We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grassy oasis”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Most of the detail has been said, but this is a lovely place to stay an easy walk from the beach. The hosts were very thoughtful and the villa was exactly what we needed for 4 nights. Having a small kitchen and an amazingly stocked shop at the end of the drive was brilliant - it's amazing how appealing Museli and yoghurt is after a couple of weeks of hotel breakfasts! We took Luke and Michelle's advice on diving and food and didn't go wrong. Would genuinely recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kath_Sewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights at Woodlawn Villas!! Great stay and lovely staff and owners!! The property was very nice and comfortable and the villa... Wauw!! When I forgot my passport, Luke acted great... The next morning my passport was in my new hotel. Would definitely go back again. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Henk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in mid November at Woodlawn Villas in a garden suite. We had travelled by overnight train from Bangkok to Chumporn, missing our boat connection as the train was two and a half hours late. Despite monsoon conditions and a very rough crossing we finally arrived late afternoon at Woodlawn Villas. Luke was there to meet and greet and as has been mentioned, run through his welcome briefing.

The suite was well equipped and comfortable and included much needed water and umbrellas, mobile phone, torches and resident gecko. Luke and Michelle were very helpful with advice on beaches, walks and restaurants and the location was perfect, being close to all amenities but still quiet and secluded.

Recommendations would be to eat at the Taktu restaurant , about 5 minutes walk from Woodlawn and Freedom beach for snorkelling (we saw a turtle) as it is sheltered from the north east monsoon.

We would certainly recommend Woodlawn Villas as the place to stay in Chalok, Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furryJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Luke and Michelle are the lovely owners of this small boutique hotel and are native English speakers. They have put extreme attention into the details of their accommodations and have put together an experience that is ideal for "first timers" to thailand. There are only a few rooms though so book in advance.

After a grueling journey involving a late train and missed ferry we were relieved to arrive at Woodlawn. The rooms are set back from the main road along a pretty rough dirt road, but a lot of places in Thailand are like that and honestly it helps keep the area quiet with less traffic. We were given a very thorough orientation by Luke, who gave us a tour of our rooms and explained the best places to eat, easiest beaches to go to, and how to use the cell phone and flashlights provided with the room. He also explained about some of the more unique cultural aspects to Thailand aka how to properly use the plumbing etc... This kind of orientation is what makes this place great for first-timers to Thailand. I want to pause for a second just to say... how awesome is that - you get a cell phone to call if you have a problem or to call for food delivery! Brilliant.

We stayed in the McMansion of Thailand and got the biggest room they had - a villa right next to the salt-water pool. It was a total splurge for us after staying weeks in very low-end B&Bs and well worth the money. There was a quiet AC, a mosquito net, and the TV even had a variety of English speaking stations including the National Geographic channel. The large villa has multiple rooms and a huge shared living room and kitchen. Each room has its own beautiful bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with all sorts of appliances for making your own meals. I think this would be a great way for a family with picky eaters to travel in particular since you can make stuff for the kids before heading out on your adventures.

It was a tragedy that we had to leave Woodlawn. The owners would have gladly extended our stay, but to stretch our travel budget to its max we had to return to cheaper spots after only 2 or 3 days at our Woodlawn Mansion. I was so glad we at least got to stay with Luke and Michelle for a little while because they introduced us to the best bar and restaurant while visited while in Koh Tao! I would stay here again in a heart beat, especially if I was traveling with folks who had never been to Thailand before and I wanted to show them the very best the Island had to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 699kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed a 4 night stay in a garden villa. We were warmly welcomed by Luke who gave great info on where to go for food/drinks/snorkelling etc. it is on the quiet side of the island so you will be restricted if you don't want to hire a moped, which is very easy and would recommend star bike (the first shop as you come out of the villas little driveway turn left go up road toward Mae head and its a little shop on your left). If you have a moped then the location is no problem at all, 10 mins to sairee village which is a cool little party spot. The villa itself has everything you could need. We loved having the kitchen and stocked up at nearby supermarket for breakfast foods. Would definitely recommend if you aren't set on staying very central. Great value and great pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseasandadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Woodlawn villas is a gorgeous spot and the owners Luke and Michelle made the stay a perfect one. Luke provided us with really useful tips on which beaches to go to, which hikes to take and which restaurants to eat at. He and Michelle were perfect hosts.

The accommodation was great and very nicely done. We stayed in a garden villa that was a perfect size, well equipped and the bed was great too - not too hard, not too soft! It was also cleaned daily by very friendly staff.

On site is a pool that is great for a morning swim or simply lounging by - again very clean and the long lounge beds by the pool are perfect for a little afternoon snooze in the sun.

We originally booked 3 nights at Woodlawn Villas and ended up feeling so relaxed that we extended our trip to 7 days. After Woodlawn we headed over for a stay in a different part of the island and then returned a week later for another 2 nights. On our second stay we were kindly given an upgrade because the villa's weren't available - this accommodation was just as impressive and if it wasn't for a flight home we would've extended our stay again!

Coming from a hectic life in London it took us a little time to unwind in but when we arrived in Woodlawn the relaxation and holiday really begun. The whole place is full of nice little touches and it's laid out in a way that almost makes you think you're alone.

This place is perfect and we would fully recommend it to anyone going to Koh Tao.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoweyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a nice villa, had it been well-kept and fresh. The trees are a bit less than it should be, so it was warmer than we wanted it to be. The pool was refreshing, though and it was so relaxing to stay in the cabin. If there is one thing I really like about this Villa, that would be the privacy that it lent us. The cabins were quite far from each other and the pool was also a few meters away from the cabin. It's a short walk, but it means we do not have to be bothered with other guests having night swimming parties. Our cabin was clean and spacious and it allowed us to really feel at home and really appreciate our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £23 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing