We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villas!”
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlawn Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Den Haag
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely villas!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

You could easely name it 'Lovely Villas'. We had the big 'Twilight Villa'. Perfect place, with a big living room, kitchen and bedrooms. And the swimmingpool is outstanding! Our daughter (2,5 years old) learned to float and swim just here! The pool is big, there are only a couple of villa's, so it's an ideal spot to relax. Koh Tao is rather busy, this place is serene, with all the shops and touristic sites around the corner. Their internetsite gives you a perfect idea of what to expect. Luke, Michelle and of course 'oma', thank you for a wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    73
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
62
259
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have been going to Koh Tao for over ten years now and I rate our stay at Woodlawn as best value for money and also the most complete hotel package we have experienced. The accommodation was spotless, the room service excellent, the small drip in the bathroom was spotted by the room maid and the maintenance guy fixed it without me reporting it, that's a first in Thailand! There was complimentary tea and coffee in the room replaced daily and a CLEAN working fridge and cooker plus all utensils that meant we could eat-in when to lazy to go out.
The local well stocked supermarket just 200mtrs down road and good choice of local restaurants for Thai or European meals, we used the ones recommended in excellent guide found in room and likewise would recommend them also. There were always plenty of vacant sunbeds and shades and we usually had the beautiful and spotless pool to ourselves. As you pass into Woodlawns the first thing you notice is the green grass and then after the personal reception by Luke and Michelle and unpacking done next you notice the peace and quiet, no traffic noise, no chugging dive boat noise nothing but a few birds singing and swish of garden lads cleaning the gardens. This has to be the quietest place to stay on Koh Tao. The beach is a ten minute walk, has reasonable shade and soft sand and not crowded. Pool towels were changed daily and of good quality. I see cupcake was not happy and periodically reposts the poor review but seeing the other reviews makes me wonder if their review is of the correct place.

Room Tip: We had villa 3, villa 2 is same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selby1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here & would have stayed longer but they had no room. It is a great location down a sand track in the jungle about a 10 minute walk from Chalok Bay. Right from our arrival Luke & Michelle made us feel really welcome. The welcome pack they give is great for places to eat & drink all around Koh Toa. The villa's are big & spacious with a full kitchen. We would highly recommend a stay here is very peaceful but also the lively bars of Chalok bay are a short walk or Sairee Beach is only 3 mins in a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74lucyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Awful from start to finish. dirty, old 90's furniture, sewage smell all over the villa. We Checked out early. Never felt so dirty in a hotel/villa in all my life. Pictures to be added. CANCEL IF YOUVE BOOKED HERE.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cupcake1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we spent 3 nights at woodlawn villas and had our own garden suite. there was one big bedroom, one very clean bathroom and another huge living room with tv, kitchen, fridge and everything you need. the location is great, a bit away from everything but still close enough. luke and michelle are great and will help you wherever they can. so, thumbs up for a great stay at woodlawn villas.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Really nice rooms, very helpful owners and a lovely pool. It was very handy to have a local mobile phone with the room too. About a 10 minute walk to the beach, lots of good places to eat and drink nearby and close to a supermarket too. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had been staying in a rented house on Koh Tao and feeling a bit miserable because it wasn't comfortable and I was looking about for somewhere else to stay. Did the usual internet searches booking.com and so on, but all the places were fully booked or had some adverse comments on Tripadvisor, so decided to go about the search by starting with Tripadvisor which gave me Woodlawn Villas. Did an email to Michelle who came back instantly and said they had a Garden Villa free. We were so chuffed. Kept looking at the website and reviews and couldn't believe our luck. The Garden Villa was great. Comfy sofa, table and chairs outside on the terrace. Wifi. Fabulous swimming pool. For us it was a great refuge. Looking forward to returning. Thank you both. You have something very special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Property: Woodlawn Villas
Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas resort is located in Chalok Baan Khao. Guests can choose from a 240m2 Family Villa with Pool View, two 70m2 Garden Suites, three 36m2 Garden Villas and twelve new 30m2 Superior Double Rooms with Balcony. All accommodation has access to the resort swimming pool, set within two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. Our location is just a minutes walk to the local supermarket, 2 minutes walk to restaurants/cafes, dive shops, yoga, massage, pharmacy and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Each room includes a complete information pack highlighting activities, restaurants and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to accommodating you on Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing