We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Paradise”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset Paradise”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous resort built into the side of a cliff with an infinity pool overlooking the island. The sun set directly over the pool each night and amazing cocktails were served in the pool bar/restaurant area making this an unforgettable experience. Our ocean view room had the same outlook and the breakfast (included) could be served at your room if you wished. Great attention to detail had been paid to the design and landscaping of the resort making it even more beautiful. The rooms themselves as well as the food served at the hotel were good value-to give an idea, 2 of us ate 4 meals each and drank plenty of beers/cocktails during our stay as well as using the mini bar and the tab totalled approx 70 pounds. The staff were also very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    273
    122
    64
    48
See reviews for
119
759
55
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights during our stay on the island and what a lovely find this was
The location is right on top of the cliff overlooking the Sea with the most amazing views and sun sets you will ever see!
The infinity pool alone is worth staying here for and the food and service by the young Thai lads is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele and Phili... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We're not perfect and enjoy to listen to feedback and ideas. We have a lot of plans for next low season including a spa and improvements across the board. Still we think we compare pretty well to our closest neighbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2013

we just returned to Samui after a fantastic week in Koh Tao @ The Aminjirah ! What a stay ... Stellar views, romantic sunsets and all round super ambiance and service.

Our rooms was one of the Fantasy Rooms and it was very generous in size and offered lovely facilities.

Much have been said about the pool and with good reason. It is so amazing that one forgets there are two other pools...

And yes the cuisine was supreme...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebsamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prilly, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I have a big love/hate relation with this hotel. I like posh hotels but wanted a hotel close to Sairee without being on Sairee, so I chose the Aminjirah. You can go by foot to Sairee but with the heat and the hills I just took the taxi (5-10min).
The pool area is really beautiful, amazing breathtaking view from the infinity pool. Food is great. The staff is nice but communication in English can sometimes be difficult. Included breakfast not really awesome. Just basic.
That's it for the positive points. Now to the negatives.
I booked a superior room... And had a shock when I saw it! Dark little room, one window and a bathroom with open walls. No way I sleep in there! Unfortunately the hotel was full, so they tried to fix it by building in a roof (!) into the bathroom. The night after I was upgraded to room number 1, which was very nice and had a closed bathroom. But still not meeting my standards. The 3 remaining nights I got another superior room. Dirty floor (do they mop with water or just dry!?). Bathroom not really inviting either.
It's just sad because this hotel has the potential to do much much better, as the place is very nice. They should redo all bathrooms for sure!
The manager tried to help as much as he could, but I won't come back, that's for sure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank VanessaB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for spending time with us during your holiday in Koh Tao.

We are very sorry to hear our service standards did not meet expectations and for that we sincerely apologize.

We do feel we portray the room you booked accurately with exact pictures on our website. The bath room has a thatched roof which is customary in many island resorts and actually considered "romantic" by many of our guests. I believe that the fact that our manager was able to further "close" the ceiling for you by adding additional bamboo ceiling shows our dedication to all our guests and your comment about "that we tried to fix it by building in a roof" is inaccurate. We "tried" to accommodate your request as we do not believe the roof needs fixing. Many luxury resorts have open air bathrooms and we actually have a thatched roof as previously mentioned.

Still we managed to upgrade you to one of our most popular rooms which receive rave ratings by most other travelers here at tripadvisor.com and yet that did not fit your standard either.

The breakfast is actually not a set breakfast as our manager explained to you. We have a standard breakfast but allow all guests to select from a large menu of other items to replace the standard breakfast. This includes anything from thai dishes to pancakes.

Still, thank you for your nice comments about our view and other food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed at Aminjirah 6 days in januari 2013! We booked the cheapest garden room but first night were we upgraded to a lovely ocean view room. The garden room is small and quite dark but the only time you spend at the room is when you are sleeping. The new pool area is fantastic and the view over the ocean and sunset absolut amazing. The garden is beautiful with a lot of differrent flowers! San and the staff at Aminjirah does everything for you to feel welcome! Wifi works quite well at the pool area! At sunset you need to protect your body from mosquitos! Rent a bike from the hotel! 300 baht/day! It takes 15-20 min to walk to Sairee village! Aminjirah pick you up at the ferry when you arrives at Koh Tao if they know when you are coming! Don´t think just book this place!!!!

Thank you, Aminjirah for a lovely stay!

Peter and Anna from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Great location on the side of a cliff with a beautiful infinity pool. We had a gorgeous room by the pool with the best view from sitting on the loo you're ever likely to see! Best to rent a scooter (one good rental place near the hotel 50meters or so).

Breakfast is included but it's pretty lame. You can get only one type of breakfast, others you have to pay for. Juice is from a carton. You pay for fresh juice. The coffee is not fresh - Nescafe, which is very lame. It's a pity as this hotel has so much going for it but simple things like good coffee and fresh juice for breakfast is so easy to fix.

The staff, all from Burma are lovely, but have pretty much no English so you end up having to communicate the manager who can be hard to find sometimes.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Manager at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind word and selecting us for your Koh Tao holiday. We just wanted to clarify that we do have a standard breakfast, but allow all guests to select other options directly from our menu in the same price range. This would actually cover everything from a grilled ham cheese sandwich to pancakes. So options are very varied and you could stay a week and never have the same breakfast.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place. Excellent location.. Just up the hill (about 1min drive/scooter ride) or 10 minute walk from all the action in town. Yet nice and peacefull with an amazing ocean view from the resturaunt/pool.
We stayed in the Ocean View room.
Must mention 1 night the water in the shower cut out repeatedly, was brown & fowl smelling. Everything else was PERFECT. Would definitely stay again.

Special mention to on site staff member SAN. We are very well travelled and felt we should join TripAdvisor to note how deligent, reliable and friendly he was. One of the most courteous hotel staff we've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we apologize for the water/electricity issue. Things can get difficult when the island is nearly full and power cuts do occur. The water tank was misconfigured and you got water from the wrong tank - which is the first time it has happened. Glad you loved it here anyway and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,485 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.3 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing