We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value off beaten track in koh tao” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
ldn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value off beaten track in koh tao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed a 4 night stay in a garden villa. We were warmly welcomed by Luke who gave great info on where to go for food/drinks/snorkelling etc. it is on the quiet side of the island so you will be restricted if you don't want to hire a moped, which is very easy and would recommend star bike (the first shop as you come out of the villas little driveway turn left go up road toward Mae head and its a little shop on your left). If you have a moped then the location is no problem at all, 10 mins to sairee village which is a cool little party spot. The villa itself has everything you could need. We loved having the kitchen and stocked up at nearby supermarket for breakfast foods. Would definitely recommend if you aren't set on staying very central. Great value and great pool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseasandadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    69
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
61
249
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Woodlawn villas is a gorgeous spot and the owners Luke and Michelle made the stay a perfect one. Luke provided us with really useful tips on which beaches to go to, which hikes to take and which restaurants to eat at. He and Michelle were perfect hosts.

The accommodation was great and very nicely done. We stayed in a garden villa that was a perfect size, well equipped and the bed was great too - not too hard, not too soft! It was also cleaned daily by very friendly staff.

On site is a pool that is great for a morning swim or simply lounging by - again very clean and the long lounge beds by the pool are perfect for a little afternoon snooze in the sun.

We originally booked 3 nights at Woodlawn Villas and ended up feeling so relaxed that we extended our trip to 7 days. After Woodlawn we headed over for a stay in a different part of the island and then returned a week later for another 2 nights. On our second stay we were kindly given an upgrade because the villa's weren't available - this accommodation was just as impressive and if it wasn't for a flight home we would've extended our stay again!

Coming from a hectic life in London it took us a little time to unwind in but when we arrived in Woodlawn the relaxation and holiday really begun. The whole place is full of nice little touches and it's laid out in a way that almost makes you think you're alone.

This place is perfect and we would fully recommend it to anyone going to Koh Tao.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoweyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stary Krym
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a nice villa, had it been well-kept and fresh. The trees are a bit less than it should be, so it was warmer than we wanted it to be. The pool was refreshing, though and it was so relaxing to stay in the cabin. If there is one thing I really like about this Villa, that would be the privacy that it lent us. The cabins were quite far from each other and the pool was also a few meters away from the cabin. It's a short walk, but it means we do not have to be bothered with other guests having night swimming parties. Our cabin was clean and spacious and it allowed us to really feel at home and really appreciate our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I booked Woodlawn Villas at short notice after deciding to extend our stay on Koh Tao. We stayed in a Suite for the first two nights, and then moved to a garden villa for the last.

Michelle was very accommodating over email and Luke gave us a warm welcome - even allowing us to check in a few hours before the normal time. He described the area to us, and told us about the best restaurants, bars, shops and beaches, which were all very good recommendations! (especially Taraporn, a restaurant on stilts over water - very romantic at sunset!)

The suite we stayed in was lovely - clean, simple, spacious and with all of the kitchen utensils and appliances you could need. Shower was nice and there was even a funny little poem in the bathroom about the 'bum gun!' My only niggle was it wasn't very private and the person staying near us had the TV on super loud, which was quite disrupting!

Otherwise, the area itself is very peaceful, pretty and full of coconut trees. Quite hilly but that wasn't much of a problem for us. Luke even gave us a mobile phone in case we needed to contact him, a local restaurant or taxi driver, which was very handy. One night we ordered pizza in using one of the menus from the suite!

The garden villa was a little smaller than the suite but we preferred its location, as it was a bit quieter and closer to the pool. Equally clean and lovely. We were also given two bottles of drinking water each day, but could also buy more water and food in and store it in the huge fridges!

The pool is also amazing - we had it all to ourselves one afternoon. Luke checks the PH level of the water so it's not chlorinated and better for your skin. You can even see underwater without your eyes stinging!

As soon as you reach the main road, which is a couple of minutes down the private road, there's restaurants, a supermarket, bars, massage places and more to keep you occupied. The beach is probably about 10-15 minutes away, which wasn't far at all and was lovely this time of year. Not too busy!

Luke recommended we go to Freedom Beach, which was a little further down the coast. Walkable but take plenty of water (it's hot!) and the map provided by Woodlawn Villa. It was gorgeous and unspoiled - shells and hammocks hanging down from the trees, one little beach bar and very quiet in early afternoon.

We did want to go kayaking, which is something Luke and Michelle can arrange but unfortunately the guy wasn't available during our stay. We had enough fun on the beaches and trekking up to John Suwan viewpoint - well worth the long, hot climb up rocks, dirt paths and through trees, because the view of both bays on either side was stunning!

Overall we had a fantastic experience at Woodlawn Villas and would stay here again down this end of Koh Tao - great service; clean, spacious rooms; and far enough out of town to get peace and quiet but everything just a short walk away.

Also, great value for money. We stayed at The Place Boutique Villas in the north of Koh Tao (see separate review) before coming to Woodlawn Villas; it provides a similar set up to Woodlawn Villas, a little more luxuriously but for double the money.

Thanks again Luke and Michelle - hopefully see you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

It's hard to choose my favorite thing about Woodlawn Villas, but if pressed I would definitely say the hospitality. From the first to last moments of our stay there, we really felt more like we were staying in Luke and Michelle's home than their place of work. They both warmly greeted us upon arrival and were always available either on the grounds or by SMS if we had any questions at all. The info book, menus, and prepaid mobile phone mentioned by other reviewers really are a godsend, especially for road-weary travelers looking for a bit of relaxation and convenience. The villas and pool are kept immaculate, and Woodlawn is very conveniently located for day trips to the eastern bays (ask Luke for snorkeling advice!) Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naj256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We would definetly come back and stay here again. The location is great, you can easily reach everything you need with a rented motorbike or even by foot. The owners are super friendly and helpfull with all kind of usefull tips. Thanks to Luke and Michelle, you built a wonderfull place out here! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Koh Tao was the last stop in Thailand for our honey moon and Woodlawn Vilas was a nice quiet getaway on the island.
Prior to booking I talked with Michelle via email and she was very helpful and answered all my questions promptly.

We arrived at the dock and the driver they sent gathered us and our luggage and took us to the resort. Woodlawn Villas is not far and is tucked away just off the main road. The semi-secluded location is great as it's quite peaceful and relaxing, especially at night when you're sleeping!
Luke and his trusty dog greeted us and gave us a nice tour around the place. The grounds were very well kept and the salt water pool was always clean. We were given tons of great information about places to check out, restaurants and bars to visit and a cell phone with most of these places programmed into it.
Even though there is no reception desk we could reach Luke or Michelle via SMS on the cell phone they provided us.

We stayed in the Garden Villa room which is nicely decorated and has plenty of room for 2 people. Just about every amenity you could need or want is provided in the room. Everything from a fully stocked kitchen, satellite TV and a balcony with table and chairs.
We asked if they had a drying rack to hang our wet towels from the beach. Unfortunately they didn't have enough for everyone at the time (you're on a remote Island remember). To our surprise and delight Michelle showed up the next day with a new drying rack. Michelle went out of her way to buy us a drying rack, now that's great service!

Koh Tao is a very hilly Island so keep that in mind if you're going. There was a hill to climb when going to our room but it's nothing that will take the wind out of you.
The beach at Chalok Baan Kao Bay is about a 10 minute walk away at most. The beach there is beautiful! We liked it better then Sairee Beach as it was less busy and felt bigger.
There are quite a few restaurants near Woodlawn as well as a decent sized supermarket at the end of the private road.

If you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas is a family run 18 room hotel with swimming pool. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the swimming pool set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing