We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here in march and had a great time. Very nice located (and quiet) up a hill but close to everything. The beach is a 10min walk away, scooter rent 2min away, groceries also 2 min.

We stayed 7 nights at the Twilight Villa, a beautiful house located away from the other rentable homes. Perfect for a family holiday as it has 3 bedrooms with onsuite bathrooms.
You can order fantastic sandwiches and breakfasts from zanzibar which they bring for no extra costs and good prices.

The only small downside of the villa was it has no aircon in the livingroom and it can become very hot. They do have about 5 or 6 fans on the sealing but that couldn't cool us enough. On the other hand you will be out most of the time and the bedrooms do have aircon.

Overall a great place to stay, good service, beautiful island!

Tip : rent a taxiboat and do a trip around the island. Nice beaches : Freedom Beach, Ao Leuk and Rocky Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Woodlawn Villas and the various beaches the island has to offer.

We do hope to see you both here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I had a delightful 4 night stay at Woodlawn Villas in February. It was exactly as described on the website. We were met by Luke who gave us some great info, hints, tips as well as a mobile phone and torches, to use for the extent of our stay, both of which came in extremely handy! Our little home was clean, quiet and although only a short distance from the 'hub' of things, could of been in the middle of a tropical forest.
Overall our stay was bliss and we only moved on because Woodlawn was fully booked out!
We stayed on Koh Tao for a further 10 days and ran into Luke and Michelle a couple of times in 'town' which was lovely. We wish you guys the best of luck for the future and hope we can visit again one day.
Annette & Carlos. Surrey.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for your great review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas, it is a shame we could not accommodate you both for longer.

It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The best thing about Woodlawn villas is that they are exactly as described on their website, in their email communications and by other trip advisor reviews.

Traveling so far away for the first time, I want a place that is exactly what I expected and being able to trade emails back and forth with Luke and Michelle with regards to the details of how we would get there, what we could expect to do while we were there was fantastic. It's the kind of personal touch you don't get when you stay at a resort.

The villas are immaculate, cleaned every day. Our villa had a fridge and kitchenette (I think they all do) which was great for storing snacks and drinks we picked up from the grocery store at the end of the driveway. Also, I highly recommend the fried chicken from the lady at the end of the drive, it's delicious.

While I stayed they were installing new lighting up the driveway, which made a huge difference walking back home at night.

We were giving a cell phone with all the numbers we'd need programmed in, and Luke was always quick to respond to texts. We did order pizza one night from the menus and phone numbers provided and that was great. We also took them up on their recommendation of Tukta for great Thai food. They also provided us with maps and other island guide books. (which we accidentally took and will be mailing back shortly! found it in our luggage when we got home, oops!)

The best recommendation of all was the snorkel guide Roland, who is an experienced fisherman on the island. He took us around the island in a long tail for a whole day, provides snorkel equipment if you do not have your own, is friendly and has loads of information on the island and it's underwater flora and fauna. We paid him a separate time to take us to see the sharks at Shark Bay and that was an experience of a lifetime.

It is a walk to the beach, but the location means you aren't tied to just one beach which is nice for variety. Their taxi will easily take you wherever you want to go. The price, relative to distance is high - however once you realize how treacherous some of the roads are you will be happy to pay for the skill required to navigate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review!

It is always such a pleasure to hear our guests have enjoyed their holiday on Koh Tao and their stay with us.

We will pass on your kind words to Roland, he will be pleased :-)

We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our first trip to Koh Tao and we were unsure where to stay on the Island. After reading the reviews on Trip Adviser we chose Woodlawn Villas, but unfortunately they could only accommodate us for 4 nights.

The accommodation is spotless, well furnished and has many extras such as plasma TV, DVD player etc. The location although only a short stroll from the road was very quiet and the views were fantastic.

Staying in a private villa rather than a resort as a different experience for us on this holiday, but shopping was not a chore as the supermarket is at the bottom of he drive.

At first we got the impression that we were in a remote location, but this certainly wasn't the case. Koh Tao is a very small island and we were able to walk to most places including Freedom Beach, Mae Haad and Sairee. Chalok itself where the villas are located has many good restaurants mainly family run which are excellent value for money.

Luke and Michelle were good hosts - very helpful without being intrusive.

4 days was too short. We were just getting familiar with the island, restaurants and bars as it was time to leave.

Will definitely return.

David and Dan
United Kingdom

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJT710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you for the great review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time on Koh Tao and your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

It is a shame we could not accommodate you both for longer.

It was a pleasure to have you both as guests and we very much look forward to your return in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here with my wife for one night in March 2012, mainly based on the many excellent reviews on tripadvisor.

My initial impression was very good. The transfer from the boat (100 baht per person, payable to the driver) was smooth, and we were welcomed by Luke, who explained everything.

The good:

-very pleasant accommodation
-lots of nice touches (mobile phone to use, delivery menus for local restaurants)
-quiet and peaceful
-spacious and clean

The bad:

-the internet, like at many hotels in Thailand, was bad (only available intermittently and very weak). We mentioned this to Luke and he said it was a temporary problem, although we found cafes and bars seemed to be unaffected
-the room was quite hot at night with windows closed (no insect screens, although Luke did mention the next day that the curtains can be used as screens, which would probably solve the problem)
-water pressure and hot water were both weak
-lots of insects (although both of these last two points are part and parcel of staying on a small island)
-a few steep slopes make the resort very much non-barrier free

Overall:

This would be an excellent place for an extended holiday and would serve as a good base to explore the island on a small motorbike. Some kind of transport is definitely necessary.

This is not a luxury option, but is clean, pleasant, reasonable, and friendly one. As long as the points above are not dealbreakers for you, you should definitely consider Woodlawn Villas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate our guests providing customer feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas.

We appreciate the points you have highlighted.

In regards to the internet as we explained to you during your 1 night stay at our resort we have two internet lines.

We use CAT Telecom as our main internet provider as it is the best option available on the island and TOT as our back up line.

Unfortunately during your 1 night stay, CAT Telecom was undergoing a 2 day maintenance over hall in preparation for installing 3G.

This meant for those 2 days we were running on the TOT line which is not as reliable or fast, however it was the best service we could provide at the time. I'm sure you can appreciate that this scenario is somewhat out of our control.

In regards to the room temperature this can easily be reduced by using the air conditioning or fans provided.

As you mentioned our accommodation was spacious and clean. Please can I state the insects your refer to were around the island not inside our accommodation, so as not to confuse any future guests that may read your review.

We hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday in Samui, it was a pleasure to have you as guests at Woodlawn Villas and we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

When looking for a quiet place to stay, away from the crowds of Sairee Beach but still central enough to reach the beaches, restaurants and shopping areas, this is the place. The best beaches (Freedom beach) to relax and unwind are a 10-15 minutes walk away. Restaurants around the corner. Don't forget to try the fried chicken on the left and the fresh fruit on the right of the road up to the villas... Also, one of the main supermarkets 2 minutes away to get your daily supplies if needed.

The villas are kept perfectly clean and you are away from the main road, waking up with the sound birds and gecko's instead of motorbikes and traffic. The villa has all modern comforts including a mobile phone to use during your stay and delivery menus from the best restaurants on the island. So perfect for a night staying in with your favorite movie and a pizza...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for the lovely review!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Woodlawn Villas.

We hope you return to us again in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We can see why Woodlawn Villas is number 1 on Trip Advisor! We'll always have a special place in our hearts for this place. Luke was super helpful and gave us loads of advice on what to do, where to eat and what to see. The rooms were superb with a kitchen that allowed us to stock up on our favourite goodies from the grocery store down the street.

A big thanks to Luke for telling us about a perfect beach that my boyfriend and I got engaged on! Another thanks for the celebratory bottle of champagne :-)
Maybe see you again on our honeymoon!!!

Sarah and Craig

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahWawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Congratulations on your engagement, such lovely news :-)

We wish you all the happiness and success for the future and it would be great to see you both here again.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £22 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing