We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scenery and great pool”
Review of Tanote Villa Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanote Villa Hill
Ranked #19 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice scenery and great pool”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is located at the top of Tanote Bay. The road to the Hotel is a event by it self. You order a Taxi or a pick up from the Hotel with the local driver Whois is very Nice and to prefered. The Hotel is nice and clean , the reception lady and the manager lady is very Nice and will hjelp you at the best way as possible. We stayed on one of the new willas 6 nights and it was Nice and clean. The beach is 3-5 min walks down the smal road. There you can feel the original Thailand.
The breakfast at the Hotel is the negative thing and not at the level of the Hotel and far away from the Hotels in Thailand. There is no buffet and you have to choose one of 3 menues. The menues is small and not as espected at the restaurant at this level and the staff is more or less careless. (Strange awearnes / careless ??? ) this is major reason og my opinion frem 3 to 4 stars. The Hotel is also always "finish" of pool towels and you have to wait for it. All in all it is a good Hotel with great scenery with a breakfast restaurant out of time and service.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    77
    42
    28
    19
See reviews for
59
107
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel on the top of a beautiful but hard to reach location. 1/3 of the road is in very bad condition, so be careful if you are riding a motorbike. The hotel has quite an impressive infrastructure, with two gorgeous infinite swimming pools with jacuzzi facing the ocean. It was quite clean; generally bugs-free. They need to fine tune some details though service wise: for example, the staff at the restaurant could do a much better job with some basic training; "do not disturb/please make up the room" signs and telephone devices need to be added in the rooms. The whole lightening of the facility could be changed to warm light in order to improve the overall ambience -the current one is provided by cold low-consumption bulbs, hospital style. Aside from those details, which I am sure will be addressed over time, I found the place very nice in general. Thumbs up for Khun Manee, the General Manager, who will go the extra mile to ensure you have a pleasant stay. In our last day we had to leave the hotel very early to catch the ferry: she was waiting for us downstairs at 5:45 am with a bag with sandwiches and bananas! Simply amazing (kob Khun krab, Khun Manee!!)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diogenes39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ko Tao is an isolated island. There is no more than a couple of roads to get around the island and this hotel is on a bumpier one. They offer free shuttle service to and from the hotel twice daily and if you miss the shuttle, the taxi into town will cost you 400 baht. The restaurant food is decent and inexpensive however it does close early if you are a nighthawk. The pools overlook Tanote Bay and the scenery is absolutely stunning. You can walk down to the bay in 5 minutes which boasts some of the best snorkelling on the island, some tours even take their guests to visit it and jump off the large rock! The staff are friendly and helpful. Some of the reviews we read are confusing given the completely different experience we had. If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, this is for you. It would be advised and well worth it to be on the 3rd floor with an ocean view room.

Room Tip: Leave your room key at the front desk when you go out, if you lose it it will cost you 1000 baht to...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhatAnAdventureJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Our Family booked into this hotel and booked out 10min later. We paid for a new hotel for 3days. I was so disgusted in what I saw that I didnt want to stay a moment longer.
Our 2 rooms view was of a broken toilet been thrown into the garden with lots of plastic bags and paper lying around. Our romms was on top of the staff quarters. Inside was furniture that looked like it was taken out of a hostel. The saying "less is more" did not work here. The bathroom was a disgrace. The smell of unflushed toilets was hanging in the air even at the restaurant area.
Do not, I repeat DO NOT come here. You will be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Neitzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and liked it. Our catamaran boat trip to Ko Tao was horrible and we definitely needed to rest, but the staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The hotel is medium-sized so big enough to offer various good facilities like a good dining area and a big and a beautiful swimming pool. Since it is situated in a remote location, multiple shuttle services to and from the main village are offered per day. It is difficult to reach the hotel by motorbike since the roads are pretty steep at some points. From the open-air dining area, you have a great view on the bay, and the restaurant offers a good menu (I loved the green curry). It is possible to walk down to the bay and swim or snorkel there.

This hotel is very nice if you like a quiet and remote area. However if you like to be in the middle of everything try another place situated more centrally, for instance in the village.

+: good spacious rooms with large balcony, nice view on the bay (from room 203), friendly staff, free shuttle service, good restaurant, beautiful and large pool.

-: remote location.

Tips: try the green curry and the masaman curry from the restaurant, book a room with a view on the bay and arrange for pick-up at your arrival. For the boat-trip to Ko Tao, bring ample motion-sickness pills.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

None of the reviews we read about this hotel mentioned just how far it was from the centre of Koh Tao! It is a beautiful hotel with a fantastic view of the sea, great pools and lovely room but it is very difficult to get into the centre, Sairee beach for diving, bars etc. the hotel runs a shuttle bus twice daily but the latest it runs till is 430pm! We enquired about getting taxis, which are cheap in Thailand and were told that a return journey would be 1000 baht (about £20!) we had already treated ourselves to this hotel after staying in cheap accommodation throughout our travels so there was no way we were going to spend this on a taxi when we had paid £20 for most of our accommodation!! we had hired a moped in Koh panghan but the roads around the hotel meant it was far too dangerous to do here and we had read about the Koh Tao moped scams! Therefore, due to the isolation of this hotel you are almost forced to eat dinner in the restaurant, where the food was the worst we ate in Thailand (and we regularly ate street food) and the staff are very rude. For example, when we asked for our toast at breakfast to be put in the toaster again they rolled their eyes! The restaurant and bar were closed around 10pm so there was literally nothing to do! We decided to change our three night booking to just the one so that we could move closer to civilization but the manager said it was not possible. However, when we rang booking.com they said it wasn't a problem, this hinted that people regularly try to get out of this hotel! We got another hotel near sairee beach for the rest of our 3 night stay and it was so much better being able to walk to a restaurant and the shops and bars. This hotel is great if you want to be a hermit but if you want to explore Koh Tao (which is beautiful) don't bother!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleylp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is about a 15-20 minute trip in a pickup truck away from the main port on Ko Tao. It is a gorgeous looking building in almost jungle surroundings overlooking the sea. The main hotel is only around 10 months old and everything still looks new. There are two fantastic infinity pools (both with Jacuzzis), one large and one small, which were always clean and quiet when we wanted to use them, a large restaurant area serving great reasonably priced food and lots of helpful staff around. The included breakfast did feel a little restrictive compared to other places we've stayed in Thailand as you were only allowed one item such as small pancakes or toast and either fruit or fruit juice but not both but it was delicious nevertheless.
There is also an almost private beach about 10 minute's walk away across a wooden walkway which we thought was great but we could understand if some people found the trip across it a little unnerving!

We had a room on the third floor which gave us a breath-taking view of the sea and Tanote bay, we could enjoy a cup of tea on our balcony and just stare out at the surrounding scenery - it was a taste of paradise! The rooms are spacious and well furnished, We had a huge bed which was extremely comfortable and a nicely fitted-out bathroom, although there was a mild stagnant smell that seemed to linger in there but it didn't bother us much and certainly didn't detract from our overall opinion of the room! The air-conditioning was lovely and quiet and certainly helped us deal with the heat at night!

Taxis to and from the hotel to the local town are quite expensive at around 400 baht each way but the hotel does run a private shuttle twice daily leaving for town at 08:30 and 13:30 and returning at 11:30 and 16:30 respectively. We were very grateful for this service and we used it daily to save money, Although there is lots to do in the town and plenty of places to eat and drink as well as gorgeous beaches to see we were glad that our hotel was away from all the hustle and bustle!

Overall we had a great stay and would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a beautiful and quiet (apart from the buzz of insects in the forest!) resort away from the busyness of Ko Tao whilst still having access to it. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're staying in the main hotel as opposed to a villa, ask for a third floor, sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
662 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
951 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanote Villa Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanote Villa Hill

Property: Tanote Villa Hill
Address: 23/3 Moo 3, Tanote Bay | 23/3 หมู่ 3, อ่าวโตนด, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanote Villa Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanote Villa Hill nestles itself amongst the coconut and fruit trees on the east side of Koa Tao Island overlooking the vast ocean of the Gulf of Thailand. Tanote Villa Hill Resort has a magical ambience where perfect balance is made by nature. The resort is situated on the hillside of Tanote Bay on an estate of 12 Rai, which includes private luxury villas, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanote Villa Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanote Villa Hill Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing