We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments
Ranked #6 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed five full days at Koh Tao Heights and the accommodations were excellent. Our apartment was at the top of a steep hill, so we had great views of the water and sunsets and we were only about a 10 minute walk from the beach. The studio apartment had everything you’d need and if you wanted a snack, cold beer or laundry services you could walk down to the little store at the bottom of the hill. I am strict vegan and Caz was extremely helpful in providing a list of local restaurants that could accommodate my diet and on the few occasions we needed assistance she was easily accessible via cell phone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeroshiFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent 6 nights in the Koh Tao Heights Apartments and loved it. Caz was very helpful and always available on the mobile phone provided in case we needed help or advice.

It very much felt like we were in the middle of a jungle which is exactly what we wanted to avoid the backpacker crowds in Sairee. Room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and the aircon unit worked exceptionally well (better than our 5 star hotel in Bangkok) Just take care around the bed as it has a concrete base and the corners stick out beyond the mattress. The last climb(about 30-40 meters) up to the apartment is very steep so would recommend a taxi / moped if you're unfit.

It's about a 8 - 10 minute walk down to Sairee village but if you need to get to the north side of Sairee I would recommend a taxi. They have their own taxi service (Taxi Lek - 4x4 pickup) which is cheaper than other taxis and the driver is always on time and can get to you within a few minutes. Lek is a great guy and we used the taxi quite often to get to other parts of the island. It would be a bit cheaper using a moped but the roads can get really bad leading to certain beaches. We saw a guy almost falling over trying to get up a steep dirt road so the risk wasn't worth it to us. It's also great fun sitting on the back of a 4x4 and not having to worry about roads and other drivers.

Food can be delivered to your door for free or at a tiny surcharge. I'd recommend trying The Gallery. We had one delivery from them but it's better to go to the restaurant. Food, service and ambience is excellent. For a great organic breakfast, try New Heaven Cafe in Sairee.

If you like snorkelling the best sites we found were Tanote Bay(personal favourite) Shark Bay(more upmarket and amazing beach) and Aow Leuk Bay(check out Aow Leuk 2 for a great dinner). The Japanese Garden on Nang Yuan is also pretty amazing and where most divers go. Just note flippers are not allowed on Nang Yuan to protect the corals. Catch a long tail boat anywhere from Sairee beach.

After spending a week in Koh Tao I would say these apartments are well positioned to explore and get the most out of the island. Initially we thought it might be best to stay in Sairee where everything is happening but it's not the case at all. Sairee beach is good for food, bars and restaurants but the beach itself is not exactly the type of beach you'd want to spend much time at. People rarely swim there (maybe due to the long tail boats) but you'll find a few sunbathers there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roc747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed at Koh Tao Heights with my husband and it was a good stay. The view is beautiful, the bedroom is big, there's a kitchen with pan, plates, frigobar. You have to go to supermarket to buy some food to breakfast if you want. he location is fine. It's a 10 minutes walk to the most famous beach of the island (sairee), but the return I don't know how much time would you take walking because Koh Tao Heights Is in a high place and to arrive there you have to almost climb a street. We rented a motorbike, and it was ok.
The bed id good, but the pillow was very high for me.
The bad thing was that they had only the sheet that covers the bed, and didn't had the sheet to cover yourself.
Dani is a nice person!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucianafab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here start of May. Caz met us at the pier and brought us by taxi to our apt. Definatly had the best views of the island, got amazing pics and saw some super sunsets/rises. Apt really clean, modern, comfy. Wifi good, got a mobile while there with essential numbers and Caz can ring or text u with any info. She is great. Anything we asked her she had an answer or had it organised in minutes! When er return to Koh Tao which cannot come soon enough we will 100% be staying here again. One of the nicest most relaxed places I have ever been.

Room Tip: We had apt 6 and it is higher, so more steps, but so worth the amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hi Tracey and Andrew, Thank you very much for such a great review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our apartments. We aim to offer excellent service so our guests have a fantastic holiday on Koh Tao. It will be our pleasure to have you stay again in the future.
Best Regards, The Koh Tao Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed 5 days at Koh Tao Heights Studio apartments and we didn't want to leave.
The location is great if you like somewhere quiet but like being close to the action. It takes about 10 minutes walk to the main beach and restaurants. The atmosphere is quite and relaxing with amazing sea view! The apartment is kept immaculate by the daily cleaning and on arrival we were surprised to find drinks and fully equipped mini bar. We were also given a phone with key numbers for taxis, restaurants etc. saved which was really thoughtful!

I would highly recommend Koh Tao Heights and we will definitely be back, it is a special place with a great, friendly and informative owner - Thanks!!!

Room Tip: It is possible to order food deliveries to the apartments!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Loved koh tao heights, came with a friend first for one week then came back in couple of months and rent room for a month. Very good service, very comfortable accommodation, feels like at home. It's just 7 minutes walking to get to the beach, liked that it's not at the busy area cause its quite and relaxing. There is a beautiful view from the terrace, enjoyed it every single day! One issue is walking back from the beach, cause it's up the hill might take around 20 mins but for people who can rent a bike it's not problem at all. I cannot drive a motorbike but didn't mind walking cause think it's a great exercise. Dani is really nice host, very helpful and friendly, she gave lots of useful tips and advices, every time I needed something she found solutions. I rent studio, it was really nice, liked the decoration, it's also large, for one person it is definitely more than enough space. As well liked the fully equipped kitchen, did not cook often but several times, nice to have that choice. There are also menus for food delivery in the room and mobile phone provided. There are some bugs sometimes and not super clean but it's tropical island, completely understandable. Though cleaning stuff could make a bit more effort to clean kitchen, table and dust, if they do that the place would be completely perfect. But overall I'm very satisfied and would come back for sure, great value for money, especially for long-term stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kukla9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Yes you've guessed it by now, the apartments are up a hill. Located in a very peaceful area about 7 mins walk from south area of sairee beach going down and 10 mins walking back up. If you hire a motorbike through them (meant to be reliable, we didn't) very easy to get to, near koh tao divers / Maya beach club end. We spent 10 days here so believe can give a true reflection of the apartments.
Welcome: Dani collected us from The Rocks (see previous review) for the short journey to the apartments which is less than 5 mins from the ferry pier if arriving by boat. Dani was very friendly and informative about area / restaurants, showed us around the apartment, gave us the mobile and advised us to contact her should we need anything. We called her a couple of times; once when the gas bottle ran out - replaced within 20 mins and once when we needed our ferry tickets and transfer back to the pier, a service they organise for same price of the travel agents and much more reliable to boot. Met Ronan, he seemed like a decent guy, our ceiling fan had a small issue and he fixed this pretty quickly, that was the only time we saw him or needed his help.

Location: Yes there is one steep hill on the final 50 metres but I guess if you want views and peace this is a small price to pay.
From the main road by foot there is a gentle climb past some local properties past a property selling drinks and does laundry until the last steep climb. The last bit is steep but if fit and you zig zag up then not really an issue, heat don't help but once you done it a couple of times not really an issue.
Apartment: the higher the better view, very quiet location. Nice to get away from the bustle of beach. Good AC and fan, we had the 2 bedroom so loads of space. We had no need to really use the kitchen apart from kettle and fridge. The cleaners hadn't really cleaned kitchen properly though as fridge a little dirty. Could do with a hand towel in bathroom. Apartment cleaned every 3 days but for some strange reason the cleaners only replaced bedding once in our 10 day stay...
Could do with an over sheet on the bed as well as the blanket. Absolutely no bugs in our apartment. Views ok. Plenty of hot water. Tv had lots of channels and wifi worked well.
Great to be off the beach as people we spoke to had been disturb by some of the bars, really depends on which part you stay. Yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments

Address: 49 / 8 Moo 1 Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Heights is located on a hillside in the center of Sairee surrounded by a lush tropical jungle, coconut trees and overlooking the crystal-blue waters of the Gulf. Relax and enjoy the gorgeous panoramic view of Sairee bay and Koh Nang Yuan Island – only 10 minutes walk from the center Sairee beach. Koh Tao Heights offers a new standard of accommodation on this magnificent island. All of our Koh Tao apartments and villas feature a stylish combination of traditional Thai design, modern elegance and eco living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing