We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home feeling.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A home away from home feeling.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at Woodlawn Villas from July 15th to July 29th.

Our villa was the big villa in the garden, and it really felt like a home for us. Separate bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, a big and spacious livingroom/kitchen/dining area, big porch and garden. Absolutely lovely. Fully equipped with kitchen, TV with DVD-player, and aircon in bedrooms.

We slept to the exotic sounds of frogs and gekkos, in comfortable and big beds. We met so many cute dogs and cats, hens and cocks, and we even saw some snakes.

Michelle and Luke are such a friendly, warm couple, and they came running whenever we needed, telling us about beaches, restaurants, spa's and diving. Thank you for tips on Au Leuk beach - heaven on earth! Alvaro Diving - so perfect for us, liking small groups.

Restaurants we loved was Tukta Thai just 7 minutes walk away has incredible cheap and yummy food, and Ying Yang has the best curries. We loved to walk around, and never bothered to rent motor bikes. Great coffee and breakfast on the way to the beach where they sell hammocs (a very small place with just 2 tables outside, and a tattoo shop next door). For special experiences, go to MOOV for tapas, or Whitening for more fancy food. If you like spicy food, remember to ask for extra hot - the thai way is "pet mak mak". :)

If you want a taste of the posher life on Koh Tao, we reccomend a trip to Jamakhiri Resort for spa treatments, lunch and pool enjoyment. Wonderful views, and lovely spa.

We will be back some day, and will try the pool you're building now.

Hugs from Lise, Robert and William.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manilisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was a pleasure to meet you and we are very happy to hear you had such a lovely time in the Twilight Villa during your stay.

It is our pleasure to pass on our local knowledge to ensure guests have the best stay possible and get the most out of the island.

We are thrilled to hear you found our information so useful and enjoyed each of our recommendations.

We would just like to clarify for any future guests that may read this review, the creatures and animals you saw & heard during your holiday were not inside your accommodation but around the island :-)

It would be a pleasure to accommodate you again in the future, especially once the Twilight pool is installed :-)

Take care and we wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    71
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
61
255
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had a great time staying here for two nights on our honeymoon. The hosts Luke and Michelle are extremely helpful and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The villa we stayed in was clean and fully equipped for self catering. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawidkimberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was a pleasure to accommodate you both during your honeymoon and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We do hope you visit us again in the future.

Take care and we wish you all the best!

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a spacious and very comfortable villa that was set in a lovely and very peaceful location. The villa was well equipped, very clean and had the bonus of having a fully functioning kitchen if you wanted to do any of your own cooking. It was also a comfortable walk to two local beaches and two very good restaurants, (which Luke recommended), yet off the main road so was very quiet. Luke and Michelle were also very helpful and everything about Woodlawns Vilas was well organised. It definitely is a great place to stay on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterWanderer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your great review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We do hope you visit us again in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Well, to be honest I don't usually write comments for any blogs or forums even though I use them for further information. So as most of the other people I found Woodlawn villas on tripadvisor and other forums on German websites. As me and my wife were on our honeymoon I was obviously looking for a nice accomodation. There are top nodge accomodations available at Koh Tao but we decided on purpose to stay at Wooslawn as it offers an authentic place with excellent house keeping and terrific support from Luke and Michelle. Both owners are nothing but lovely people who make a big difference to other high class accomodations around the world. So the following bullets show you the big pros and only very very small cons of Woodlawn villas:
Pros:
- Price/Benefit ratio
- clean
- nicely located (next to a super market, laundry, food etc.) and close to the beach.
- quiet and perfect to enjoy some time together (even for families)
- each bungalow is equipped with a kitchen but food delivery is cheap and goood :)
- cute furnitured
- authentic (what you see on pics is what you really get), you also have somehow the impression of being in the jungel even though this isn't the case
- fantastic housekeeping

Cons (well there are no real cons if you really know what you want):
- is located on a hill which makes it so quiet and nice but might be a bit steep for those who don't rent a scooter or don't take a taxi.
- no spa area or anything like that but just keep in mind woodlawn villas isn't a fancy 5 star location but rather an authentic, nice and clean accomodation.

I can definitely recommend this location. The owners are reliable and lovely people. I wouldn't recommend it if this isn't worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your honeymoon.

We do hope to see you both return here again in the future, perhaps for your anniversary :-)

Take care and we wish you all the best!

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was looking for a paradise island among all the Thai islands for a 5 day trip in April-May 2012 - definitely with a good hotel.
And I chose Koh Tao because of Woodlawn Villas. Koh Tao and Woodlawn combined for me into just a terrific holiday!
I found the hotel on tripadvisor, immediately checked the web-site and after reading the introduction page became absolutely sure that this is the best place for me to stay.

What I loved:
- Absolutely friendly owners - Luke and Michelle, who welcomed we with warmth, gave me a brief tour over the island map, were guiding me with my every question and step, giving useful tips and ideas of activities, places to go, eat and buy food . Luke and Michelle managed to create home-like atmosphere: always laughing, nice staff in the hotel, doggies playing in the morning among the palm trees

- Private location in the middle of coconut plantation with jungles sounds in the night, no cars, no crowds of people around

- My spacious Garden Villa with a comfortable bed, aircon and fan for my choice, simply equipped kitchenette with menus of nearby restaurants which offered food delivery – like a room service:)

- Freedom beach which is within 20-30 minutes walking distance from the villas – small, quiet, a bit wild and incredibly beautiful

- John Sumwan viewpoint within 30-40 minutes walking distance: you have to climb up the path around the huge stones through the jungles, but on the top you are awarded with spectacular scenery over the southern part of Koh Tao

- Cheap laundry place, small fruit stores and home restaurants nearby

For those who are planning to spend lots of time in Sairee village, the hotel location may seem a bit distant – better to rent a motorbike as taxi will cost 300 THB one way. But for those who are seeking for a great time in a green welcoming place – this is the best place to stay on Koh Tao!!!
Next time I am planning my trip to Thailand, I will definitely come back to Woodlawn villas...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina_Vasilchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review!

It was lovely to meet you and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas and the island of Koh Tao itself.

We do hope to see you out here again in the future!

Take care,

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I can't praise the amazing help given to us by Luke enough! You can look on Trip Advisor to see all the brilliant comments about the accommodation(all of whch were true) but what really stood out about Woodlawn was the help and kindness showed by Luke and Michelle. We had to change our bookings a number of times due to our son being very ill, but nothing was too much trouble for them. You also get great advice about things to do on Koh Tao from Luke when you arrive. For those travelling to this lovely island who want to have the advantage of feeling isolated and away from the crowds, but at the same time being a few minutes walk away from beaches and other attractions, you must consider Woodlawn. Great value for what you get! Thanks, thanks, thanks Luke and Michelle! We got back safe and sound and Daniel is 100% better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

It was lovely to meet the 3 of you and we had thrilled to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

We really enjoy passing on our local knowledge and like to assist our guests as much as we possibly can.

We are very pleased to hear Daniel is 100% better, what a relief!

We do hope you visit us again in the future!

Take care & we wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Woodlawn Villas. The welcome from Luke was fantastic, and provided lots of useful information and local knowledge to make our stay better. The villa was very spacious and comfortable and every little thing had been thought of, from a well equipped kitchen, to umbrellas and torches. Although not on the beach, it was within walking distance of the best beaches on the south coast, and lots of great places to eat/shops nearby. Any questions or difficulties were dealt with very quickly and efficiently from both Luke and Michelle. Pre visit communication was also excellent.

Also need to mention Roland, the snorkel guide who was recommended by Luke. Very reasonable rates, and as people who have snorkelled frequently around the world, it was the best snorkel trip we've done, not just because of the location, but the whole experience with Roland, who took us out for hours, and suggested good places to snorkel, and went at our pace, rather than clock watching and asking us to move on.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sillytizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy you had such a great time at Woodlawn Villas and on your snorkelling trip with Roland.

We hope to see you both here again in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing