We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place!”
Review of Tanote Villa Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanote Villa Hill
Ranked #19 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful place!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed at Tanote Villa with my bf and an another couple. The location is breathtakingly beautiful and hands down the best place we stayed in during our month long trip to thailand.

We booked on Agoda, there was a mistake with our booking and our rooms had been double booked so we ended up paying a little bit extra and getting the most amazing room, very secluded and with our own private pool! amazing view and very large room, very clean.

The staff in particular "Lay" were great and very friendly and helpful.


There is a very rickety long walk way down to the beach prehaps not suitable for elderly or pregnant or those scared of heights, half way down the walk way you will find an even more scary little bridge to Jah Bar! well worth the crossing!

We would definately stay again if we go back to Koh Tao

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie-elsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    74
    42
    28
    20
See reviews for
56
105
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Well i never had such a bad Hotel experience then in that hhhmmmmmmmmm shall i call it Hotel ???
There was no stuff first we could not check in ( nobody was there ! ) . And no pick up from the Pier !
Then there credit card machine did not work ! only three english chanels . One of them 25 hour football !!!!!!!
After i talked with one ofthe personal they told us the owner is the problem there because of there personal greed !! Only money count's for hem .
And yes that was right the impression we got as well .
After our information tthere is every 1-2 month a new manager and stuff because of the greed from the owner and the lack of interesset to be fair to there own personal and the guest are only walking bank notes !!!
The breakfast was grease egg's or a mini portion of a very quetionable muesli thing .

Other food was expensive and really small portions .
And very often they brought the wrong food first and we had to wait long time for everything !

And there was this super unfreindly thai-women at the recception she lied when she opend her muoth .
We just feelt very bad for the Burmese stuff there they worked like donkey's and still got attaked by the Thai-personal !

Bad owner and super bad service !

Never go there again !
We checked out with greatest regret with us back to the pier was a french couple they saig absolutley the same as we do !!!!!!!

It's all Horror , No Matter what you read else where !!!!!!!

Room Tip: There was no good one !!! And far to pricy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanotevillhillresort, Owner at Tanote Villa Hill, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
We've reported this review to TripAdvisor 3 times, We believed that this is not genuine review from the guest as we didn't find any record of the stay and this review it intended to damage the reputation of the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Yes there is building work going on, but it is all very minor now, with the light breeze and insects around along with the water running from infinity pool any noise from the building gets lost. it all looks as though it will look lovely when its all finished. The rooms are very clean, nice decor and a great size. It is totally different to the east side of the island, it's very peaceful, which was exactly what we wanted! Overall we were very pleased with our stay and were very happy we didn't take notice of previous trip advisor reviews

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4dams85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Didn't like this place at all.

For a start they are still carrying out building works to what looks like another extention to the hotel. There is No atmosphere whatsoever. Service was bad. I asked for a few things and got rather frustrated as it seemed noone was actually taking any notice of my requests.

Felt a little intimidated with all the workmen working on the buidling right next to the hotel (a solo female traveller). Also, there are remains/debris from the building works outside the hotel. They should offer reduced rates whilst this is happening. The gardens are unkept, bungalows are OK but for the price i payed, i was very disappointed (60 quid a night)

Tanote Bay is beautiful. Stay at the Monterlay Resort if you want to go to Tanote - without a doubt this is a much better resort. I spent the day aournd the pool there and its so much cleaner/professional. The rooms look nicer and the whole setting is much better. The grounds are prestine at the Monerlay too.

Honestly, i really would not bother - the only thing you pay 60 quid for is the view from the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelmo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights Jan into Feb 2013 - The road to the hotel is shall we say a little treacherous :p but once you get to the resort, it is worth the drive/slide along the road.

Our bungalow was perched in the corner and had no adjacent bungalows, so it was nice and quiet and we could not hear others chatting in the evening (except then they shouted).
The bungalow was very nice and cleaned to a high standard, higher than any other place I have stayed in Thailand if I am honest. The swimming pool was very clean and had a great view out to Tanote Bay. The beach is only a 5 minute walk, but like the road, the path to the beach is not the best... You have to walk along a very rickety wooden suspended path which looks like it hasn't been maintained since it was built, there is electric cables but not sure if any of the lights actually worked, so you have to be very careful, and just take your time, on the plus side, there are a wide array of animals around the area, and you can see lots when you stop and take a rest on the path.
There is a restaurant at the hotel, the food was really good once we got the order correct (the staff, especially the Burmese, do not speak English and even though we pointed to the pictures of the dishes we wanted on the menu, and checked with her before she walked away. we got a mix of both dishes on ONE plate, it was actually quite funny and gave us something we can always look back on and laugh :) Once we spoke to another guy, who was very helpful each day we stayed, the order was swiftly rectified and the food was very nice. The same girl also brought us one coffee after we ordered one each :p
The one thing that was odd and neither of us have experienced before is that you had to request for your room to be cleaned - we didn't know, but when I enquired as to why the room had not been cleaned they came and did it, even though I asked in the early evening, so 10 of 10 for that :)
To summarise, the bungalow was superb, very nice, spacious and very clean. You are 5 minutes from a beautiful beach and several eateries. The staff were great but they could do with some who can speak a bit more English (or implement a better way of ordering food and drinks lol)
The roads on Koh Tao are not to be tackled by the faint of heart, if you can afford to, take a taxi, if not do not bother with motorbikes, they wont get you up moist of the hills on the Island as most of the bikes seem to be knackered, TRY before you PAY!

If you want a quiet holiday, with beautiful scenery and to be miles from anywhere, then this place will score 100% - you are also only 10 minutes by taxi to the shopping centre and many restaurants and pubs etc :)

Oh I forgot about the building work, there is some noise, we were only woken up once by it, they are building a new pool and apartments, I have attached a photo of the pool, it looks really big, so the noise will be worth it for future visitors :)

Room Tip: Number 3, it was tucked away and nice and quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent 3 nights there. The food was awesome. Rooms were very clean and nice. Very peaceful and the staff was excellent. Would definitely stay there again. The manager Roxanne was very helpful.
W & L Calgary, Ab

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were like little chalets. All separate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Do NOT stay here! We planned to stay at the Tanote Villa Hill for 4 nights but left after two. The whole place is a construction site with loud noise which can be heard at the restaurant, the pool and in every room -- actually, you wake up to the construction sounds every day. The pool is really nice but it's impossible to enjoy the view since there's not a single quiet minute.

Breakfast is ridiculous too. Two pieces of disgusting toast plus egg/bacon. Everything else costs extra. Dishes for lunch or dinner at the restaurant are extremely bland and small portions. You have to order two, otherwise you'll still be hungry.

To make everything worse the staff is just rude and incompetent. On check-out the receptionist could not find my passport. Instead of apologizing they immediately claimed to have given it to me after check-in, that I lost it in the room and that we should search our bags and in the rooms once time. They are definitely good at making up excuses. In the end it took them two hours to hand me back the passport only after the manager threatened to look at the surveillance video.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#39 of 139 in Koh Tao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#65 of 139 in Koh Tao
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Family Tanote Bay Resort
Family Tanote Bay Resort
#48 of 77 in Koh Tao
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#10 of 77 in Koh Tao
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanote Villa Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanote Villa Hill

Property: Tanote Villa Hill
Address: 23/3 Moo 3, Tanote Bay | 23/3 หมู่ 3, อ่าวโตนด, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanote Villa Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanote Villa Hill nestles itself amongst the coconut and fruit trees on the east side of Koa Tao Island overlooking the vast ocean of the Gulf of Thailand. Tanote Villa Hill Resort has a magical ambience where perfect balance is made by nature. The resort is situated on the hillside of Tanote Bay on an estate of 12 Rai, which includes private luxury villas, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanote Villa Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanote Villa Hill Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing