We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THEY ARE BUILDING...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanote Villa Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanote Villa Hill
Ranked #22 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THEY ARE BUILDING...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Didn't like this place at all.

For a start they are still carrying out building works to what looks like another extention to the hotel. There is No atmosphere whatsoever. Service was bad. I asked for a few things and got rather frustrated as it seemed noone was actually taking any notice of my requests.

Felt a little intimidated with all the workmen working on the buidling right next to the hotel (a solo female traveller). Also, there are remains/debris from the building works outside the hotel. They should offer reduced rates whilst this is happening. The gardens are unkept, bungalows are OK but for the price i payed, i was very disappointed (60 quid a night)

Tanote Bay is beautiful. Stay at the Monterlay Resort if you want to go to Tanote - without a doubt this is a much better resort. I spent the day aournd the pool there and its so much cleaner/professional. The rooms look nicer and the whole setting is much better. The grounds are prestine at the Monerlay too.

Honestly, i really would not bother - the only thing you pay 60 quid for is the view from the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelmo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    71
    41
    28
    19
See reviews for
54
102
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights Jan into Feb 2013 - The road to the hotel is shall we say a little treacherous :p but once you get to the resort, it is worth the drive/slide along the road.

Our bungalow was perched in the corner and had no adjacent bungalows, so it was nice and quiet and we could not hear others chatting in the evening (except then they shouted).
The bungalow was very nice and cleaned to a high standard, higher than any other place I have stayed in Thailand if I am honest. The swimming pool was very clean and had a great view out to Tanote Bay. The beach is only a 5 minute walk, but like the road, the path to the beach is not the best... You have to walk along a very rickety wooden suspended path which looks like it hasn't been maintained since it was built, there is electric cables but not sure if any of the lights actually worked, so you have to be very careful, and just take your time, on the plus side, there are a wide array of animals around the area, and you can see lots when you stop and take a rest on the path.
There is a restaurant at the hotel, the food was really good once we got the order correct (the staff, especially the Burmese, do not speak English and even though we pointed to the pictures of the dishes we wanted on the menu, and checked with her before she walked away. we got a mix of both dishes on ONE plate, it was actually quite funny and gave us something we can always look back on and laugh :) Once we spoke to another guy, who was very helpful each day we stayed, the order was swiftly rectified and the food was very nice. The same girl also brought us one coffee after we ordered one each :p
The one thing that was odd and neither of us have experienced before is that you had to request for your room to be cleaned - we didn't know, but when I enquired as to why the room had not been cleaned they came and did it, even though I asked in the early evening, so 10 of 10 for that :)
To summarise, the bungalow was superb, very nice, spacious and very clean. You are 5 minutes from a beautiful beach and several eateries. The staff were great but they could do with some who can speak a bit more English (or implement a better way of ordering food and drinks lol)
The roads on Koh Tao are not to be tackled by the faint of heart, if you can afford to, take a taxi, if not do not bother with motorbikes, they wont get you up moist of the hills on the Island as most of the bikes seem to be knackered, TRY before you PAY!

If you want a quiet holiday, with beautiful scenery and to be miles from anywhere, then this place will score 100% - you are also only 10 minutes by taxi to the shopping centre and many restaurants and pubs etc :)

Oh I forgot about the building work, there is some noise, we were only woken up once by it, they are building a new pool and apartments, I have attached a photo of the pool, it looks really big, so the noise will be worth it for future visitors :)

Room Tip: Number 3, it was tucked away and nice and quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent 3 nights there. The food was awesome. Rooms were very clean and nice. Very peaceful and the staff was excellent. Would definitely stay there again. The manager Roxanne was very helpful.
W & L Calgary, Ab

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were like little chalets. All separate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Do NOT stay here! We planned to stay at the Tanote Villa Hill for 4 nights but left after two. The whole place is a construction site with loud noise which can be heard at the restaurant, the pool and in every room -- actually, you wake up to the construction sounds every day. The pool is really nice but it's impossible to enjoy the view since there's not a single quiet minute.

Breakfast is ridiculous too. Two pieces of disgusting toast plus egg/bacon. Everything else costs extra. Dishes for lunch or dinner at the restaurant are extremely bland and small portions. You have to order two, otherwise you'll still be hungry.

To make everything worse the staff is just rude and incompetent. On check-out the receptionist could not find my passport. Instead of apologizing they immediately claimed to have given it to me after check-in, that I lost it in the room and that we should search our bags and in the rooms once time. They are definitely good at making up excuses. In the end it took them two hours to hand me back the passport only after the manager threatened to look at the surveillance video.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at Tanote Villa Hill for 3 weeks in December / January. I'm not really sure where we would've found a nicer place and I absolutely loved every minute of our stay there!
You’d have to be an incredibly picky traveller to not enjoy this Garden of Eden, the stunning views across the bay, the breathtaking infinity pool and the beautifully kept gardens. It’s less than a 5 min walk to Tanote Bay, so an incredible underwater world is right at your doorstep!

Yes, there was a building site next door, as the hotel is building a large extension, but by now (January 2013) all that’s left is the furnishing of the rooms and some of the electrics. All the scaffolding was removed during our stay so there is no loud construction noise or dust anymore.
It is a shame that the hotel is extending so much (24 additional rooms, a large pool and a diving school) as it will definitely change the intimate feel of the rest of the resort but that’s the way things will be going on Koh Tao in general.
The island is much busier than we expected (and would've hoped) with a lot of party-backpackers and people staying an average of 3 nights, so if you’re looking for a peaceful holiday then do stick with the East coast of the island, as TVH is still on the quieter side!

I have to say we were definitely holiday makers and not travelers, so we were very happy to stay around the beautiful pool and in the bay of Tanote for some excellent snorkeling for the three weeks. If you’re only planning to stay a couple of nights at TVH then I think you’ll find it to be a treat on Koh Tao!

Right, here are the facts:
• You’ll most likely arrive by pick-up truck from the ferry and this will be an adventurous and fun ride. The roads on Koh Tao can be scary at times, so unless you’re an experienced motorcyclist, I wouldn’t necessarily recommend taking the route to TVH by yourself, it’s just not very safe.
• The villas of TVH (one room up and one room down usually) are all nicely spread out across the resort, so you never have too much noise from your neighbours and there is a nice sense of privacy.
• The rooms are immaculately clean (housekeeping every day with fresh towels and the beds made), they all have aircon, warm water, a safe, large (!) beds, storage space for clothes etc, a little minibar / fridge, TV and a balcony. Very few rooms actually have sea view, most overlook the pretty gardens, but we were fortunate enough to have the room with the nicest view, which is called “Garden 6”. So if a view is important to you, try to specify the location.
Just a note of caution: if you like Reggae music the rooms towards the bottom of the resort (incl. “Garden 6”) will get the soundtrack of the nearby “Jah Bar” floating up in the evenings. When doors and windows are closed (which is usually the case as you’d have the aircon on) then it’s only quiet in the background, it’s only louder if they have a live band, which happened once in the 3 weeks we were here. If you’re not too keen on this type of music, then request a room closer to the reception / pool area of the hotel.
• The walk up to the restaurant / reception / pool area is by no means far from any of the rooms in the resort, it’s just a little steep, but definitely not a problem if you’re able-bodied!
• The hotel offers two free rides to Mae Haad everyday (leaving 8.30am returning 11.30am and leaving 1.30pm returning 4.30pm) so handy if you need to use ATMs, buy more sunscreen or generally fancy a change of scenery…NB: taxis, especially if not organised through TVH might be a little on the pricey side (compared to general Thai prices) as not every taxi driver is too keen on going down those daredevil “roads”…
• There is free WiFi in the reception area.
• The breakfast is basic (fruit with muesli and yogurt, a full English type mix of egg and meats or boiled eggs with toast or pancake) but the general food in the restaurant is very tasty (not too spicy if you’re not too fond of spice) and very reasonable. All mains à la carte cost between 80 and 200 B maximum. Often they have fresh fish / meat for the BBQ so that makes a nice change. They have a very nice choice of juices / lassis so there’s always something refreshing to drink.
• The restaurant overlooks the pool and the bay in the distance, so it has an amazing view! All the furnishings are made of wood so it’s nice to not have any cheap plastic chairs / pool beds around!

The management at TVH has recently undergone some major shifts and changes so not all the staff is as settled as they could be, but most of the staff in the restaurant were Burmese and they were very friendly and helpful. You’re on holiday, so why stress if there are some communication hiccups?! Just be patient and friendly (!) and you’ll get all sorted!
The actual owner of the hotel is very keen on expanding and making lots of money I guess, so it seems that the staff has not been given the sort of guidance they might need in order to be as accomodating and professional as some demanding guests might expect. They were however never unfriendly or lazy, they just seemed to be without proper management, which I’m sure will all be sorted soon when the extension is up and running.

Tanote Bay is the best bay of Koh Tao for snorkeling by far (my partner even swam with a blacktip reef shark just off the beach) so if you’re looking for some beautiful underwater world “sightseeing” this is the place!
The coral is (still) alive and colourful and the fish are plentiful and stunning. There is a large rock in the bay with plenty of brave people jumping off it, which looked fun.
There are a number of restaurants in the bay, I’d avoid the one in the centre of the bay as the food was very (!) greasy and not very tasty. The one on the right hand side of the bay, with a large green terrace had great views and very tasty food!
The reception area of the Montalay resort on the beach will sell ice cream which is a bit of a secret tip!

If you’re thinking of heading down to the beach in the dark or dusk, do take a torch as you’d feel a little wobbly on the wooden bridge without any light. If you have common sense and two eyes then you will not find the bridge through the jungled area dangerous, just a little improvised maybe..
Last piece of advice: definitely take plenty (!) of mosquito repellent! We had a spray containing 95% Deet and that did the trick! KT has a serious threat of Dengue fever so I recommend you protect yourselves properly against those black and white striped mozzies that will be whizzing around your head (not only in the evenings!).

If you choose TVH for your stay I hope you’ll have a wonderful time there – if you have any questions that I haven’t answered in this review and I can help with, just contact me!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank englishpeninsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We made the mistake of ignoring the posted "Tripadvisor" reviews as I had heard about the excellent snorkelling in Tanote Bay. The snorkelling was excellent, the best in Tao, but the hotel is still going through extensions and it is a construction site, with all the noises and dust that go along with it. It is a bit of a trek to the beach but it is worth it if you spend your time in the water. The place has great potential but they need to finish the renovations and get their staff motivated. This was the worst service we received in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have travelled to Koh Tao several times before and wanted to try somewhere a little more out of the way, as we normally stay in Mae Haad .
Pros: the location is very pretty and the tropical gardens well kept. We ate most of our meals there over the 3 nights we stayed and really enjoyed the food which is very reasonably priced. It would have been quite a hassle and expense to organise a trip out of Tanote Hill to eat elsewhere, but we didn’t feel the need over our short stay.
Cons: there was building work going on right next door to the restaurant/pool area when we stayed in March 2012. We were moved to a room away from the noise which was good, but we could not avoid the noise by the pool during the day. I got a very apologetic email from Sawadee.com who I booked through and I know from past experience they always try and keep their site up to date with warnings about building works. The hotel itself has been dishonest about this I feel, because when they were contacted by Sawadee about the building noise, Tanote Hill resort said that it was not them, but the site next door. Well sorry, but when we were there, the builders’ materials were spilling out across Tanote’s property, so I that is quite unlikely! It was very disappointing to have gone out of our way to find somewhere out of the way only to be disturbed every day with building works. (would recommend Sawadee.com for booking in general)
A word of caution too – the wooden walkway down to the beach at Tanote Bay is downright dangerous. We couldn’t understand why this was in such a state of disrepair when the resort’s tropical gardens were so immaculately kept. Several sections were missing handrails to hold on to and it had a decidedly rickety feel! There are also a lot of steps as the resort is quite a distance up the hill so this is a consideration if your knees are in any way delicate! It did not appear to have any lighting either, so there is absolutely no way that I would tackle this in the dark, or the rain for that matter. For us at any rate, this made the beach completely inaccessible which was another big disappointment.
It was a real shame about the building works and walkway, but if they got these two things sorted then I would have scored a lot more than 2 stars for the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#44 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Beach Bungalows
Diamond Beach Bungalows
#84 of 136 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#50 of 136 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanote Villa Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanote Villa Hill

Property: Tanote Villa Hill
Address: 23/3 Moo 3, Tanote Bay | 23/3 หมู่ 3, อ่าวโตนด, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanote Villa Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanote Villa Hill nestles itself amongst the coconut and fruit trees on the east side of Koa Tao Island overlooking the vast ocean of the Gulf of Thailand. Tanote Villa Hill Resort has a magical ambience where perfect balance is made by nature. The resort is situated on the hillside of Tanote Bay on an estate of 12 Rai, which includes private luxury villas, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanote Villa Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanote Villa Hill Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing