We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great island beach”
Review of Ao Tanot Bay

Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
567 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Another great island beach”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

To go to Tanote Bay, unless you rent a motorbike (a bit risky), you must take a taxi from Mae Haad Village. They won't go for less than 400B one way. So if you're several people, it's still ok. Our taxi-driver agreed to pick us up after.
It takes about 20 minutes to get to Tanote Bay via a spectacular road, which is not paved all the way to Tanote. Once you are there, it looks absolutely gorgeous: the view, the sea, the nice sandy beach. There are a few resorts and some cafés & restaurants. So, you can enjoy your time while there. Once again, the water is crystal-clear and as soon as you get inside, you are surrounded by a host of lovely tropical fishes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    140
    23
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great snorkling”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Awesome snorkelling, some amazing reef fish and ace coral. Definitely worth a visit. Just wish the locals and tourists would spend more time picking up the litter!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickWolves1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake of Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Snorkeling and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The snorkeling here is among the best with Mango Bay. We made a day boat trip around the island. Sure we come back again. The fishes are litterally bumping into you. If you are looking for a quite place it's definitely a small paradise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Otto_Hettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

One of my favourite beaches on Koh Tao. Really beautiful and loads of space. Nice restaurant for lunch on the far left as you face the sea. Make sure you visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ras78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Snorkeling is so good there is no need to go diving!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Koh Tao is world renowned for its diving however the quality of the snorkeling on this beautiful beach on the backside of the island is so good you dont need to spend the money on a dive trip. Swim through shoals of fish in amazing variety in crystal clear water with gorgeous coral that is still alive and thriving.

This is my favourite beach on my favourite island in Thailand. (Although my favourite in all of Thailand is a mainland beach see my other reviews).

The beach is accessed by a very rough, hilly road. The best way to access it is to rent a 4 wheeler which will set you back about double what a scooter would but I have actually rescued fellow travellers on this road who attempted in on scooter so beware it is a tough go. The other way to access it is by boat, so water taxi which is quite pricey in comparison to the 4x4 and doesnt leave you with the luxury of going somewhere else whenever you like.

It remains an unspoiled beach mainly due to its inaccessibility, actually most of my favourite spots on Koh Tao are on the tough to get to backside and the reason I like 'em is their pristine and uncrowded condition. The rough go is totally worth the effort to check out the wonders of the backside of the island.

The resorts on Ao Tanote are mostly family run and a little rougher around the edges then most travellers would enjoy and there really isnt much there in the way of entertainment except, of course, beautiful lazy beach days. I actually usually stay in nicer digs and travel to this beach for the day. Not a lot of food choices either but its genuine Thai and always cold beer and other drinks. There a couple places that rent snorkels and fins so you dont have to bring your own.

Absolutely worth the adventure to get to. I love this beach.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NathanWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ao Tanot Bay also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ao Tanot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing