We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hospitality and beautiful villas”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality and beautiful villas”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Woodlawn Villas for 6 days. We had been travelling for 7 weeks around SE Asia and decided to spend our last week in Koh Tao. I found them online and then looked up the reviews on Tripadvisor. They're #1 and understandably so! Our garden suite was absolutely gorgeous, spotlessly clean and fully equipped with kitchen and if you didn't feel like cooking, you can order take out from menus provided with delivery right to your door. Luke & Michelle were very helpful, giving suggestions for dive resorts, beaches etc. The closest beach is 15 min walk away, so it's not on the beach, but it's on a private road so very quiet and close to shops, bars & restaurants which suited us perfectly. Thanks Luke & Michelle, hopefully we'll return in the not too distant future!
Teresa & Bosco.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was a pleasure to have you both as guests and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Woodlawn Villas.

We do hope you return and visit us again in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    72
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
257
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Qc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Although I've left the Island my thoughts are still adrift from my time at Woodlawn Villas on the stunning Island of Koh Tao.
Located on the southern end of the Island, yet in close proximity to everything (especially with a bike), the accommodations at Woodlawn were absolutely ideal for a very comfortable, relaxed getaway. Set along the hillside amongst the towering coconut trees and the serene sounds of nature the bungalows are bright, clean and really spacious with all the necessary comforts and more... a well equipped kitchen should the urge to whip up a tasty thai dish arise; menus at hand of some great local restaurants with free delivery (the pizzas from Portobello rock!) plus they loan you a cell phone with local # which I found to be immensely convenient. It's clear that Luke and Michelle have thought of all the little details which help to ensure you enjoy your stay.
Can't say enough about the hospitality from Luke and Michelle and the rest of the crew at Woodlawn. Always eager to offer up insights about the Island they call home and clearly love and truly attentive to guests needs without being intrusive whatsoever.
I stayed here for 8 nights, then extended for another 2 and had to pull myself away as I already had a flight booked to my next adventure. Was sooo hard to leave but have no doubt I will be back in the not so distant future.
Thanks for an incredible stay Luke and Michelle. See you again soon...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barefoot-seagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review!

It was lovely to meet you and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We look forward to your return and wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Woodlawn Villas is simply a beautiful location and the accommodation is excellent. On top of this,the owners Luke and Michelle really could not be more helpful, with their knowledge of the island, best beaches, restaurants, things to do and so on. They can and do assist guests from start to finish if requested to.
The accommodation is first rate,clean and well looked after, all facilities you might need.Its also
a really thoughtful idea to provide a phone with some local useful numbers listed. I will most certainly stay here on a future trip and can only say a huge 'Thank You' for all help received.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for the great review!

It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We look forward to your return & wish you all the best for the future.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Woodlawn Villas Jan 2012 as part of a month long honeymoon travelling the length of Thailand.
We booked last minute and have to admit were impressed by the images and reviews on this site - we were not let down!
Luke and Michelle were helpful and friendly from start to end, they even went to an extra effort to help us find accommodation in our next destination, they arranged a cab to pick us up from our previous hotel and drop us when we left. Both of them had a wealth of information regarding the island and no question went unanswered no matter how small.
The accommodation itself is set in a beautiful surrounding, it is a little of the beaten track but if you are looking for somewhere to keep your distance from the quads and mopeds but still a few mins walk from all amenities this is heaven.
The villas are far enough apart to feel private but not so far that you feel cut off from any kind of support should you need it. Decor was neutral and comfortable with a good dose of Thai influence, air-con was and is always a god send in such humid surroundings and waking up every morning to look out over jungle is a truly unforgetable experience.
I would strongly recommend Woodlawn Villas to anyone intending to visit Ko Tao (as i would strongly recommend Ko Tao to anyone visiting Thailand!) If in doubt just drop Luke and Michelle a line and you will quickly see how relaxed, enjoyable and easy they can make your stay at their beautiful Villas.
Thank you both so much for everything and well done on creating such an oasis in paradise,
Jenny and Tom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLangridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review!

It was an absolute pleasure to have you as guests at Woodlawn & we are so pleased to hear you found it an enjoyable & relaxing stay.

Congratulations and we wish all the happiness for the future!

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candidasa, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Where do we start?! The owners of these lovely villas really made our stay. They haven't missed a thing and are eager to help without being intrusive. with years of experience of the island they were keen to offer advice and knew the best beaches and restaurants around. they provide a mobile phone, dvds, torch, umbrellas, they really have though of everything!! The villas themselves are great,they make a nice change from the hotel/hostel rooms we have been used to. It was nice to have a seperate kitchen/lounge to the bedroom and the opportunity to cook, although we made the most of the villa with the take away menus! Our room was cleaned without fail with bottled water and towels being provided everyday. The location is perfect, just far enough from the main streets to feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, yet close enough to be able to catch a taxi or ride into town. there is a beach, shops and restaurants within walking distance so for us this place really did have it all.

Room Tip: Zanzibar!! Best take away, reasonable price and really fast service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for the lovely review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We hope you had a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to your return in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a great place in Ko Tao! The owners Luke and Michele know how to take care of their custumers, they are very helpful and friendly.
The villas are very clean, the service is very good. The villas are surrounded with green and offer you comfort and peace! We recommend it.
P.S. If you seek peace avoid the last days of december as a goa festival takes place in Ko Tao. On the top of the hill there's electronic music all day long and you can hear it from the villas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas over the New Year.

We hope you had a fantastic time for the rest of your travels and we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Perfect. Enjoyed every minute there! Beautiful villas. Great gardens. Nice location. Friendly hosts. Have and will recommend to friends. Extended our stay as we loved it so much.

Here's why: We stayed at Woodlawn for 10 days in January this year (and would have stayed even longer if we could have).

From the first emails we exchanged to our welcoming arrival right to the end of our stay, Luke and Michelle (the owners) were nothing but friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Plus having lived on the island for so long, they've got a wealth of local knowledge. We could contact them with the mobile we got for any questions and they always had a smile, some good advice and a friendly word for all of the guests.

The villa we stayed in was impeccable- beautifully designed, clean and modern. Needless yo say we enjoyed all the amenities, and especially loved the small details: umbrellas, torchlights for the dark roads, an extra fan outside and of course the great service from Zor, who came to change sheets, towels and kept the place clean.

The grounds are beautiful- surrounded by palms, birds, squirrels and well set back from the road on a hill so it's very quiet. A big supermarket is just around the corner, as is a laundry service and a lovely market stall with delicious mangos!

The beaches are about 15min walk away- we didn't rent a motorbike, but you'd easily reach the nice beaches (like Freedom beach) in a good 5 mins if you have one.

Chalok is much quieter than Sairee, but we loved it there and there are still a good few restaurants to choose from. If the bars and restaurants call- Sairee is just a 15 min cycle away or can easily be reached by taxi or motorbike.

All in all Woodlawn Villas is a place we'd highly recommend- we for all it's worth are already plotting our return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeOfKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for such a great review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we very much look forward to your return.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and do keep in touch :-)

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing