We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, not worth the money”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, not worth the money”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Aminjirah Resort is an aesthetically pleasing place, no doubt about it. The views over the ocean and the sunsets are truly stunning. However, our stay over Christmas did not live up to expectation. The advertised 'Christmas' dinner was in fact a seafood barbecue (lovely but not what is advertised and thus, a little disappointing). The space outside our room was used as a linen dumping ground by the staff. Building noise at 6.30am outside our door over Christmas Eve/Day. The bathroom continuously leaked etc.

I am travelling in the worst hostels around the world and Aminjirah is obviously a lot nicer. HOWEVER, for over £250 a night the resort is sadly overpriced.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your mostly kind words. We have taken all your comments aboard as also discussed during your stay and as per the compensation we agreed upon and as given in credit at the resort.

The room rate is based on a 3 bedroom suite and also based on it being peak season where prices are quite a bit higher than during normal season. Having said that, this room type has already been lowered in price and we hope your onsite compensation made it more worthwhile.

We do apologize for the area outside being used temporarily by our maids to collect dirty towels and linen for laundry. Another area has now been designated for this use and the area will from now on only be for guest usage.

We acknowledge that the Christmas dinner was not a typical European dinner. This was our first "attempt" at a Christmas dinner and agree it was probably a bit too "Asian". We learned a lot and will be improving this for next year.

Still as per your emails received after your stay, overall we are pleased you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    269
    120
    61
    44
See reviews for
115
744
55
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear City, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I spent five days over the Christmas holiday enjoying this beautiful place. The view from our room was endless! We have spent many months traveling through Central America and now Thailand - seeing many types of accommodations that were lacking. Aminjirah is an exception! San takes a warm interest in his guests and checked on us often during our stay to be sure we were happy. The resort is quiet, away from the bars and noise of Sairee Beach. We stayed in Ocean Infinity, #17 - seemed to be brand new with comfortable bed, quality linens, fridge, flat screen, ac, etc. Enjoying breakfast on the deck by the pool was a great way to start the day. Thank you, San, for making our stay so nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Pookierama you are clearly the biggest tightarse on the planet. Aminjirah is a fantastic resort, the place and location is amazing. As you are in a foreign country expecting all the staff to speak your language is not only idiotic but offensive. They will do whatever they can to help you and have made our stay one of the best. By charging $300 baht to drive you into town is peanuts when you think about it. By taking your own small minded issues out on a hotel that has provided us with an amazing experience is not only unfair but pathetic. To others reading reviews written by this person, I would seriously reconsider taking them at face value. Aminjirah gets 5 stars!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at The Aminjirah during a short break from the protests in Bangkok. It was a welcome change from the chaos and a perfect spot to recharge ones batteries.

It seemed we were some of the firsts to visit after a the hotel expanding with a new wing of rooms and we were fortunate enough to stay in a Starlight which was fantastic. Sitting at the balcony at night was truly beautiful and the room was lit with a variety of colors - very atmospheric.

The hotel is located up a hill, next door to Thipwimarn (where we had stayed before) and a 10 - 15 minute stroll to town. We also took advantage of the daily free transfers.

As Arnold says: I'll be back...

Room Tip: The starlight we had (number 15) was amazing, but if you can get the one at the very end, that looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was our first time in Thailand and we came specifically to learn to dive, so the first 4 days were pretty much filled with learning, studying and diving and as such we enjoyed our room and the little free time we had by the pool.

However, once the diving was completed and we had time to really relax, the true essence of this fantastic place came to light !!!

Staff are wonderfully kind and helpful and never say no even with the language barrier. Our room was lovely and balcony offered stunning views of the sunset and sea.

Food was really an experience in itself. Particularly liked the different Thai curries. Some hot and some mild, but all very tasty.

In conclusion: we have already booked our next trip to Koh Tao for the advanced course and we will stay at Aminjirah again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Britt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We travel from bangkok to chumphon to reach koh tao for 3 night stay. this resort have most amazing feature: when you swim it feel like you dive into a pool fill with gin and tonic. the color is so amazing. and then you can also view to the sunset and the small koh nang yuan island.

our room was a new room just open, something with starlight (the room number 16). very romantic.

we will come back next time we have holiday from our job.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinyada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I did a 5 week tour is Thailand in January of 2013. Like most, for the majority of the trip, we stayed in 'budget' accommodations, paying (on average) 1500 bht a night. We agreed though, that we wanted to 'splurge' for the last bit of our trip and stay somewhere "nice".

For the equivalent of $80 Canadian (which is a splurge in Thailand, but rather affordable in Canada) we got a huge suite, with the most incredible, unobstructed view of the ocean that I could have ever imagined. Our room was luxurious & the service was IMPECCABLE.

Aminjirah *is not* centrally located, so it's not the place for a backpacker who wants to party and meet dozens of new people every night. However, if you are looking for a sanctuary… a little slice of heaven to get away from the crowds & the noise, a place to meet just a handful of like minded tourists-- this is the place or you.

The hotel can arrange trips to neighbouring islands and/or scooter rentals for you. As well, the in-house restaurant is a great place to have a bite to eat and a get a cocktail.

My husband and I initially only intended on staying at the resort for a couple nights… but ended up extending our trip at the very last minute because we just couldn't bring ourselves to leave. It truly was the best way to end an amazing adventure.

If/When we return to Koh Tao, we will absolutely be staying at Aminjirah.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing