We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STINKY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #104 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“STINKY”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel smelt so bad, especially the toilets which made me gag every time I went into them, I don't think this is the hostels fault as this was quite common around koh Tao but it was incredibly unpleasant. Aside from that the staff were really lovely the guy at the front desk couldn't have done more to help, it's quite over priced for what you get but koh tao is quite expensive. It's comfortable enough for budget back packers. There is no common area to hang out with friends though.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TAMARA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
To be fair we are affiliated with Davy Jones Locker Diving and so all hostel customers are welcome to us the Swimming Pool and Restaurant/Bar area which has music and TV just 10 meters from the hostel entrance as we use this as a common area as we thought that building additional facilities was very wasteful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    38
    29
    20
    20
See reviews for
1
10
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing special at all. Bathroom and showers were adequate.
Sinks were a bit gross, one had been pulled off the wall and was at an angle so water didn't drain away it was full of brown water.

Beds were comfortable and lockers and air con were good. No shoes policy which I liked. Decent location. My friend got diarrhoea and vomiting after leaving but she was washing her mouth out with the tap water loads when brushing her teeth so don't do that

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've stayed at KTB for a few nights each time I've been to Koh Tao. It's an average hostel, with very basic dorms (however they are both air conditioned and fanned), creaky bunk beds and not much space to store luggage. The showers lack pressure, sometimes don't work and the toilets are ok, toilet paper provided yipee. Cleanliness could be improved but it's not the worst I've seen in Asia.
The reason I keep coming back is it's a great hostel for solo travelers and the location is fantastic for beach lovers. It's also very close to all the action as it is located on a small soi off the main strip, with Fish Bowl bar just a few minutes walk away and many cafes and restaurants around. The people working at reception are pretty friendly and helpful, they will store your luggage and allow you to use the showers after you check out if you are waiting for an evening ferry.
I agree with other reviewers who've said 350B is too much for what you get but Koh Tao is expensive so it is what it is.

Room Tip: The dorms at the end of the hall have the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The dorms were crammed with too many beds so there was very little space for bags and if people were standing you couldn't get around at all. Also the beds were pretty uncomfortable and really noisy whenever someone was getting in or out of bed they rattled horribly. Also the place could have been a lot cleaner.

It was a cheap option but not as cheap as it should have been. I was paying a flat rate of 350 thb which is around £7 which is extortionate considering how basic the place was.
The showers were appalling with little to no pressure and the water smelt bad. I know that the island was having water problems due to lack of rainfall but it was still pretty gross.

I'm pretty sure the man on reception short changed me the first week I was there and he tried to in the second visit but I managed to argue that one before I handed him any money.
Electricity was in and out all day which meant sometimes there was no air con...which made for a very uncomfortable room as it was 35 degrees Celsius outside.

Like I said I won't be staying there again unless I'm desperate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The owner is a really nice guy, goes out of his way to help get you settled. Air con was a treat, quite basic facilities but the showers could do with a bit of work.
Awesome toilets though, I got overly excited to see they had western style toilets with toilet paper
Recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazyman4hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Omg, worst hostel ever! The smell on the dorm is so bad, the beds are awful and grose and the worst thing after spending a day at the beach is that the showers don't work. It's unbelievable they ask 350 baht for a dorm room, but the only reason for that is that Ko Tao is expensive so there's nothing really cheaper than that. I would never ever stay here again. Grose!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marly_vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
When you say the beds are grose (I think you mean gross, but whatever) is that because you don't like the hygienic mattress protectors that we use that ensure that you aren't sleeping on a sweat infused mattress as in most places in Asia? They also protect against dust mites and of course every backpackers enemy bed bugs which we're happy to note we have never had an issue with in all the years we have been open. The bedding you were given upon arrival freshly laundered and which you can change at the reception at any time so really what are you referring to did you wet the bed or something? (fortunately the mattress protectors protect the mattresses from that too ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I've been travelling for 4 months but this was the worst hostel i've ever stayed in for this price. The toilets smell so bad all the time, same for the showers and there's almost no water. If you shower with too much water by using the tap below a guy from the reception will knock on your door saying you're using too much water! The beds are horrible, really sqeaky and you have to make you're own bed. Staff is not nice at all and they cann't book any tours. Wifi is really bad, only good thing its close to the beach. Don't stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Yes sorry we do get people to make their own beds (common practice in hostels as it makes it much easier to work out who is staying in which beds and ensures that the bedding is clean when you check in), this consists of putting a fitted sheet on the mattress and a pillow case on the pillow...

Thankfully it has now rained a few times this year now, however when this customer stayed it hadn't rained for over 6 months and so there was a severe water shortage on the island, now there is water however the price of water is still very high at around 20 times the price of what it is on the mainland. (hence the price of accommodation here on the island is higher than you would get similar accommodation for on the mainland, electricity is also more expensive with a private company supplying it at a rate ten times that of the government electricity)

It seems odd that the staff couldn't book any tours for you whilst you were here as we do book in tours for people and so I am wondering if you were speaking to the reception staff or the non English speaking Burmese cleaner?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#28 of 139 in Koh Tao
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
1.4 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#41 of 139 in Koh Tao
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#21 of 139 in Koh Tao
67 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Koh Tao Central Hostel
#6 of 139 in Koh Tao
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#25 of 139 in Koh Tao
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Property: Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
Address: Moo 2 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Backpackers is in central Sairee, Koh Tao. Koh Tao Backpackers offers cheap hostel style accommodation for both divers and non divers. Located in Sairee at the Silver Sands Resort, behind Davy Jones Locker Diving who's restaurant/bar and swimming pool we use as our common areas, Koh Tao Backpackers is close to everything you'll need whilst here on Koh Tao. We also have full access to the Dive resort's swimming pool and bar restaurant. We have AC in all the dormitories, hot water showers, lockers in the dormitories and 24 hour reception with CCTV cameras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing