We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Woodlawn Villas! As others have said, WV is a bit secluded but it is still very easy to get to the main road. It's just about a 3-4 minute walk to the main road and a 10-minute walk to the beach. We also walked to the other popular are in Koh Tao and the walk was about 30 minutes. You can definitely walk everywhere on the island. Immediately on arrival Luke gave us a small orientation and was very helpful about the island-- where to eat, what to do, etc. He provides a mobile phone which came in handy during the trip. He also gives a flashlight, as the town isn't well lit at night. These also came in handy to scare away lizards that get inside the villa. Speaking of which, the staff at WV is very friendly. I was nervous when I saw a lizard inside my villa (I'm from NYC so I'm not used to seeing them indoors) and I asked a staff person to shoo it away for me. He reassured me that it was OK, as they are harmless and will naturally get into the villa because we're surrounded by nature.

The pool was also very nice. I even had the pleasure of being the only one in it for a couple of hours one day. It was so peaceful. There is also a TV as well as some DVDs, which we used one night. Small details such as those described really make for a great stay.

As Luke suggested, you should definitely try the tapas place and the Thai place called Tukta. They were both absolutely delicious.

2 things to note: 1. WV is cash-only because it's so small. This wasn't a major problem, as there are many ATMs around, but it seemed a little odd since we stayed 4 nights (~$100/night) and I presume others stay for much longer so you'll need to withdraw enough cash to cover this. Again, because Luke is so accommodating he let us pay the next day since we didn't know it was cash-only.
2. Bring your own beach towels because WV has towels for the bath and some for the pool. You cannot take the pool towels to the beach. Or you could buy them at the nearby supermarket.

Overall, great stay in Koh Tao. Good location and easy to get to many places on the island. Thanks Luke!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

Its was lovely to meet you and we are so happy to hear you had a great stay at Woodlawn Villas and enjoyed the island so much.

Just for future readers, I must correct you we are not a cash only business. We provide guests with several payment options. It is entirely up to the guest to decide which they would prefer. As I recall you only made the booking the day before you arrived hence why it was probably easier for you to pay cash on arrival.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the future, thank you for your positive feedback it really is lovely to hear :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    76
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
63
262
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Woodlawn villas for 3 nights but wished we had booked a longer stay! We were picked up at the port and driven to the Villas, which were less than 5 minutes away. The villas themselves are in a lovely hillside setting, surrounded completely by coconut palm trees, a gorgeous setting. The villa was a home away from home, it was lovely to have a separate living room and kitchen area and there was lots of space for two people. We were provided with a mobile phone with local taxi numbers and restaurant numbers, which was very handy. The owner ran through everything with us, giving us lots of recommendations for beaches and places to eat and drink. The closest beach was a 5 minute walk away and was stunning, picture postcard perfect and very quiet! The island is so small that you can travel to any of the beaches in 10 minutes by taxi. The taxis were 4x4 pick ups where you sit in the back in the open air which was great fun! We hired a scooter from Woodlawn villas which was a really cheap and enjoyable way to see the island. From reading about Koh Tao, we expected it to be a sleepy, quiet place - which we found not to be the case! We really enjoyed the atmosphere of the beach bars, Fizz at Sairee beach is a great bar where you sit on giant beanbags drinking cocktails with house music. There are flamer throwers and performers all along the beach and the ocean literally laps around your feet as your enjoy your drinks, amazing! We really wished that we had been able to stay longer in Koh Tao, it's a beautiful island which still feels unspoiled and isn't yet too commercialised, yet there is lots to see and do and a really great vibe. The Woodlawn villas are a lovely base, secluded within the trees yet not far at all from the beaches and restaurants. There is also a lovely pool, although we didn't use this, heading to the beach instead. Clean, comfortable and lots of space, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Suite Villa which had lots of space for two people, with a large living room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_McMullan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review!

It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas and the island itself.

We very much look forward to accommodating you again in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Woodlawn is in a beautiful setting on a hillside with coconut palm trees surrounding it. The suite was spacious and comfortable. The pool is lovely. Like other properties on Koh Tao, there are a lot of steps so you need to have some level of fitness. It is not handicap accessible. The owners recommend restaurants and I tried several of them and they were all good. When I got a sandwich on the street, I got an upset stomach. So stick with the recommended ones! As a solo traveler, I chose Woodlawn because it was quiet, clean and secluded. The weather was cool when I was there and I liked having the windows open but there were some mosquitos. Screens would be nice. The only other improvement I can think of is a list of TV channels. Thanks to Luke for all his help to all my questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure if staying at Woodlawn last month (June 2013) and we were not disappointed at all! We stayed with our 6 children aged between 17 and 8 years. Our villa was beautiful and cleaned thoroughly each day, linen change every second day, spotless! The new pool was excellent, clean and tidied each day, all the staff were lovely...so friendly....the owners could not have done more to make sure our stay was amazing and hassle free!....great tips on where to eat (all excellent!), rechargeable torches, free mobile with all numbers stored that we would need, free bottled water each day.....SO keen to help with anything we needed. Location excellent, handy for everything we needed but secluded from main road x we would go back in a minute!!!! Excellent! Thank you Luke and michelle xxxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and great photos!

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we are very happy to know that you had such a wonderful time :-)

We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were at Woodlawn Villas for 2 nights and were pleased with our stay. The villas are lovely, clean and comfortable and are located away from the main part of town but easily accessible by walking/scooter. Luke and Michelle are helpful and friendly and provide you with a book of recommendations and a pre-programmed cellphone to use (to contact them, restaurants, taxis, etc) which was very much appreciated --- go snorkeling with their guy Roland! Recommended!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crackrjax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas and found the information booklet useful during your stay.

Roland's trips are a must and great fun!

We hope to accommodate you both again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I'm just back from a lovely week's stay at Woodlawn Villas. Luke and Michelle are lovely hosts, and their "small" touches make a big difference, particularly their mini guide book and the prepaid mobile phone.  They gave very helpful answers to the questions I asked during my stay.

I stayed in a Garden Villa and found it spacious and comfortable - there is lots of space for two.  The bed is comfortable and the air-con is quiet.

It's a ten-minute walk downhill to Chalok beach from Woodlawn.  With a scooter it's easy to explore the whole island.  Sairee and Auw Leok beaches are about 15 minutes away by scooter.

The pool is clean and secluded, and it's salt-based cleaning  system means it doesn't sting the eyes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Garden Villa and the new swimming pool :-)

We look forward to welcoming you back to Woodlawn Villas in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

When we decided that we would visit Koh Tao for much deserved diving trip, we looked around at the usual dive resort type accommodation on offer & thought we needed a bit of quite time too. We came across the Woodlawn Villas & liked the look of it from the photo's on their website. From the moment we decided to book to the moment we left, we felt as though we had made the right choice and boy did we make the right choice.

We were met at the quay by a driver who took us to the Woodlawn Villas & was met by the owner Luke at reception. We were a little early for check-in but it wasn't a problem & we went to check out the dive resort, whilst they readied the room. Luke called on the (supplied) mobile a couple of hours later & we returned to find all the luggage already in the room.

The Villa was great, nice bedroom, lounge & small kitchen. This place was very quiet, whilst only a 10 min walk to the (Sunshine Divers) dive centre. You don't need a car here, it's not big enough...... some hire scooters, we just walked.....not a problem. Anyway we had a great 7 days here & would definitely go back again or recommend it to anyone. Well worth the money.....oh and the pool was great too........

Steve & Elaine

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M.C.StevieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

It was a pleasure to meet you and to accommodate you at Woodlawn Villas.

We are so pleased you had a lovely time and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ctrip TA so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing