We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodlawn Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$72
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$210
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
362
79
26
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
79
26
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneowners luke and michellechalok baybig supermarketair consouthern partdirt trackorder foodrent a scooterkitchen areaquiet locationten minute walkfree upgrademain roadliving roombottled waterperfect stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have recently come back from a swift tour of Thailand, which took in a number of places including the Islands in the Gulf. Out of everywhere we went, including Bangkok and Chiang Mai, Koh Tao was my favourite place and this was in no small part to Woodlawn Villas and the owners Luke and Michelle.

I travelled as part of a group of nine friends, all boys, and Koh Tao was our r & r part of the trip. The accommodation itself was second to none. The villa we stayed in was first rate and it's location, albeit secluded, was still only a five minute taxi ride from both Chalok Bay and Sairee Beach (the main nightlife on Koh Tao).

Luke & Michelle were extremely helpful and with their knowledge of the island (I believe they have been there around 16 years) we were able to maximise our stay, which being only 4 days meant we didn't have much time to waste.

They recommended a range of activities and places to eat, none of which failed to disappoint.

In every villa they have their own book which provided all the information you could wish for.

Not only that but even on the day of our check-out, they gave us use of the pool until our ferry was due later in the day.

In short, this is a glorious place to stay and coupled with the friendly owners and helpful staff I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went to Koh Tao for our Honey moon and New Year, and wanted to find a place from which we could access all the movement and beaches, but also that were isolated enough so we could actually rest. The villas were exactly that.
The infrastructure is fantastic; beautiful, in good conditions and perfectly clean. Full-equipped kitchen and bathrooms.The staff is friendly and clearly has lots of experience, since they are prepared for answering any questions; they evidently know what, as a tourist, you may wonder or need. They have it all covered!
The pool is gorgeous and we skipped going to the beach many times. Having a moped is basic on the islands of Thailand if you don't want to spend a lot on taxis and really get to know the place, but if you don't feel like driving, the closest beach and restaurants are only 15 minutes away walking. The dry-cleaning is close, the supermarket is around the corner...really great for a chilled visit to Koh Tao. Loved it, recommend it and would totally go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daltoniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 night stay at Woodlawn Villas and were glad we had made the decision to book there. Being that the island was pretty busy at the time, (Christmas) it was a lovely retreat from the busyness that was Mae Haad or Chalok at times. The pool area is absolutely beautiful and we mostly got to enjoy it to ourselves although the resort was full at the time. We stayed in a garden villa which quite private and peaceful. Loved sitting out on the deck in the evening and listening to the birds while having a quiet drink. Luke and Michelle were very helpful at explaining everything when we arrived and the cellphone they gave us was very useful for summoning their recommended taxi driver if we needed picking up from anywhere. Their tips for good places to eat came in handy and we especially enjoyed the food at Tukta Thai just up the road. As good as anywhere in Thailand and so cheap! Also enjoyed the French café on the left on the road down to Chalok (think it may be called Croissant) and Café del Sol was another goody. For day trips we really liked Tanote Bay and the snorkelling and scenery there is pretty good. We also had a really nice meal there. The staff at Woodlawn were very friendly and polite and kept the place immaculate. I would definitely recommend Woodlawn if you don't want to be right amongst the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent a fantastic Christmas at Woodlawn Villas this year at Michelle and Luke's island paradise! This was our first trip to Koh Tao and we had heard lots of positive feedback about the island itself. We were absolutely delighted with our choice of Woodlawn for so many reasons; whilst the coastal resorts of Sairee look lovely you are in the heart of the dive schools and beach bars, at Woodlawn you are in a tropical, serene paradise! My husband and I travel extensively (this was our 11th trip of 2013) and enjoy our little luxuries in life, if this is your thing too then Woodlawn Villas will not disappoint.

We stayed in a spacious garden suite with a large bedroom, really sizeable kitchen, diner and lounge,along with an en suite. The facilities in the suites are tremendous, including a tv with multi-language channels, a fridge and an oven! With the supermarket at the end of the driveway it was very easy to stock up on essentials along with cold drinks and whatever takes your fancy! Aside from the villa and amenities, Michelle and Luke's little touches made the stay so special. The mobile phone with pre-programmed numbers is a genius idea and not only does it allow for you to contact the owners directly, you can order food delivery right to your doorstep - I kid you not!! This was perfect for a smoked salmon bagel breakfast delivery over the Christmas period. Not very Thai, but certainly very welcome!

The grounds of Woodlawn are spectacular, mature plants and trees, which are not only beautiful they also offer great shade and house incredible bird life. We cannot submit a review without mentioning the fabulous salt water swimming pool. Just lovely for a refreshing dip or to relax and read a book with nothing more than the sounds of the birds and palm trees swaying in the breeze.

In terms of Koh Tao itself, the "turtle" Island offers everything you could desire from a holiday. Beautiful scenery, beaches, diving, bars, a great selection of restaurants (incredibly well priced!) and full body massages for £6 an hour! Without Michelle and Luke's advice and top tips, we definitely would not have been exposed to such a rich selection on all counts and have enjoyed ourselves so much!

Michelle and Luke - thank you both so very much! We wish you continued success with Woodlawn villas and will be back for much longer next time! Bob and Marge

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BobandMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have just spent 6 nights in the Twilight Villa with 4 friends. We had wonderful time on Koh Tao. It's a beautiful island with plenty to do and see. The villa was perfect for our needs (2 couples and a single). We had the pool and gardens pretty much to ourselves for the entire stay although apparently Woodlawn were fully booked in the other suites so it really feels very private. The location is perfect - especially over the NYE period when the island went a bit mental and was in peak season. It's a short 3 minute walk down private road to supermarket, scooter hire, massage places and a few good restaurants. We hired scooters for 4 days which is a must if you want to get to most other parts of the island as it's very steep in areas and too hot for walking. It's only 5 minutes by scooter to Sairee Beach which has plenty going on and some good spots to eat. I would much rather have stayed at Woodlawn than beachside as it was lovely to head back to the villa after a day of beaching/sun and have a final swim in the gorgeous pool surrounded by lush gardens before heading out for drinks/dinner.

Luck and Michelle were great hosts providing great insider/local knowledge on what to do/where to eat etc...they were attentive but never encroached on the holiday. The villa was well equipped for all you need on a holiday and each room had a separate ensuite.

Thoroughly recommend to anyone. Thanks for having us Luke and Michelle!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews