We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon retreat on Beautiful Ko Tao”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Woodlawn Villas Jan 2012 as part of a month long honeymoon travelling the length of Thailand.
We booked last minute and have to admit were impressed by the images and reviews on this site - we were not let down!
Luke and Michelle were helpful and friendly from start to end, they even went to an extra effort to help us find accommodation in our next destination, they arranged a cab to pick us up from our previous hotel and drop us when we left. Both of them had a wealth of information regarding the island and no question went unanswered no matter how small.
The accommodation itself is set in a beautiful surrounding, it is a little of the beaten track but if you are looking for somewhere to keep your distance from the quads and mopeds but still a few mins walk from all amenities this is heaven.
The villas are far enough apart to feel private but not so far that you feel cut off from any kind of support should you need it. Decor was neutral and comfortable with a good dose of Thai influence, air-con was and is always a god send in such humid surroundings and waking up every morning to look out over jungle is a truly unforgetable experience.
I would strongly recommend Woodlawn Villas to anyone intending to visit Ko Tao (as i would strongly recommend Ko Tao to anyone visiting Thailand!) If in doubt just drop Luke and Michelle a line and you will quickly see how relaxed, enjoyable and easy they can make your stay at their beautiful Villas.
Thank you both so much for everything and well done on creating such an oasis in paradise,
Jenny and Tom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferLangridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

It was an absolute pleasure to have you as guests at Woodlawn & we are so pleased to hear you found it an enjoyable & relaxing stay.

Congratulations and we wish all the happiness for the future!

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Woodlawn Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Where do we start?! The owners of these lovely villas really made our stay. They haven't missed a thing and are eager to help without being intrusive. with years of experience of the island they were keen to offer advice and knew the best beaches and restaurants around. they provide a mobile phone, dvds, torch, umbrellas, they really have though of everything!! The villas themselves are great,they make a nice change from the hotel/hostel rooms we have been used to. It was nice to have a seperate kitchen/lounge to the bedroom and the opportunity to cook, although we made the most of the villa with the take away menus! Our room was cleaned without fail with bottled water and towels being provided everyday. The location is perfect, just far enough from the main streets to feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, yet close enough to be able to catch a taxi or ride into town. there is a beach, shops and restaurants within walking distance so for us this place really did have it all.

Room Tip: Zanzibar!! Best take away, reasonable price and really fast service.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for the lovely review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We hope you had a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to your return in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a great place in Ko Tao! The owners Luke and Michele know how to take care of their custumers, they are very helpful and friendly.
The villas are very clean, the service is very good. The villas are surrounded with green and offer you comfort and peace! We recommend it.
P.S. If you seek peace avoid the last days of december as a goa festival takes place in Ko Tao. On the top of the hill there's electronic music all day long and you can hear it from the villas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas over the New Year.

We hope you had a fantastic time for the rest of your travels and we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Perfect. Enjoyed every minute there! Beautiful villas. Great gardens. Nice location. Friendly hosts. Have and will recommend to friends. Extended our stay as we loved it so much.

Here's why: We stayed at Woodlawn for 10 days in January this year (and would have stayed even longer if we could have).

From the first emails we exchanged to our welcoming arrival right to the end of our stay, Luke and Michelle (the owners) were nothing but friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Plus having lived on the island for so long, they've got a wealth of local knowledge. We could contact them with the mobile we got for any questions and they always had a smile, some good advice and a friendly word for all of the guests.

The villa we stayed in was impeccable- beautifully designed, clean and modern. Needless yo say we enjoyed all the amenities, and especially loved the small details: umbrellas, torchlights for the dark roads, an extra fan outside and of course the great service from Zor, who came to change sheets, towels and kept the place clean.

The grounds are beautiful- surrounded by palms, birds, squirrels and well set back from the road on a hill so it's very quiet. A big supermarket is just around the corner, as is a laundry service and a lovely market stall with delicious mangos!

The beaches are about 15min walk away- we didn't rent a motorbike, but you'd easily reach the nice beaches (like Freedom beach) in a good 5 mins if you have one.

Chalok is much quieter than Sairee, but we loved it there and there are still a good few restaurants to choose from. If the bars and restaurants call- Sairee is just a 15 min cycle away or can easily be reached by taxi or motorbike.

All in all Woodlawn Villas is a place we'd highly recommend- we for all it's worth are already plotting our return!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeOfKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for such a great review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we very much look forward to your return.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and do keep in touch :-)

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at Woodlawn Villas after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and it was fabulous.
We chose to visit Koh Tao whilst travelling SE Asia for the diving and beaches, and with advice from Luke and Michelle we headed to the best spots and had a wonderful visit - we will be back!
Everything was well thought out - from torches for the unlit roads to menus for places which deliver and a free mobile to use during our stay. So easy! The villa was lovely with a good hot shower and a comfy bed. Very relaxing. Even a kettle and free tea/coffee for your morning brew!
There is a supermarket a couple of minutes walk, bars and restaurants a few miutes further and with a scooter or taxi you can be in any of the beach towns or touristy areas in less than ten minutes.
Only tip to improve - extra AC unit in the living area. There are plenty of fans to keep it cool and the AC in the bedroom was v quiet and v efficient.
Have a fab time (we know you will) and maybe we'll see you there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gav_ellegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

We are so pleased to hear you had such lovely time at Woodlawn Villas.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and hear about your travels from the past year - what a fantastic journey!

It would be lovely to see you out here again and we very much look forward to your return :-)

Take care,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We arrived at Koh Tao desperate for some sunshine after hit and miss weather throughout our long travels and found rain, however after about half an hour of being at Woodlawn Villas the weather didn't matter (and it cleared up after a day anyway). Luke and Michelle run a truly fantastic place, so many thoughtful touches: great recommendations of places to eat, a mobile phone provided with numbers programmed in including theirs should you need any help day or night, water in the fridge, tea and coffee, a well equipped kitchen, spotlessly clean throughout the villa, great aircon in the bedroom which is where you need it, the fan does the job in the living area of the villa. Luke and Michelle really make this place as the service sets it apart from everywhere else, including hotels like The Metropolitan in Bangkok and Raffles in Pnomh Penh. The value at Woodlawn is superb and it really does rate as our favourite experience yet and we will definitely be back and could not recommend this place and the people more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guliver101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you for such a fantastic review and such lovely compliments!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying with us at Woodlawn and look forward to when you return to visit us again :-)

Have a great time in Koh Lanta and hopefully the sun from Koh Tao will follow you there.

Take care & have a lovely time for the rest of your travels.

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Although we only spent a short amount of time in Koh Tao (2 nights), our stay was wonderful. Luke and Michelle were only both too happy to share their knowledge and help out with any questions we had about the island or anything in general. The accommodation was spacious and clean, with a direct link to the surrounding nature. Highly recommended, the only negative... We didn't stay long enough!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MelHunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you for such a great review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas.

We love to share our local knowledge with guests, to enable you to have the best experience of Koh Tao during your stay.

Have a lovely time in Phuket :-)

Take care, we wish you all the best.

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £23 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing