We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, unforgettable view”
Review of Tanote Villa Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanote Villa Hill
Ranked #16 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Was unsure about this hotel because of the previous reviews but decided to chance it and am really glad I did! The only problems we encountered were some with service, had to pester them a bit to take my deposit which was unusual, and one night at dinner they were very slow to take our food order. But it is Thailand and people don't move at the quickest pace! Were picked up from the pier straight off the ferry and taken over the bumpy track and pulled into reception, checked in easily and got upgraded for free to a sea view room :) this had a huge balcony and perfect view, great for having a beer and listening to questionable reggae disney songs floating up from the bar below! The room was nice, big wardrobe, nice big bed, reasonable mini bar. Bathroom was huge and slightly odd but I liked being able to see the view from the shower. No insect problems at all although there was a pesky gecko that liked to chirp in the night! Hill up to breakfast and the pool, not far at all though, just steep! Breakfast was limited compared with other places we stayed but portions were by no means small. You walked down to the beach along a wooden path, (slightly scary at night!) and the snorkelling straight off the beach was amazing. Back up the hill to get changed and after dinner but no problem at all if your reasonably fit. Had a couple of meals at the restaurant, all nice and reasonably priced compared with everywhere else on Tanote. Great fresh snapper in curry paste. Caught the free bus over to town to have a look round and to have a meal at the excellent whitening restaurant, never felt the need to go at another time. Finally the pool.... wow, my favorite pool ever and such an amazing view, this does go a long way to the 5 stars! We were also there during the construction but can't say I noticed it. We tended to breakfast, stay around the pool in the day / head to town and head down to the beach to snorkel late afternoon (to avoid getting burnt) and it was the perfect end to our island stays in Thailand, and our favorite of them all. I can't think of a better place to spend a few days.
*We booked a boat trip from one of the bars along the beach and it was 1500B for a private boat for the two of us, better value than the 800B busy boats they were advertising at reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed three nights at Tanote Villa Hill, two in a hut with private pool, one in a family room because we booked late and nothing else was available. What you have read in other reviews is true, the hills are pretty steep, you should be healthy and somewhat fit to manage the way to breakfast in the morning. The huts are quite alright, you will have a bug or two, but very manageable, we didn't get bitten by one single mosquito.
The bar just a few meters down the hill is noticeable at night, but once you close your windows you shouldn't hear a thing! And we stayed in the closest hut, no problem. The wooden way down to the beach is a little shaky, but nothing ever happened to us.
The breakfast selection is rather limited and if you stay longer than us, it gets really boring. In addition, the portions are really small. The Internet is horrible on the whoe sland, so I won't complain, but be warned, there is only a connection in the reception/pool/ restaurant area, not in your rooms.
I have to tell though, that while we stored our luggage at the front desk my mobile phone was stolen. The manager said he asked the staff but he couldn't do more than that. Well, he couldn't, but security seems to be an issue, and there are no safety boxes any where around.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank UrlaubimSueden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked 5 nights at Tanote Villa Hill Resort, but checked out after first night. Yes this place has a view to die for it really is that good. The infinity pool looks over the bay very senic indeed, the restaurant is directly behind the pool area and looks to be a lovely spot to dine.
The main issue with our stay was there were major construction works right behind the room we had booked, and right next to the pool area and reataurant.We were shown other rooms one of wich had animal droppings on the floor and on the bed, the next room seemed cleaner so we decided to take it even though it was of a lesser standard to the rom we booked( no financial compensation offered) Alas the room safe didnt work, no prob I will walk up the steep hill 3 or 4 times to see about getting fixed, yes can fix in 4 hours when my break is over, was the answer, hmmm off to a very bad start.
Lets swim in the pool? The construction noise was unbearable,so we went to the beach with all our money passports laptops etc, remember no safe. Oh yes pool towels were odd sizes one being average the other the size of a large hand towel and both not very clean. The beach is very nice.
On return we wanted to change our towels, sorry no towels till tomorow hmmmm. We went back to room to relax and was bombarded with loud regae music from a bar in front of our room it went in till late at night.
Breakfast next morning was a joke, the smallest portion of muesli and fruit and a revolting cup of coffee which was undrinkable and the construction noise made for the worst breakfast in Thailand.
Anyway you get the picture, we checked out and went to the Montalay down on the beach fantastic hotel great food great service clean room comfortable bed.
Tanote Villa should be a great hotel Im sure it wil be in time.
We booked through Agoda who had said on their website that construction was finished before our stay was booked, they were wrong, but to their credit we were refunded our money minus 1 nights accomadation, I was very happy with that as Montaly was actualy cheaper overall.

Room Tip: All the rooms we were shown had no ocean view even the one which we origanally booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Tanote Villa Hill for 3 days and extended it to 6. Great value for money and such a beautiful setting. Spent our time bouncing from the pool, to the beach, to the Jah Bar down the hill, to the pool, to the air con in our room. Our rooms were made up every day and the staff were lovely and friendly. There are 2 free trips into town every morning and afternoon if you need anything, and some more restaurants down on the beach if you want something different to eat (Mantalay had some good western food!). Bungalows are huge, although not many English channels on TV, and the bathroom is gorgeous, although the water pressure is low. Cant win em all though! The walk to the beach is easy, through a wooden path in the jungle. The walk back from the beach leaves you a little hot, but a quick plunge in the pool and you are back to normal. Great for couples and families, not really for the party people though. The lady on reception is just fabulous!

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are close enough to reach the free WiFi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in Tanote Villa hill during the New Year holidays. The road to the villa is pretty rocky but getting there on the back trunk of a pick up truck was quite exciting. When you get there ... As one of our fellow travelers said: I knew it would be different than on the photos, but not THAT different! The bungalows are somewhat nice and confortable, but there is room service only every two days ... All they do is make the bed briefly and take away the trash. Bathroom pretty much stayed untouched. As for the service ... The stuff is very young, unexperienced ( with some exceptions) and some of them can be arrogant. For example? When we came to the reception and asked for help, the receptionist was just watching her/ his tv show ... Glanced us an said "just a second" and left us waiting until the scene was over. However, some of the stuff was frinedly and helpful, but they made us feel more like they were doing us a fawor when helping us with usual stuff. That put aside, on the beach there is wonderful diving school - Calypso - and stuff there (German diving instructors) are great, experienced and patient. We recomend it if you would like to discover scuba. Tanote hill was a little chalenging, but nevertheless it's nice escape for couples who like a little peace and serenity. There is free taxi to town twice a day, but if you want to go in the late afternoon or in the evening, they will charge 200 bat one way.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CurriousLjubljANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed here in late September and were lucky enough to be the only guests for a few nights. The service was perfect, we had the restaurant and the pool to ourselves and the villa was totally comfortable. Its only a 5 minute walk to the beach through the forest. Drinking a beer beside the pool looking out over the bay - its a fantastic place to relax!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I am make resrvertion three night but I stay one night.because so far form the town.so far to the beach.and when we want to go to the city taxi driver charg 400baht. Taxi driver very very rude.resort nice restaurant is food was very good and fantasit.staff is very helpful and kidlling.and one boy very specialboy because he can help manything.then he can do very good cocktail the man is very special.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasthehell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.7 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#25 of 50 in Koh Tao
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanote Villa Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanote Villa Hill

Address: 23/3 Moo 3, Tanote Bay | 23/3 หมู่ 3, อ่าวโตนด, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanote Villa Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanote Villa Hill nestles itself amongst the coconut and fruit trees on the east side of Koa Tao Island overlooking the vast ocean of the Gulf of Thailand. Tanote Villa Hill Resort has a magical ambience where perfect balance is made by nature. The resort is situated on the hillside of Tanote Bay on an estate of 12 Rai, which includes private luxury villas, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanote Villa Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanote Villa Hill Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing