We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect and relaxing days in the Island”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect and relaxing days in the Island”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We would definetly come back and stay here again. The location is great, you can easily reach everything you need with a rented motorbike or even by foot. The owners are super friendly and helpfull with all kind of usefull tips. Thanks to Luke and Michelle, you built a wonderfull place out here! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    72
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
257
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Koh Tao was the last stop in Thailand for our honey moon and Woodlawn Vilas was a nice quiet getaway on the island.
Prior to booking I talked with Michelle via email and she was very helpful and answered all my questions promptly.

We arrived at the dock and the driver they sent gathered us and our luggage and took us to the resort. Woodlawn Villas is not far and is tucked away just off the main road. The semi-secluded location is great as it's quite peaceful and relaxing, especially at night when you're sleeping!
Luke and his trusty dog greeted us and gave us a nice tour around the place. The grounds were very well kept and the salt water pool was always clean. We were given tons of great information about places to check out, restaurants and bars to visit and a cell phone with most of these places programmed into it.
Even though there is no reception desk we could reach Luke or Michelle via SMS on the cell phone they provided us.

We stayed in the Garden Villa room which is nicely decorated and has plenty of room for 2 people. Just about every amenity you could need or want is provided in the room. Everything from a fully stocked kitchen, satellite TV and a balcony with table and chairs.
We asked if they had a drying rack to hang our wet towels from the beach. Unfortunately they didn't have enough for everyone at the time (you're on a remote Island remember). To our surprise and delight Michelle showed up the next day with a new drying rack. Michelle went out of her way to buy us a drying rack, now that's great service!

Koh Tao is a very hilly Island so keep that in mind if you're going. There was a hill to climb when going to our room but it's nothing that will take the wind out of you.
The beach at Chalok Baan Kao Bay is about a 10 minute walk away at most. The beach there is beautiful! We liked it better then Sairee Beach as it was less busy and felt bigger.
There are quite a few restaurants near Woodlawn as well as a decent sized supermarket at the end of the private road.

If you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you want a perfect stay to relax in Koh Tao, Woodlawn Villas is your place. Small villas are beautiful and immaculate and are located within the koh tao's forest. Everything you need (restaurants, laundry, shops, supermarket) is just a step away. Chalok bay is a 15-minute walk, other beaches (included Sairee) are a 10-minutes ride. The whole staff is very kind and helpful. You will be equipped with a telephone with useful numbers (reception, police, restaurants). I spent a week there and everything was just perfect. RECOMMENDED !!!

Room Tip: Twilight Villa is a wonderful villa for big groups od a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirthgersen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked Woodlawn Villas back in January as the place to celebrate our Silver Wedding anniversary.
Following a 12 hour journey from Bangkok, we were met at the dock and made a short transfer to Woodlawn. Luke was there to welcome us and give us a brief chat about the area and things to do. We had a Garden suite for 6 nights, the property is well equipped, clean and very spacious. Luke and Michelle are both very helpful and always on hand via the mobile phone they supply you with, the phone is preloaded with other useful numbers such as taxis, food delivery etc.
We also had a great surprise when our daughter who we haven't seen for 8 months turned up with her boyfriend to celebrate our anniversary!
Koh Tao as an island really made a good impression, it's a truly beautiful and unspoilt island, especially the east coast beaches of Tanote bay and Aow Leuk. There are some great restaurants a short walk away, Bizzaroo tapas was one of our favourites. Sunshine divers are a great outfit if you like your diving.
The High bar is worth a visit. A huge treehouse home with stunning views across Chalok Baan Kao bay. Also take a long tail boat to Koh Nang Yuan and climb to the viewing platform....I'll say WOW, and let you make your mind up.
Fantastic time had by all. Thanks Luke & Michelle.
Jim, Pam, Jess & Jesse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very nice and comfortable Villa. Fully equipment kitchen and all others. I stay for 3 nights and have a wonderful time in Koh Tao. Nice to have family or small group in Twilight Villa. The pool is right in front your door step. Luke and Michelle had made the arrangement for the pick up on our arrival so easy. Will strongly recommend this place and will come back next year if possible.

Room Tip: If it is a family or group visit, go for Twilight Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Woodlawn Villas are ideally located between the main towns of Ko Tao and some of its most beautiful beaches. Although not directly on the coast the Villas are only a kilometre or so from the beach and the gardens around the villas make them a peaceful and romantic setting. The villa's themselves are very well appointed and nothin is tooth trouble for Luke and Michelle. Woodlawn Villas will always be very special for us as my boyfriend proposed to me say on the balcony on the final evening of our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this the day before and Michelle, the owner was really helpful with the reservation and arranging a taxi to collect us from the port. We lived the villa we stayed in and had a warm welcome from Luke, the owner. The villas and pool/gardens are beautiful and a great place to relax. Luke and Michelle had some great recommendations, especially the diving schools and also have a moped you can hire which was great for getting round the island.

A big part of the appeal of Woodlawn is how generous, helpful and informative Luke and Michelle are and we can't thank then enough for making our stay memorable. We'd definitely stay here again if we're lucky enough to return to Koh Tao. A fab experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing