We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location from which to explore Ko Tao.”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location from which to explore Ko Tao.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Woodlawn Villas are ideally located between the main towns of Ko Tao and some of its most beautiful beaches. Although not directly on the coast the Villas are only a kilometre or so from the beach and the gardens around the villas make them a peaceful and romantic setting. The villa's themselves are very well appointed and nothin is tooth trouble for Luke and Michelle. Woodlawn Villas will always be very special for us as my boyfriend proposed to me say on the balcony on the final evening of our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    76
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
63
262
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this the day before and Michelle, the owner was really helpful with the reservation and arranging a taxi to collect us from the port. We lived the villa we stayed in and had a warm welcome from Luke, the owner. The villas and pool/gardens are beautiful and a great place to relax. Luke and Michelle had some great recommendations, especially the diving schools and also have a moped you can hire which was great for getting round the island.

A big part of the appeal of Woodlawn is how generous, helpful and informative Luke and Michelle are and we can't thank then enough for making our stay memorable. We'd definitely stay here again if we're lucky enough to return to Koh Tao. A fab experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We really enjoyed staying in the big villa for seven nights, which was large enough for the 5 of us and was very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was fantastic and the location away from the main road meant it is a relaxing and calm place to stay. We followed the advice and suggestions of Luke and so enjoyed the island very much. All of the restaurants we ate in were great and so were the beaches and snorkelling. We used taxis quite a bit to take us around the island as for us this was the best way to get around and explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natural34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We are really happy to hear you had a wonderful time at Woodlawn Villas and enjoyed what the island has to offer.

We very much look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Woodlawn Villas is a great place to enjoy a relaxing getaway on Koh Tao.

It is within walking distance of local restaurants, grocery shops and a beach, but also offset from the main road along a track, keeping it out the way and very peaceful.

The accommodation and the surrounding grounds are of a high standard and well maintained. The owners are very friendly and happy to provide any advice and assistance during your stay. As part of the friendly greeting upon arrival, you are provided with a quick rundown of the island; recommended restaurant and things to do etc... They provide a mobile phone with useful numbers (taxis, restaurants , boat trips etc programmed in) and torches / flashlights which are useful when walking along the track to the main road at night - This walk is only about 3 minutes until you reach the main road.

Also worth noting, WV's now also offer a scooter to get around the island on if you choose (although we found that a lot of things to see can be reached by foot). They only have one scooter available, so be sure to book yourself in as soon as possible if this is what you want to do. This is at a reasonable cost per day. Scooters are very popular in Koh Tao, but beware! - locals that rent bikes are known for scamming you with MASSIVE charges if they find (or even falsely accuse you of) the tinniest scratches! So take advantage of this additional benefit of WVs, which is scam free and reasonable.

The pool is fantastic and as per the previous comment, not often very busy, so we were lucky enough to enjoy it to ourselves on a number of occasions.

One final quick recommendation - the snorkelling trip with Roland is highly recommended (contact details are provided by WVs). Roland is a laugh; It’s a great day out and a great way to see the island and some beautiful fish!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 258Mark_S258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so pleased you had a lovely time during your stay at Woodlawn Villas and enjoyed the new pool.

Koh Tao is a beautiful island where you can really get away from it all and relax.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Woodlawn Villas! As others have said, WV is a bit secluded but it is still very easy to get to the main road. It's just about a 3-4 minute walk to the main road and a 10-minute walk to the beach. We also walked to the other popular are in Koh Tao and the walk was about 30 minutes. You can definitely walk everywhere on the island. Immediately on arrival Luke gave us a small orientation and was very helpful about the island-- where to eat, what to do, etc. He provides a mobile phone which came in handy during the trip. He also gives a flashlight, as the town isn't well lit at night. These also came in handy to scare away lizards that get inside the villa. Speaking of which, the staff at WV is very friendly. I was nervous when I saw a lizard inside my villa (I'm from NYC so I'm not used to seeing them indoors) and I asked a staff person to shoo it away for me. He reassured me that it was OK, as they are harmless and will naturally get into the villa because we're surrounded by nature.

The pool was also very nice. I even had the pleasure of being the only one in it for a couple of hours one day. It was so peaceful. There is also a TV as well as some DVDs, which we used one night. Small details such as those described really make for a great stay.

As Luke suggested, you should definitely try the tapas place and the Thai place called Tukta. They were both absolutely delicious.

2 things to note: 1. WV is cash-only because it's so small. This wasn't a major problem, as there are many ATMs around, but it seemed a little odd since we stayed 4 nights (~$100/night) and I presume others stay for much longer so you'll need to withdraw enough cash to cover this. Again, because Luke is so accommodating he let us pay the next day since we didn't know it was cash-only.
2. Bring your own beach towels because WV has towels for the bath and some for the pool. You cannot take the pool towels to the beach. Or you could buy them at the nearby supermarket.

Overall, great stay in Koh Tao. Good location and easy to get to many places on the island. Thanks Luke!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

Its was lovely to meet you and we are so happy to hear you had a great stay at Woodlawn Villas and enjoyed the island so much.

Just for future readers, I must correct you we are not a cash only business. We provide guests with several payment options. It is entirely up to the guest to decide which they would prefer. As I recall you only made the booking the day before you arrived hence why it was probably easier for you to pay cash on arrival.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the future, thank you for your positive feedback it really is lovely to hear :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Woodlawn villas for 3 nights but wished we had booked a longer stay! We were picked up at the port and driven to the Villas, which were less than 5 minutes away. The villas themselves are in a lovely hillside setting, surrounded completely by coconut palm trees, a gorgeous setting. The villa was a home away from home, it was lovely to have a separate living room and kitchen area and there was lots of space for two people. We were provided with a mobile phone with local taxi numbers and restaurant numbers, which was very handy. The owner ran through everything with us, giving us lots of recommendations for beaches and places to eat and drink. The closest beach was a 5 minute walk away and was stunning, picture postcard perfect and very quiet! The island is so small that you can travel to any of the beaches in 10 minutes by taxi. The taxis were 4x4 pick ups where you sit in the back in the open air which was great fun! We hired a scooter from Woodlawn villas which was a really cheap and enjoyable way to see the island. From reading about Koh Tao, we expected it to be a sleepy, quiet place - which we found not to be the case! We really enjoyed the atmosphere of the beach bars, Fizz at Sairee beach is a great bar where you sit on giant beanbags drinking cocktails with house music. There are flamer throwers and performers all along the beach and the ocean literally laps around your feet as your enjoy your drinks, amazing! We really wished that we had been able to stay longer in Koh Tao, it's a beautiful island which still feels unspoiled and isn't yet too commercialised, yet there is lots to see and do and a really great vibe. The Woodlawn villas are a lovely base, secluded within the trees yet not far at all from the beaches and restaurants. There is also a lovely pool, although we didn't use this, heading to the beach instead. Clean, comfortable and lots of space, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Suite Villa which had lots of space for two people, with a large living room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_McMullan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review!

It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas and the island itself.

We very much look forward to accommodating you again in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Woodlawn is in a beautiful setting on a hillside with coconut palm trees surrounding it. The suite was spacious and comfortable. The pool is lovely. Like other properties on Koh Tao, there are a lot of steps so you need to have some level of fitness. It is not handicap accessible. The owners recommend restaurants and I tried several of them and they were all good. When I got a sandwich on the street, I got an upset stomach. So stick with the recommended ones! As a solo traveler, I chose Woodlawn because it was quiet, clean and secluded. The weather was cool when I was there and I liked having the windows open but there were some mosquitos. Screens would be nice. The only other improvement I can think of is a list of TV channels. Thanks to Luke for all his help to all my questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

It was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Woodlawn Villas.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
515 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing