We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation away from the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments
Ranked #6 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed there 4 nights this summer and had an excellent time. Ronen offered free pickup and return to the Ferry pier upon arrival and leave (fact we didn't know and we therefore missed him upon arrival). He made us an upgrade in the accommodation without extra charges from a three guest studio to a 2 bedroom apartment and was very kind and helpful. Apartments are very stylish: they have nice furniture, large comfortable beds and sofa, a beautiful bathroom... The large balcony have outstanding views of the beach and is another strength of the place. The apartments are close to the beach (9 min walk) but sufficiently far away to be isolated from the noise of bars, resorts and restaurants. The one and only drawback is the final section of the road: a 30 metre long very steep driveway (at about 30 degrees) that some motorcycles are unable to climb (if you are planning to rent a bike, rent a powerful one or a quad). If you are fit, no problem (just a little sweat) but don't forget your torchlight since the road is in absolute darkness during the night. If you are the kind of guy that like to get into your apartment five times a day to change clothes, have a shower, etc. make sure you rent a powerful bike. If not, then enjoy the fantastic views in the morning and the evening and spend your day around the island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for your review.
Glad you had an excellent time during your stay with us. We have now equipped all rooms with a phone so you can order food, taxis and contact our staff. It also comes with a light to help when your walking back in the evening.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

My partner & I stayed here for 4 nights in mid-July. I booked the apartments based on reviews on trip advisor, price, the view & the relative close proximity to the beach. I didn't realise that transfers to/from the pier were included which was welcome although I missed Ronen upon arrival. Ronen was very welcoming. The apartments are large & stylishly decorated & include a kitchenette. There is a safety deposit box in the apartments. I have to say that the bed was a little too firm for us both. We spent most of the time on the large balcony enjoying the view over breakfast & watching the sunset in the evening. Whilst the walk to the beach was only 8 mins or so one had to contend with a very steep driveway & stairs up to the apartment which didn't bother me, but my partner who is under 5'0' tall found it a little difficult. I enjoyed being accessible to Sairee Beach, but not being right in the middle of all the resorts & restaurants right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank top_catz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here in Studio Apartment No.2 during the first week of July. Apartments are furnished and decorated to a high modern standard complete with living area, large bed, small kitchenette and separate wet room.

The view from the apartment is outstanding and the large balcony is such a serene place to be, whether having breakfast or just chilling with a few beers. Yes it is up a fairly steep hill but without this you just wouldn't have the view? The previous reviewers comments about it being dangerous for people who don't do sport are totally exhaggerated.(I'm a smoker in my mid 40s and could manage it easily, although I did rent a motorbike for convenience.) Additionally, I stayed at the same time as the previous reviewer and had no real problems with the water at all? You have to appreciate that this is a small island that up until a few years ago didn't even have full time mains power, so allowances have to be made for matters that are totally outside the control of the owner.

Ronen is a cool guy who arranged pick up/drop off at the pier and is always willing to help.

Please be aware that there are no pool facilities at the apartments, only the villas. This being something I mistakenly assumed after looking at the website. Additionally the safe wasn't working which I think needs to be addressed as whilst the area is generally safe, insurance companies will automatically refuse any loss claims for valuables if they are not locked away.

On the whole though, a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_P_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This appartment could be could but it is over priced for those reasons:
- wi-fi connexion is very bad, you Will have better connexion into a cafe at Ko tao beach,
- we had a bad experience with water: no water for two morning, no issue for the evening,
- we like sport but be aware that to go by feet to the appartment you have to climb almost a 40 % way, for people who do not practice sport it is too dangereous, better is to Rent a motorbike,
- during the night do not forget your all night because way is in dark.

What was good:
- appartment is very closed to the beach and city center (by feet, 6min down, 12 min up),
- great view at the top,
- the guy named Ronen who welcomed us is very helpful and kind, thanks to him.

In conlusion, UK agency should say to the customers that we are in an Island and sometimes power shut down this is why sometimes there is missing water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oasis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Owner at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you very much for staying at our accommodation. We would like to share our thoughts regarding your review.

Let me try and comment about the issues mentioned above:

1) WiFi- we had many guests staying at this apartment in the last three years and didn’t get bad feedback about the reception at the apartment you staid in. We have looked into it and found that smartphones and tablests are more sensitive than laptops and we neeed to improve the access point location to provide better service for that apartment.

2) Water- we are very sorry for the inconvenience. It is very rare that such thing happen. We had a double fault failure and we had a long conversation with the worker who was responsible for that.

3) The climb to Koh Tao - we are aware of the location and it is mentioned in other reviews. Many people find it OK though and fit to the island atmosphere. We even had a few pensioners guests that were walking up and down the hill several times a day for weeks. They really enjoyed the exercise… ;-). We know that for a few people this is not perfect but everyone says that it is necessary to get the perfect view of the bay…

4) Location- as you wrote and as mentioned in other review this is one of the best locations for accommodation on the island

5) Service- We try our best to give our customers the best service we can and this is being mentioned in your review

6) Electricity- Koh Tao is a very small island with infrastructure under development which cause power outs from time to time.


Overall, putting aside the water and internet issues mentioned we think that we provide a great value for the price we ask especially compare to other accommodation. We provide a very large and modern apartments, with one of the best views on the island, free WiFi, very clean, free cable, fully equipped kitchen and many other things. For such a price you can get next to the beach a simple a/c room with nothing but a bed.

We fill that if you didn’t have the water problem that review could look much better. We have got another review from guests who stayed with us at the same time you stayed with us. Their review was much better considering the water issues. Hope that you'll reconsider your review.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards,
Ronen & Eran
The Koh Tao Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed 3 amazing days at Koh Tao Heights Villa and another 5 days at Koh Tao Heights Studio Apartment. It was just pefrect! The Studio apartment is very comfertable and in a great location. We enjoyed having coffe in the morning on the blacony while enjoying the amazing view of Sairee bay watching the diving boats... can't get better. We could live there forever.

Perfect for those who are looking for value for money this is the place. Ronen, the owner is super nice and was there for us to help in everything we needed.

We can't wait to get back next year. FUN FUN FUN!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Myself and two others have just stayed at Koh Tao heights and stayed in apartment 1 for three nights. We were welcomed from the ferry and taken to the apartments which was great as it was quite a steep climb. Ronan was very friendly and helpful and sorted us out with takeaway menus, restaurant and bar recommendations, all of which we enjoyed. The view from the balcony was stunning.
Would definitely recommend, only a 10 minute walk or few minute taxi to the beach and everything you would need.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukrobwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in February and it was easily the best place we'd stayed in Thailand. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and the rooms were clean and spacious with beautiful modern furnishings. Very large open plan kitchen and living room, with huge sofa and TV. The owner Ronen was really helpful and friendly throughout our stay (great suggestions for local restaurants!) and organised transfers to and from the port for us. The apartments are very conveniently located, less than a 10 minute walk from Sairee beach. You could get a taxi back at night if you wanted but we never bothered because it was just easier to walk (although do bring a torch). Yes the apartments are situated on a steep hill but it's only about a 20 second climb and it wasn't a big deal for someone as unfit as me! The views are worth it too!

Would really recommend Ko Tao Heights - outstanding value for money and ticks all of the boxes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
0 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments

Address: 49 / 8 Moo 1 Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Heights is located on a hillside in the center of Sairee surrounded by a lush tropical jungle, coconut trees and overlooking the crystal-blue waters of the Gulf. Relax and enjoy the gorgeous panoramic view of Sairee bay and Koh Nang Yuan Island – only 10 minutes walk from the center Sairee beach. Koh Tao Heights offers a new standard of accommodation on this magnificent island. All of our Koh Tao apartments and villas feature a stylish combination of traditional Thai design, modern elegance and eco living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing