clean, but pretty basic. The room did have a fridge -- rare for the area.

The staff was friendly and the resort does have a restaurant on the beach. There is wifi in the restaurant but not in the rooms.

This was the best deal we could find on the island in short notice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Quaint little bungalows....we went with the more basic one which was adequate for people ok with backpacker style accommodation. Location is great as its walkable, even with luggage, from ferry, and beach is right there with some great snorkelling near rocks. Wifi quick and included. Would however agree with what others have said about value for money/price, as really there are a lot of similar beach bungalows for much smaller costs with equivalent facilities. That being said, they have flush toilets and showers so perhaps on a small island like koh tao you need to pay more for this...
No place to eat here, though restaurants 2 minutes away

Room Tip: Bungalows don't have much sound proofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

we struggled to get accommodation in koh tao over new year but we managed to secure an ocean view deluxe bungalow at this resort at a fairly reasonable price. the accommodation was a great size and had some quirky extras including an outdoor bath (although had seen better days), hammock on the balcony and huge bathroom. down side of our bungalow was it was at the top of a steep hill and was very dark, not much natural light could get in due to shutters on the windows. the resort itself was nice although beach area was not as nice as neighbouring siree beach. i preferred mae haad for restaurants, shops etc. but siree beach has the best nightlife. it is a taxi ride or it is walk-able but not advisable at night as very dark. koh tao is a beautiful island so we were really glad to have got somewhere so nice to stay, such last minute.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali-Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are ok not to bad , we had one of the more basic ones and to be honest we didn't have any complaints apart from the price ! It's simply to much for what you are getting . The staff were friendly enough but the whole place is lacking something, not sure exactly what but there isn't much going on in the evening . We tend to walk into town and find somewhere also to eat. It's very close to the docks and we made the mistake of paying for a taxi to get there but it was dark and first thing in the morning. It really is just a few minutes walk from the boat. Well if you can find somewhere else to stay you probably will get more for your money but it's not a terrible place if that's all there is.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Such good memories at the Royal resort !!

The place is really cheap, we arrived in koh tao with our bags and had to find a hotel. we saw many of them but this one was the best.
good value for the price, the rooms have a nice balcony, it is clean, and the girl at the reception was really friendly.
The resort is on the beach, and not far from sairee but far enough to be quiet.
We loved it.

Anne

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sovaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.8 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 50 in Koh Tao
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 50 in Koh Tao
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#26 of 50 in Koh Tao
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Royal Resort

Address: 24/3 Moo 2, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £21 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Royal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as our guest , Leave as our friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing