We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in koh tao, loved it”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed in woodlawn villas mid april 2012, after my girlfriend booked via trip advisor basically on the back of the previous reviews. and very pleased we did. the villas themselves are set in a lovely piece of ground, very quiet and tranquil at night. inside they are very modern, we had seperate kitchen diner with large dining table, big tv with dvd player and lovely big couch to relax on when it got too hot outside..
luke and Michelle cant do enough to make you feel comfortable even providing a mobile phone for us if we wanted to have breakfast delivered from the many restaurants dotted about the island, which we did every morning.
a 10 min walk from chalok, or even better hire a bike from steve, recommended by luke, and some lovely beaches are only a short ride away.
my girlfriend and i were slightly disappointed at first when we found out it was closer to chalok beach than sairee as this was the beach we were recommended by friends, but couldnt of been happier once we had explored as the quieter better beaches are in the south.
all in all a highly recommended stay and when i go back to koh tao, woodlawn villas is where i'll be staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for the lovely review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas & the island itself.

It was a pleasure to have you both as guests and we look forward to your return :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at Woodlawn Villas for 6 nights in March 2012. I booked after reading the rave reviews here on TripAdvisor and it still managed to exceed my already high expectations. My villa was exactly as advertised, it was a great place to lounge around when it got too hot outside! Although i'd done plenty research on the island before arriving the tips Luke gave me on places to eat at and hang out trumped all my research. The complimentary phone also came in very handy when my own phone went for an unexpected swim! I'll definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for the great review!

We look forward to your return & wish you all the best :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in Koh Tao at the Woodlawn villas at the end of our 5 month se asia trip. We had decided to treat ourselves to a little bit of luxury after the long haul, and Luke and Michelle provided us with just that,

We stayed in the twilight villa and it was superb. A fully functioning kitchen and a dining table and a lounge with comfy sofas. It was exactly what we wanted. As another reviewer put it - like a home away from home (except it was hot and sunny). The villa is surrounded by a garden that allowed us to play badminton, and have drinks on the patio. The staff are all incredibly friendly and have a smile and hello everytime you see them.

The villa is cleaned every day and is spotless.

The garden is well maintained mostly due to the constant care of Luke and the boys.
On arrival we were issued with a mobile phone, pre programmed with take aways and taxi numbers, and a torch for the walk from Chalok.
The nearest beach is a 5 minute stroll away and with the second largest supermarket on the island at the bottom of the drive you never want for food or drink.

Sairee is 5 minutes away by bike or if your feeling energetic you can walk it in about 25. (Take water if you set of after mid-day).

All in all our stay in the villa was a highlight of our trip and I look forward to contacting Luke and Michelle the next time I head back to Koh Tao.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Hindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your fabulous review!

It was an absolute pleasure to have you both as guests at Woodlawn Villas.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed all the Twilight Villa has to offer and made the most of the badminton rackets :-)

We do look forward to your return in the future and we hope you have a great time in Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My partner and I had a bit of a whirlwind trip through Thailand and spent 2 nights at Woodland Villas – we wished we could have stayed longer. The hosts – Luke and Michelle were fantastic – friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Upon check in they showed us all we needed to know about in our garden villa and gave us a mobile phone with all the numbers we may need programmed into it including their numbers, taxi, restaurants, etc – just brilliant.
The room itself was simple and comfortable with air conditioning (thank goodness), it’s not 5 star, but they don’t claim to be, it’s just good accommodation that is close to everything you need and as the island is small, it’s pretty easy to get around.
Luke helped us organise a snorkelling long tail boat tour with a local, Roland (from Bavaria) who was absolutely fantastic! We went to many beautiful beaches and snorkelling spots were we had it all to ourselves – it’s the best way to see the island! We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seratori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time on Koh Tao and at Woodlawn Villas.

We will pass on your comments to Roland he will be pleased :-)

We do hope you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Me, my boyfriend and my friend stayed in the Twilight Villa for 5 days in Febuary and we were instantly impressed as soon as we approached the resort. The villa was well kept, spacious and soon felt like a home from home.
Luke and Michelle were both extremelly friendly and welcoming. Luke was a fountain of knowledge having lived on the island for so long; his recommendations for EVERYTHING were so helpful and always spot on. We were provided with a map that pretty much listed every bar, restaurant, cafe, activity on the island, torches, menus for local restaurants that delivered and a mobile phone. Great little extras that really did help!
The location was perfect; situated near most of the more picturesque beaches, a supermarket and plenty of places to eat and drink. Lots of choices on all accounts but there was still that lovely island feel where the area wasnt too built up. Perfect.
Me and my boyfriend have both said we would absolutley love to go back to Koh Tao, it was our favourite of the islands we visited, and we would definately go back and stay at one of the Woodlawn Villa's. Nothing bad can be said about the villa itself, surrounding area or service we recieved. A must if you're looking to stay in Koh Tao! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas and the island itself.

It was a pleasure to meet you and share our local knowledge with you.

We look forward to your return in the future! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here in march and had a great time. Very nice located (and quiet) up a hill but close to everything. The beach is a 10min walk away, scooter rent 2min away, groceries also 2 min.

We stayed 7 nights at the Twilight Villa, a beautiful house located away from the other rentable homes. Perfect for a family holiday as it has 3 bedrooms with onsuite bathrooms.
You can order fantastic sandwiches and breakfasts from zanzibar which they bring for no extra costs and good prices.

The only small downside of the villa was it has no aircon in the livingroom and it can become very hot. They do have about 5 or 6 fans on the sealing but that couldn't cool us enough. On the other hand you will be out most of the time and the bedrooms do have aircon.

Overall a great place to stay, good service, beautiful island!

Tip : rent a taxiboat and do a trip around the island. Nice beaches : Freedom Beach, Ao Leuk and Rocky Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Woodlawn Villas and the various beaches the island has to offer.

We do hope to see you both here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I had a delightful 4 night stay at Woodlawn Villas in February. It was exactly as described on the website. We were met by Luke who gave us some great info, hints, tips as well as a mobile phone and torches, to use for the extent of our stay, both of which came in extremely handy! Our little home was clean, quiet and although only a short distance from the 'hub' of things, could of been in the middle of a tropical forest.
Overall our stay was bliss and we only moved on because Woodlawn was fully booked out!
We stayed on Koh Tao for a further 10 days and ran into Luke and Michelle a couple of times in 'town' which was lovely. We wish you guys the best of luck for the future and hope we can visit again one day.
Annette & Carlos. Surrey.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for your great review!

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas, it is a shame we could not accommodate you both for longer.

It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

Luke & Michelle

Woodlawn Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £25 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing