We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place, breathtaking sea views!!”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

As soon as we stepped into Amanjirah's reception area we knew we would have a fantastic time and we weren't disappointed.. The resort (or luxury guest house as rightly described by a previous reviewer) is stylish and feels very intimate. The owner has obviously taken great care to make the resort look as nice as it does, the rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated with meticulous attention to detail, the furniture is exquisite and of very good taste and the grounds are very well maintained (we often saw the staff working in the gardens watering the plants, sweeping and tidying up). Some have said that Amanjirah is small (in my opinion this just adds to the ambiance and feel of the place) but the grounds/gardens are so well laid out with lovely 'hidden' spots that one is under the impression the place is actually much bigger.

Their menu is fantastic, we stayed 3 nights and never felt the need or urge to eat anywhere else. There isn't an indoor eating area but one can order the meals to be served on their balcony/bedroom (or anywhere else in the resort as a matter of fact), bear in mind you will need to make your way to reception in order to do this as there aren't intercoms/phone in the rooms so if you wish to have breakfast in your room make sure you order it the previous night so you may laze around in their comfy beds as long as you wish. We stayed in a Fantasy Seaview Suite and it was magical to have breakfast in our balcony overlooking the stunning turquoise seas or having pre-dinner drinks enjoying the equally sttuning sunsets And if you step back into your room just after breakfast and sit quietly you might even see a squirrel running across your balcony attracted by the delicious aroma of food...If it's too windy out just ask one of the staff to bring the balcony table and chairs into your room, we did that one night, turned the lighting down and had a very romantic meal in the comfort and privacy of our own room, just perfect!.

Service was outstanding, friendly and non-intrusive, we would only need to make eye contact with the waiter and he would come to us obligingly. Some people have complained that the staff doesn't speak English, that's not entirely accurate, I agree that the room boys/waiters have quite limited English but we had no problems communicating with the ladies in reception, in fact considering that we are visiting their country I admire and am quite grateful that they make the effort of learning OUR language.

As the other reviews mention, Amanjirah has their own (very comfortable) air-conditioned vehicle which will take you anywhere on the island for a set fee (100B to Sairee, 200B to Mae Haad, each way; the pick up and drop off trips on check in and check out are not charged), just make sure you schedule it with a little notice.

We had the opportunity to have a very friendly chat with the cook (I'm sorry but I didn't quite catch your name!). She told us I had unknowingly became her 'guinea pig' as she had just introduced a new dish to the menu and I had been the first one to order it (Red Duck Curry). Like all the other dishes we tried during our stay (and we had quite a few) it was delicious , my husband had the Red Chicken Curry one night and he said it was the best he had tasted in Thailand. The cook was so nice and friendly that when I told her that we loved Thai food she said that she could show me how to cook some dishes but alas we were leaving just that morning so I couldn't take her up her word, oh well I suppose we will have to go back sometime soon won't we? :) I have got a copy of the food and drinks menus and would be happy to share it or answer any questions.

TIP: There is a very nice viewpoint with views to Nangyuan Island just 5 minutes walk up the road, just turn left upon leaving Amanjirah, walk along the main road (look for signs for 'Dursit Resort') till the road ends, take the path going down straight ahead of you, walk underneath these 2 massive boulders and go through to reception (don't worry, the resort welcomes wandering visitors), follow the 'Viewpoint" signs and be prepared to say WOW! :)

Room Tip: The Seaview rooms are the most romantic and also offers the most privacy. The Royal Seaview Suite ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventurous_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear Moffats

Thank you for your kind comments. Poo (our chef) is always happy to show a few tricks and we are very proud of her and our place. Hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

948 - 954 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

I wont call Amanjirah a hotel or a resort. Its more like a luxury guest house with very few rooms. The rooms vary from very basic to luxurious with extraordinary views. You get what you pay for! The location is also great! A quiet remote area still within 15min walking distance of Sairee beach and all the action. The best thing about Amanjirah is its food! The chef there is amazing and you have to make sure you return for all your meals. Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: Sea view fantacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bintheredondat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is up the hill from Sairee beach which means it is chilled and relaxed. Its a small, quiet hotel/ b&b. The staff service is really good. We stayed in the sunset suite which had loads of room (good if you catch a monsoon shower). The food is OK, I'd say their Thai stuff is better than the western. Unless you are a mountain goat you do need transport. The hotel has a shuttle you can take that runs until 7pm. Be warned that after a night out the taxi drivers are going to charge you a premium to take you back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trona_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is very small and boutique like. Beautiful pool terrace and deck. The food although a little expensive was probably one of the best meals we had on our holiday- do make sure you eat there at least once! Service was fantastic. Pool view room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Such a friendly, relaxing and unique experience! The stunning sea views leave nothing to be desired and with two refreshing pools, your comfort is truly optimal.

I had the pleasure to enjoy a penthouse suite and fantasy suite during my stay and both were impecably furnished.

The staff was super friendly and dining was delilightful.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dundee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed at the romantic sunset during our travel to koh tao island. The suite was beautifully decorated with marble floors, thai silks and many many small exquisite details. It was very spacious and enjoyed a view of the pool and the sunset and a little bit of the ocean too.

The resort itself is quite small and just the perfect destination if you want to be away for it all, yet it is still close to beaches and night life. There are two pools, both relatively small - but more than appropriate since the resort obviously doesn't cater to many guests at a time. Often, we found ourselves having the seaview pool completely to ourselves.

Food is a chapter in itself. The local chef provided stunning meals either on the chilled out tree terrace or in our room/balcony (what ever we felt like on the day).

Finally, service was excellent with everyone from the resident manager to the pool boys always with a smile on their lip.

Highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: The romantic sunset suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend went there last couple weeks only for two nights we got the sea view room, it was such a nice scenary and our room was like pool access only a few steps to the pool while we also enjoyed view of the sea.This is really suit for couple for romantic trip!! the resort was really quiet and there wasn't staff after 10 pm. you have to call to emergency number for urgent needed, btw for those who want to stay away from crowd and busy life this would be a good place for them as it's quite far from the main part of Sairee you may need about 15 minutes walk to the hotel from the center area either you want to pay extra for taxi transfer 300 baht (it's minimum charge). The hotel provides free shuttle bus followed the schedule beyond that will be charge. However staff were really helpful and friendly, the food also really good. I would come back to this place again for my next trip!

Room Tip: If stay at thsi place, you should take any room come with sea view, believe me! it is such a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natnisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £28 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing