We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, small, quiet resort”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Positives: On arrival at the pier we were greeted by our pick up driver as confirmed with the hotel. Around a 5-10minute drive from the pier we arrived at the hotel to ice cold mango juice which was welcomed after a hot and sweaty ferry ride! I would describe the Amanjirah as a small boutique hotel. It is beautifully designed. We stayed in a seaview fantasy suite - room 2. This is the better of the 2 seaview fantasy suites in our opinion as you have a few small steps giving you direct access to the seaview pool. The other suite involves a  few more steps around the back of the suites. And what a view!!! The suite we stayed in was very private and not overlooked by anybody - even from the pool so we were very happy about this. The room is beautifully designed, with an in room safe, massive flat screen tv with loads of channels, a fridge, and a little seating area. The bathroom is huge!! Balcony has a table and chairs to enjoy the view. We had breakfast and dinner delivered to our room every day as we didn't want to miss the view :) food was outstanding! you can also eat in the tree top terrace which was also lovely and has a sea view.

Tip: we paid for half board, but its probably only worth it if you are going to eat the western food which is about 250-350B per meal, thai food is much cheaper at 120-200B per meal. 

There are 2 pools at the resort, one seaview next to the Fantasy suites, and the other near to reception and the treetops bar. 2 bottles of water provided complimentary every day.

There is also a small shop across the street that sells snacks, toiletries and drinks should you need something and saves going all the way to town.

Resort is set in the hillside so it is very peaceful. Definitely aimed at people wanting a quiet relaxing holiday - if you want to come to Thailand to get drunk every night then stay in the village for easy access to the bars. It is probably not the most convenient for diving as it is not right at the beach but then you are compensated by the magnificent views!

Negatives: wifi sometimes unreliable but we found it to be excellent signal from the pool around reception area. occasional power cuts meaning you might wake up hot in the night as the air con is off!

The staff try to provide the best service they can, which can be difficult for them sometimes as electricity on the whole island is unreliable, some stuff is not in their control and we witnessed some guests being very rude to the staff - which is not the way to behave in our opinion... Choose a big resort hotel that can afford generators if the above scenarios I have described are likely to upset you. 

To improve this resort I would install phones in the rooms so that when you have a power cut and the water won't come back on, it would save having to go to reception every time to ask someone! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for that kind and heartwarming review. It is always a pleasure when our guests have constructive suggestions mixed with a few nice comments.

As you mentioned, electricity is a problem here from time to time but our system will switch between the governments electricity and a private supplier and it's an island wide problem with the power cuts. We'd love to install a generator but believe that 1. it's not good for the environment and 2. it's not good for our guests and neighbors. Personally when I visit my resort I find it a very very small problem and hardly noticeable as you suggest.

In any case, clearly you completely GOT what our retreat is about and it was a pleasure having you here.

And to future guests, please DO NOT BOOK if you are looking for a FIVE STAR beach resort and ikea designed furniture. That's just not Amanjirah. If you want a truly spectacular sea view, great atmosphere and personal friendly service mixed in with a few charming laughs and misunderstandings - be our guests :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights. I loved it. It was beautiful, serene, had lovely staff and was a great value.

Keep in mind that it's a bit far from things, so you need to use a vespa or four wheeler to get into town. Technically you can walk, but it's 20 minutes to the closest beach, up and down a hill, or a $10 taxi ride. Realizing I had to pay for renting a four wheeler increased the cost of stay, but I was still happy about the place. It was great after a day at the beach or a night in town, to get away up to the quiet hill where the resort is located.

If you want new and clean with a pool, I didn't see anything comparable on the island.

English Breakfasts were decent but the Thai dinners we had were wonderful!

Also, since it's such a small resort, there is a lot of personal care from the staff. That was a special experience in itself.

Room Tip: We stayed in their most basic room - the pool view - a $10 upgrade - was sold out. I would go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsettermcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Spent nine lovely nights at this resort and felt like a film star at extremely competitive rates, huge menu to suit all, fantastic views with breathtaking sunsets, would most definitely book again, you do need to hire a bike or some sort of transport as it is a very long walk to nearest beach, but other than that cannot fault it, lovely private pools, beautiful terraces with hammocks, tropical gardens, fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Room 2 best views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulabryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A little ways out of town - a 15 minute walk with a moderate hill, but well worth the moderate effort. Being removed from the center of Sariee makes it quiet and peaceful. The prices were very competitive, if not cheaper than in town and the place itself was very nice. Two pools, one of which looks over the ocean, a nice out door deck with hammocks.

Friendly helpful staff. I couldn't fault this place at all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for your nice remarks. We try to display what we are on our website. Not 5 star, not 2 star - just a friendly place with great facilities...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a lovely stay in the 'penthouse suite'.
Overall fab, with really nice staff.
The online service was very good - we managed to accidentally book the wrong dates and - despite only realising it halfway through the dates booked - they still gave us a large per cent discount on the dates we had intended to book.
The food served poolside (recommended!) or in the room was lovely, although the 'pancake' was huge, more of a 'cake in a pan'!
Amanjirah is a little North of Sairee, but this is mentioned on the website. We found a moped/scooter was the most convenient way of seeing the island anyway.
The atmosphere was quite coupley, but we did go just after Valentine's Day, and there were definitely non-couples staying too. Amanjirah lends itself to couples as it is really nice and private - you feel almost as though you're the only guests, which is really pleasant.
Finally, Amanjirah is NOT what I would term a 'commercial' enterprise. It's much more homely and warm (and relatively small compared to all the large resorts), and as such perhaps there wasn't the host of entertainment opportunities being sold to you in the lobby - if you want to go diving etc then pop into town and you'll be overwhelmed by dive centres..!

Room Tip: I think the website advertises them well, but there will be no such thing as a 'bad' room he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

It's a pleasure to get comments from someone who thoroughly read what we are about on our website and thank you for your kinds words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My fiancé and I have stayed at Amanjirah twice now and we absolutely love it. The Seaview Fantasty room is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts on the terrace as well as watching the beautiful sunset with a glass of wine. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the food is absolutely divine- the best I had in Thailand, and I have been to Thailand three times. For people looking for a sprawling, generic 5 star resort, this is not for them.. in fact, neither is Ko Tao! but that is exactly what we were not looking for. The dubious electricity only added to the resorts charm- the showers were perfectly warm (and I am pretty pathetic about these things!), you may get a visit from a rather large gecko but the staff were very forthcoming at helping us to extract this critter from our bedroom. This is a beautiful resort, in a lovely setting, away from the bustle of Sairee beach. It is peaceful, charming and romantic and felt like home. I love Amanjirah and, if we ever return to Ko Tao (for a fourth time!) we would definitely pay Amanjirah another visit.

Thank you for giving us another fantastic stay and we hope that Freddie the poodle is doing well!

Room Tip: Seaview Fantasy- the sunsets are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cconn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Wauv.... Really surprised that anyone can refer to this place as a hell hole. Saw some of the other reviews and tried to compare them with how the website looked. Having spent time in lots of 5 star properties but also accustomed to smaller places that don't pretend to be but offer another sort of experience and charm - we decided to consider not the bad reviews but only the good ones, since they are by far in the majority and the few bad ones smack of the guest booking without considering what the place is supposed to be.

And we weren't disappointed. It's basically what you see online. A small cosy kind of a retreat. More like one large villa with adjacent accommodations and pools spread out over a great garden and sea view area.

Anyway, we stayed in a moonlight suite and enjoyed the large space with two extra small bedrooms. Nights at the large terrace were terrific and romantic, enjoying a glass of red wine and chilling to the cool tunes. Lots of little touches but also a gigantic plasma tv stood out.

Truly the owners have put a lot of love into the property and as long as you know what to expect you really cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Moonlight suite was great with the extra space and large terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBigAdamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,531 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £23 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing